We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #30 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Enjoyed the decor, the history, and the staff. The room we had overlooked the courtyard and was just very quaint. I enjoyed the feel of the restaurant and the food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnkirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
I thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you found your accommodations met your expectations. The Menger Hotel has been visited by many who are looking for the spirits that roam the hotel. Even though many consider this an important part of their experience the spirit aspect is not promoted by the hotel, but by many others.

We hope when the opportunity to return to San Antonio, you will once again make the Historic Menger Hotel your choice of lodging.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    698
    296
    161
    137
See reviews for
452
664
74
594
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Overall, my stay at the Menger was great. Location was perfect, right next to the Alamo, large indoor shopping mall and Riverwalk via the mall or a short block away. Parking was pricey but parking everywhere near the Alamo is. As mentioned in earlier reviews, this is a very well-maintained historic hotel and not for everyone. If you are in the historic wing, which I requested, the room is small with a step-up to get into the bathroom. The hotel was built in 1859 so it was pretty much what I expected and desired. As with older buildings, the elevator is slow. Thus, except for when I checked-in and out, I took the stairs. I tend not to dine in a hotel nor at chain and had difficulty finding a local restaurant or cafe to have breakfast (adverse to Starbucks). I even walked along the Riverwalk but the restaurants don't open for business until 10:00 a.m. Oh well....... My only disappointment with the Menger was the fact that it is often referred to as the "Most Haunted building in Texas." I can feel spirits, felt absolutely nothing during my two night stay there. I even requested the most haunted room. Don't know if I got one but I was placed on the "haunted third floor." There's a youtube video of a former housekeeper's floating in the hall. I actually sat there at midnight asking for any spirit to make a presence... Nothing... Spent 45 minutes there reading a book and, intermittently, trying to communicate with any spirits..... Nothing.... Spoke with the bartender and a clerk at the front desk and neither have ever seen a ghost but have heard stories. I am a true believer in spirits, however, I firmly believe that the Menger is more hype than an active location for spirits. Yes, I checked out of the Menger extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: To get the full ambiance of this historic hotel, I would definitely request the historic wing. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillman valley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed at the Menger Hotel 2-28-12 and had a very nice stay. We arrived alittle early, parked the car, and checked in. Our room was ready. We were on the 2nd floor and had a balcony overlooking the main street. The location was great, we walked everywhere...even in the rain! The room was nice but our toilet did make a noise right after a flush! Hubby and I had just gone to bed when we heard something fall over in the bathroom, investigated but everything was inorder! Maybe a former employee from years past??? We would stay here again, very pleasant staff. We love San Antonio!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
We are pleased that you took the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.
As a historic property, we have a variety of rooms with different views and sizes. The alamo Plaza view is very popular with our guests as it is located in the orginal area of the hotel.

We hope when the opportunity arises for you to return to San Antonio, the Historic Menger Hotel will be your hotel. of choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Menger several times over the years and have always enjoyed it, this past weekend being no exception. But the Menger is NOT for everyone, it was built in 1859, please keep that in mind if your considering a stay. Even the "new" part is dated, I myself prefer the original section but I also know what to expect, a small room with a somewhat outdate small bathroom, floors that creak and old but clean carpet. I like that sort of thing (especially the Menger Bar which is just fanatasically dark on a hot Texas day). If it's not your style then your headed for disappointment. It is literally right across the street from the Alamo and a very short walk to the heart of the Riverwalk. This weekend's stay was in room 4020 (the old side), king bed was comfortable, older/scuffed but functional desk, side table, sitting chair, tube TV, hair dryer and lotion. Had a grand time and wished I had seen the ghost.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furias3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
We are pleased that you took the time to respond to Trip Advisor regarding your stay.

The ladies and gentlemen of our staff are dedicated to preserving the history and are pleased that our efforts are recognized.

We hope when your travels bring you back to San Antonio, you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Great atmosphere, and (with respect to my US friends) in a country where atmosphere like this is in relative short supply. As if my magic, the Alamo is just across the street. If you get the chance, you MUST stay here, really!

Room Tip: Over main square?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prof_Hatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your delightful experiences during your stay.

When Mr. William Menger and his wife, Mary built the Menger Hotel in 1859, it was just twenty three years after the fall of the Alamo. We value our downtown location and are dedicated to the preservation of the history of San Antonio.

We look forward to your return!

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Let me make one thing clear right at the start - we were meant to be here on business for a conference but actually ended up not even staying here, thanks to the issues dealing with the Menger Hotel. We were travelling from the UK to attend a conference at the Menger. Due to the costs involved in a transatlantic trip we overran the deadline for booking rooms at the conference rate. However the conference organiser had spoken to the hotel and was assured that rooms were still set aside and that we would indeed be given the con rate - but we had to call the hotel to book and ask for the con rate. So I did that, only to get a flat (although polite) refusal from rep Sascha. I tried to explain that the con rate was assured by the Events person at the hotel, but Sacha had little interest or intention of either giving me the rate or trying to find out information. Why can't a rep take just a few minutes to check something? I was offered a rate of almost $200 per NIGHT instead. Incidentally the online booking system showed NO rooms available at all, so it's highly likely these were indeed the rooms set aside for the conference, except they had no intention of giving them at the agreed rate.

I do not like bad customer service. Customer service is not just about being polite, it's about behing HELPFUL and showing a desire to help customers. I am so against poor service that I refused to stay there period. An email later to the CS manager did get a back-down and an agreement to honor the rate, but by that time we had made our minds up and decided to stay in Dallas and just come down for the last part of the conference - an awards banquet on the evening of the last day. We stayed at the Hilton hotel that night after it.

But it doesn't end there. Traffic in downtown San Antonio was so bad it took us over 15 mins from the freeway to go the short few blocks to the Menger. Street parking is non-existant in San Antonio so we drove to the hotel car park, to be told it was valet parking only, at $15. We were cutting it fine for time so we took that and got into the ballroom for the evening. Dinner was a pre-ordered meal - each person ordered their food from a choice well in advance of the conference. Yet the hotel still got it wrong and started serving a beef entree all-round, when many had chosen chicken. We had to wait while the kitchen got the chicken sorted out. How on earth can you get a fixed-numbers, pre-chosen meal serving wrong??

San Antonio looked beautfiul and I'm certain it is. In fact we do plan to visit again to take in many of the sights that we would have taken this time round, but we will not be considering the Menger Hotel for accommodation. It's clear from this experience that there's some apathy there, and apathy + customer service does not mix well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
I would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with Trip Advisor and apologize that we were not able to meet to discuss your experiences.

I was pleased to know that a manager was able to contact you directly and regret the solution did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the situations that incurred during your reservation process and our banquet services.

We hope when your travels bring you back to San Antonio, you will reconsider and provide us with the opportunity to be your hotel of choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Co.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have never stayed there so we booked a room for a family vacation. The valet service was nice but it went down hill from there. The porter said "We'll bring you bags right up!" It was a busy evening so the desk manager checked us in, he never smiled or had anything nice to say or questions about our trip like "can I help you with anything else?"...it was unpleasant. We entered out "Days Inn" (I mean drab/dull, no decor what so ever) equivalent room #5144 and waited, and waited, and waited for our luggage. After 20min I went and got it myself. I think the new (1950s) addition must not be comparable to the historic section. BTW: there was a ball of black hair in the tub and the room needs a makeover.
Anyway, I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MQM1Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
I truly appreciate you taking the time to advise Trip Advisor of your experiences during your stay.

We are excited to announce that the hotel guest rooms will be renovated and we look forward to the changes.

We hope when you are able to return to San Antonio, you will once again consider the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,477 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Property: Menger Hotel
Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing