We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!!”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #23 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have to say I was a little bit nervous when we made reservations at this hotel. Some of the reviews gave me second thoughts. However, our stay was great! My only complaint would be the fluctuation in shower temperature, but I believe they were starting to correct that problem at the time of our stay. There was even a note of warning from the hotel staff in our room to watch the water fluctuations so we would be aware.
We came for a family vacation and I was worried about bed and room size. We were placed in the older section of the hotel and although the room and hallways were small, it still fit our needs just fine. My 3 year old son actually loved the hotel. Our hallway was quiet at all times. Yes, we could hear noises in the pipes from time to time when neighbors would use water, but it is old and historical so it did not bother us. We found out on the last day with a little internet research that our room was actually one of the most "haunted" in the hotel.
The staff was always friendly toward us, the pool was very nice, the rooms were just fine if you go in with the mindset that the hotel was built a long long time ago. The location was GREAT. We walked everywhere we went. Parking is very expensive but the garage next door is about $10 less per night so we took advantage of that.
I will definitely come back. In fact I am trying to make reservations for a conference in January as I type this. It is in a neighboring hotel but much more expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallt0wngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We apprecaite you taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor and giving us the opportunity to be your lodging choice.

The ladies and gentlemen of our staff will be pleased to learn that their efforts are recognized.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel in January.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,020 - 2,026 of 2,583 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

$76 discounted room turned out to be $204 after surprise fees assessed on arrival.

The Menger advertised as a pet friendly hotel on Expedia, and offered a discounted room rate of $76. I booked the deal for Christmas Eve, only to learn on arrival that "pet friendly" meant a non-refundable $100 pet "deposit." That, plus a $28 parking fee brought the $76 discounted room up to $204 before tax.

I visit San Antonio several times a year. There are many genuinely pet friendly hotels that charge no fee or deposit. No one would bring a pet to this hotel if the $100 fee were disclosed upfront. This hidden fee is nothing but a gouge for the unwary. $204 will buy you a very deluxe room in San Antonio, far above anything the Menger has to offer.

The Menger exists on it's location next to the Alamo. This spares it the need to treat it's customers well. Do yourself a favor and go to the Hotel Indigo a few blocks away - a far nicer hotel and a far better deal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackDenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Once again we apologize for any misunderstanding of our pet policy and valet fees. The fees for a pet are non-refundable. The fees are available for review on our web sites and we regret this did not meet your expectations,

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Always enjoy the brunch, but especially last Sunday (12/16/12) after celebrating my daughter's wedding. The guitarist, Fernando, is a great addition to the ambience. He is friendly, accomodating, sincere, and plays beautifully.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sossity88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our Sunday Brunch and our guitarist.

We will share your comments with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as we are pleased to learn that you appreciated our efforts toward guest satisfaction.

We hope when you return to San Antonio, you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel and the Colonial Dining Room as your lodging and dining choices.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are native San Antonians and frequently go to the Menger for brunch. My family hadn't been in a few months, but were happy to see there is a musician to entertain diners. We thoroughly enjoyed Fernando's singing and excellent guitar playing. He serenaded my recently married sister and brother-in-law. He's definitely a keeper! As always, the food and brunch service were outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCV121612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time during this holiday season to advise Trip Advisor of your delightful stay.

It is our goal to have every guest leave with fond memories and we are pleased that your expectations were met.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Ok, this hotel is old - if you don't see the charm in that, find something else. The elevator was old, the floor leading to the room was a bit squeaky, but the room was fine and so was everything else.

I chose to valet the car which went fine. When I entered the room, several people greeted me and the reception staff was super nice. Finally someone who didn't skip their geography lesson in school and knew something about the world outside the US. It's so refreshing!

The windows could actually open, even though it was a bit scary as they were really old.

The location is brilliant. Spot on. A one minute walk to the Alamo, four minutes to the riverwalk. You can't ask for anything better than that.

All in all a great stay and I highly recommend this hotel to travelers to San Antonio. You won't find a hotel with as much charm and history as this one.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Sharing your delightful experiences at the Historic Menger Hotel are truly rewarding to our staff.
We appreciate your recognition of our efforts for historic preservation and our historical neighbor, The Alamo.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Enough has been written about the history of the Menger. It's old and historic and that is very clear. The hotel has a lot of charm, and it was clear that the staff wanted guests to feel welcome and appreciated. The location can't be beat. Our two major issues were noise and the cost of parking. Hallway noise transmitted very clearly, however we didn't hear anything from neighbors. $28/day for valet parking is expensive, and you don't have much choice about it.

Room Tip: Go far from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

We truly appreciate you sharing your comments with Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Other commerical lots are within walking distance to the Menger Hotel; however, our prices are comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our location and facility

We hope when your travels bring you back to San Antonio you will once again select the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Normally when come to San Antonio we stay at different location, but I had received a gift certificate as a present which included one night stay, valet, and breakfast at the Menger.

Upon arrival at 6pm, it took 45 minutes to receive our luggage to our room. This was after we received a phone call 20 minutes before asking if we were ready for our luggage. Not sure if they were worried we had already left our room because took so long??

The rooms are dated... I don't mean 1800s dated... We are talking 1980s fixtures ...ceiling fan ... Gold fixtures!!! Bathroom mirror had blacked out spots...I understand supposed to be a 'historical hotel' but 1980s is not historical.

On Sunday, even if we wanted to take advantage of the breakfast, which we had to be there before 9... It was an hour and 1/2 wait...FOR A BUFFET!!! So I guess if you want to get up and be in line before 7... Would be a great deal?? Had to wait for coffee.. This was at 9.30... Ran out!!

Deciding that we would just check out... Got stuff together and called for someone the get bag... After 20 minutes just took down ourselves... When mentioned to the valet.. He just shrugged and said you weren't in your room!! Then proceeded to tell us it would be 45 minutes before the car would come down...we asked if could just get ourselves. He handed us the keys!!! No I am sorry for the inconvenience..nothing!! Who wants to wait 45 minutes to leave. Seems like scheduling issues.

I could overlook all of the issues with the rooms... But what can't overlook is the lack of 'give a crap' from staff that have direct contact with the customers. I am one of those customers that you don't want... The one that doesn't say anything. The manager actually checked me out and I didn't complain... Because really nothing he could have said or even if would have given me a night or weekend for free... WOULDN'T GO BACK!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMesser150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

We appreciate your comments regarding your experience during your visit to the Historic Menger Hotel and regret that our staff did not provide you with the service you expected. We apologize that we were not available to address this with you personally.

I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate members of our staff and action has been taken to ensure situations of this nature do not occur in the future.

We hope that when your travels bring you back to San Antonio, you will choose the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,033 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $141 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing