We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room and floating bath tub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #13 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I've stayed here before and they couldn't have been nicer. On this visit however, everyone except the valet was "cranky"/ rude. There are plenty of places to stay and this isn't the best bargain to be had.
The carpet is soiled and we found bits of paper like confetti around the floor. The bathtub, feels like a plastic tub was placed inside the real bathtub and it was bumpy and made my standing in the tub not secure.
The internet was not working properly and I had to hunt around the room looking for the TV remote (it wasn't next to the TV or the bedside table). The hotel was nearly cleared out from the holidays but I feel like I was given the worst room available.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAHILTON, Front Office Manager at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear Guest:

We very much appreciate you letting us know about the service we provide. Exceeding customer expectations in every area is our top priority, and therefore it was very disappointing that your stay did not meet your expectations. We want to assure you the deficiencies reported do not represent the Hilton Palacio del Rio’s usual, high level of service.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We’re always interested in hearing from our guests and appreciate your business and hope you will allow us an opportunity to regain your confidence. If I may be of any service to you in the future, please let me know.

Sincerely,


Roland Hinojosa
Director Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,922)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Palacio del Rio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,668 - 2,674 of 2,923 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

First let me say - there is nothing more beautiful than the Riverwalk at Christmas. The weather was 70 the 3 days we were there.The hotel is perfectly located so it is right on the water with great views but off the busiest part of the river as to avoid noise. I spent a lot of time on the balcony enjoying the lights.The room was not the greatest but far from the worst. There was a frige and coffee maker. The bath was nothing special but they did offer use of terry robes. The beds were a bit hard for my taste- usually hotels of this quality have fluffy spa-style beds-nothing special here. Again this hotel is all about location. Close to the Alamo,river center mall,fantastic food and night life. Dirty Nellies Pub is located downstairs on the river. I didn't go but it looked like a lot of folks liked it and were having a good time.The shopping is not what it once was but the atmosphere is still fab. There are riverboatride tours and handsome carriage rides beside the Alamo.One night we enjoyed a special treat-a lady playing Carols on a fiddle-how great. We did not rent a car this trip as we have visited the other sights and wanted to spend all our time on the riverwalk-plus the parking is very pricey. There is a airport shuttle service that serves all the downtown hotels. (The price was $60 roundtrip.) The hotel staff were very nice and the maids are very quiet in the morning.Again great location and a great visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAHILTON, Front Office Manager at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear Guest:

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write all about your wonderful experience while staying at Hilton Palacio del Rio. We are very impressed with the level of detail you have provided in your review. I thank you for your praise on our location and service. We look forward to having you as guest in the future.

Regards,

Roland Hinojosa
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Trip Date: 21 thru 26 Nov 10
LOCATION: Excelllent! If you stand in front of the hotel looking at the river -- this hotel is situated on the left corner of the "horseshoe" of the riverwalk. This corner is basically at the beginning of the activity to the right of the "horseshoe" (restaurants, bars, etc). The left side of the horseshoe is a little more quieter --- an outdoor theater is around the bend of the "horseshoe" along with the Contessa and the Westin and just a handful of restaurants. Also to the left is access to a "village" which is now used as an artist area.
HOTEL ITSELF: High Average.
Rooms: The King size room had a couch in addition to the bed which makes it easier to watch TV from and just relax. The balcony was fitted with two chairs and a small table. The room itself was very clean, the colors tastefully matched and the bathroom was neat and clean. The carpet did show wear and uneven color/texture --- I'm sure to wear and tear. It looked like it had been cleaned but was unable to get the worn out areas back to looking original.
Location of Rooms: Hotel rooms are broken into "two sides" with the elevator shafts in the middle. The rooms on the left side of the "horseshoe" and the rooms to the right side. All rooms facing the river have a balcony which have awesome views. Of note, the hotel is situated across from a huge water tank located at left corner of "horseshoe" -- I would imagine whatever room you get here facing the riverwalk you will see this tank. You have to remember you are in the city and not a "garden oasis" so from a high view you do get city views as well as "garden" views from the riverwalk. (see pictures).
STAFF: The staff here was above excellent for a very large hotel --- the lobby staff including the concierge staff --- all seemed like good friends to have --- they all went out of the way to make your stay comfortable. The light in our bathroom went out Thanksgiving Day --- as we were leaving the next day we reported it to the front desk --- not to have it fixed, but just so they would have it on their roster to fix the next day and prior to filling the room. The staff member provided us two free breakfast for the next day --- which was not necessary, but this added to my overall impression of the staff.

I do have to say that when we pulled up in a cab upon our arrival no one came to help us --- the folks working the valet area were just standing around. On the way back to the airport tho a valet area staff member hailed us down a cab and helped us with the luggage.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Of note, we also looked at the Drury Hotels, the Contessa and one other. It was hard to make a decision based on the internet information --- the reason we chose this hotel is we have done well with staying at Hiltons in the past. I felt like we made a wise decision. I did not like the location of the Drury Hotels and the Contessa seemed nice but had no balconies.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queensabode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAHILTON, Front Office Manager at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2010

Dear Guest:

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write all about your wonderful experience while staying at Hilton Palacio del Rio. We are very impressed with the level of detail you have provided in your review. I thank you for your detailed comments of our location and staff. We look forward to having you as guest in the future.

Regards,

Roland Hinojosa
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I stopped here in October, whilst I attended a conference. The location of this hotel was excellent for both the conference centre and the River Walk. The hotel certainly has a feel of an older hotel when you enter, and that is fine, however I did feel that the room was overdue a makeover. The room was dated and the fitting rather tired.

The staff were fine and very helpful. Only other little thing was there was no safety deposit box in the room, and I go to a room next to reception to access their safety deposit boxes.

Internet access was expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_R_Hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAHILTON, Front Office Manager at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments regarding your disappointment with our hotel guest rooms being outdated. On behalf of the Hilton Palacio del Rio, please allow me to apologize for your dissatisfaction.

We continually strive to provide a service and product that are superior in every aspect and it is through the constructive comments of our guests that we are able to correct problems that might not otherwise have come to our attention. Please be assured that appropriate actions will be taken to ensure Hilton standards are met.

I did want to make you aware that beginning in 2011, our hotel will be undergoing a $22 million dollar renovation of all of our guest rooms including guest corridors. We are very excited about this remodel.

Thank you again for your feedback

Sincerely

Roland L. Hinojosa
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Hotel is exactly where you want to be along the main loop of the RiverWalk. The main entrance to the hotel is on the street level but they also have an entrance at the RiverWalk level and you can take an elevator from your hotel and be on the RiverWalk in seconds. One of the points where you can take the nice riverboat tours is right outside the building.

Stayed on the 9th floor and our room had a couch in it and mini fridge- not sure if all floors have that. Concierge gives you all types of certificates for appetizer freebies at local restaurants.

The exterior of the building is a little dated b/c it was built a while ago for the HemisFair, but it also has a cool history about it which you will learn on the riverboat tour. I noticed nothing dated about the interior of the lobby or our room. Both are nice with great views. All rooms have balconies. There are food options in the hotel but I would recommend enjoying some of the food options away from the hotel - as there are plenty, and I think more adequately priced than the restaurants in the hotel.

Overall - fantastic location and great service from staff - can not stress enough how accessible and walkable the main attractions of SA are from the Hilton - RiverWalk, Alamo, Market Square, Tower of Americas.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAHILTON, Front Office Manager at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2010

Dear Guest:

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write all about your wonderful experience while staying at Hilton Palacio del Rio. We are very impressed with the level of detail you have provided in your review. I thank you for your praise on our location and service. We look forward to having you as guest in the future.

Regards,

Roland Hinojosa
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We are Hilton Honors members and our profile requests King, non-smoking, lower floor. I booked it with Hilton directly several weeks prior to our visit to San Antonio. We check in and all they have is a room on the 18th floor!! We try it, I can't handle the height, so the balcony does us no good. Then they move us to the 12th floor, with 2 double (not queen!) beds. Still too high. So much for a romantic get away. The room wasn't worth the price, no matter what floor we were on. What's happening to the Hilton brand?

Later in the day I see singles checking in to lower floors, so why couldn't they have moved someone else who doesn't care what floor they're on. One night, room only, just shy of $300.00. Not again.

3  Thank yaya325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAHILTON, Front Office Manager at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2010

Dear Guest:

Exceeding customer expectations in every area is our top priority, and therefore it was very disappointing that your stay did not meet your expectations. We want to assure you the deficiencies reported do not represent the Hilton Palacio del Rio’s usual, high level of service.

We do appreciate your comments and are sharing them with all concerned so efforts can be made to make improvements wherever possible. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort caused you. We appreciate your business and hope that if you visit the San Antonio area again in the future, you will give us an opportunity to regain your goodwill.

Sincerely,


Roland L. Hinojosa
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The location could not have been any better. We booked last minute and got an amazing rate. The front desk staff was very accommodating. They even gave us a river view room with our low rate! The Bellhop staff let us use their microwave to heat up our dinner from the night before. Everyone on their staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. The hotel was beautiful and it made our trip so relaxing!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floydfloydfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAHILTON, Front Office Manager at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2010

Dear Guest:

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write all about your wonderful experience while staying at Hilton Palacio del Rio. We are very impressed with the level of detail you have provided in your review. I thank you for your praise on our customer service. We look forward to having you as guest in the future.

Regards,

Roland Hinojosa
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,103 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,215 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,849 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Address: 200 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $198 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing