We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch!”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #27 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Ok, this hotel is old - if you don't see the charm in that, find something else. The elevator was old, the floor leading to the room was a bit squeaky, but the room was fine and so was everything else.

I chose to valet the car which went fine. When I entered the room, several people greeted me and the reception staff was super nice. Finally someone who didn't skip their geography lesson in school and knew something about the world outside the US. It's so refreshing!

The windows could actually open, even though it was a bit scary as they were really old.

The location is brilliant. Spot on. A one minute walk to the Alamo, four minutes to the riverwalk. You can't ask for anything better than that.

All in all a great stay and I highly recommend this hotel to travelers to San Antonio. You won't find a hotel with as much charm and history as this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Sharing your delightful experiences at the Historic Menger Hotel are truly rewarding to our staff.
We appreciate your recognition of our efforts for historic preservation and our historical neighbor, The Alamo.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    733
    308
    163
    140
See reviews for
475
701
76
651
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Enough has been written about the history of the Menger. It's old and historic and that is very clear. The hotel has a lot of charm, and it was clear that the staff wanted guests to feel welcome and appreciated. The location can't be beat. Our two major issues were noise and the cost of parking. Hallway noise transmitted very clearly, however we didn't hear anything from neighbors. $28/day for valet parking is expensive, and you don't have much choice about it.

Room Tip: Go far from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We truly appreciate you sharing your comments with Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Other commerical lots are within walking distance to the Menger Hotel; however, our prices are comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our location and facility

We hope when your travels bring you back to San Antonio you will once again select the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Normally when come to San Antonio we stay at different location, but I had received a gift certificate as a present which included one night stay, valet, and breakfast at the Menger.

Upon arrival at 6pm, it took 45 minutes to receive our luggage to our room. This was after we received a phone call 20 minutes before asking if we were ready for our luggage. Not sure if they were worried we had already left our room because took so long??

The rooms are dated... I don't mean 1800s dated... We are talking 1980s fixtures ...ceiling fan ... Gold fixtures!!! Bathroom mirror had blacked out spots...I understand supposed to be a 'historical hotel' but 1980s is not historical.

On Sunday, even if we wanted to take advantage of the breakfast, which we had to be there before 9... It was an hour and 1/2 wait...FOR A BUFFET!!! So I guess if you want to get up and be in line before 7... Would be a great deal?? Had to wait for coffee.. This was at 9.30... Ran out!!

Deciding that we would just check out... Got stuff together and called for someone the get bag... After 20 minutes just took down ourselves... When mentioned to the valet.. He just shrugged and said you weren't in your room!! Then proceeded to tell us it would be 45 minutes before the car would come down...we asked if could just get ourselves. He handed us the keys!!! No I am sorry for the inconvenience..nothing!! Who wants to wait 45 minutes to leave. Seems like scheduling issues.

I could overlook all of the issues with the rooms... But what can't overlook is the lack of 'give a crap' from staff that have direct contact with the customers. I am one of those customers that you don't want... The one that doesn't say anything. The manager actually checked me out and I didn't complain... Because really nothing he could have said or even if would have given me a night or weekend for free... WOULDN'T GO BACK!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMesser150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We appreciate your comments regarding your experience during your visit to the Historic Menger Hotel and regret that our staff did not provide you with the service you expected. We apologize that we were not available to address this with you personally.

I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate members of our staff and action has been taken to ensure situations of this nature do not occur in the future.

We hope that when your travels bring you back to San Antonio, you will choose the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Here for a weekend stay, first time in San Antonio. If you like history, you will love this hotel. It's steeped in history. True the room seems a bit tired, but its OLD! I love it! It's clean, the room size is fine, and has everything I need. The public areas are beautiful. The location is perfect. Within walking distance to everything! For roughly 100 dollars a night it a great value. Not sure why its not rated higher on this site, other than its not modern, but that's exactly why I like it. There is so much history in this town, and the Menger is part of it. Be sure to do the sisters Grimm dinner and ghost tour. Dinner is in the dining room and it was very good. Had so much fun on the tour! And the Alamo is right next door. I will definitely visit San Antonio again and will definitely stay here. Still looking for the ghosts!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi48128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
When a guest takes their time to share their experience with Trip Adisor, it is truly appreciated and shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff.

We are pleased that you have fond memories of your stay and we look foward to return and thank you again for sharing your experience.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The location in San Antonio cannot be beat, the Alamo is literally right out the door and the Riverwalk is two minutes by foot. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was very helpful and friendly; we needed an extra bed in our room and they brought one up free of charge right away.
I wish I could be as positive about the property itself, but honestly, being a historical hotel does not exclude you from conforming to standard cleanliness and functionality expectations. Our room was not exactly spotless, there were cracks in the walls and I think the curtains were made out of plastic. This is not a budget hotel, and so I expect a room that reflects that. I appreciate the vintage feel, sure, but please, blue carpet that looks like it hasn't been cleaned this century? And it wouldn't be terrible to have windows that can be open and closed without getting stuck. Also, the water in the shower kept changing from hot to cold and at one point it got so hot it scalded my scalp.
I would definitely look for a different place to stay in San Antonio were I to return. There is no shortage of hotels in the area and I think that for the price, you could definitely find something a lot better and cleaner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucygertrudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and experience with Trip Advisor. We regret your expectations were not met.

The drapes in our guest rooms are custom designed and made from fine material to match the decor of the room. We will share your comments with teh ladies and gentlemen of our staff as we continue toward our committment to excellence.

We hope when your travels bring you back to San Antonio, you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This property is a tourists dream. It is adjacent to the Alamo and across the street from the Paseo del Alamo which is a beautifully landscaped series of terraced steps with waterfalls that takes you from the street level to the river level. In front of this area, you find relics from the original outer walls of the Alamo Compound and it gives you a true sense of the actual size of the compound. The Menger Hotel takes you back in time to a period of charm and grace but, it does not eliminate any of the modern ammenities.

Their service is unparalled. Enjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the Historic Suites that overlook Alamo Plaza. Some even have balconies that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pccmikemd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We truly appreciate reading your comments regarding the Historic Menger Hotel. Our goal is to preserve the beauty and elgance of our hotel.

The ladies and gentlemen of our staff will appreciate knowing their efforts are recognized.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful! The courtyard was amazing and oh, so peaceful! Everything was perfect. It was in the middle of everything, but so serene. Riverwalk 1 block. Alamo across the street. My only disappointment? No ghosts. That won't prevent me from returning, though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank railroadgulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with Trip Advisor about The Historic Menger Hotel and our beautiful city.

We do not promote the paranormal; however, we recognize that many of our guests find this to be interesting as they look forward to a personal encounter.

When your travels bring you back to San Antonio, we look forward to being your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,862 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 355 in San Antonio
2,957 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Property: Menger Hotel
Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing