We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not hilton standards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Palacio del Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #14 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not hilton standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived from the airport j wasn't impressed! The place looks old and tired! I asked for a quiet room and I was given two doors from the elevator! The maid didn't do a very good job with cleaning! The hotel is average and I am a platinum member with Marriott so this place doesn't meet my standards! I give it three stars because that's what it deserves!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear david b - Thank you for staying with us recently. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations as it is our goal to make a personal connection with every guest. We will share your comments with our housekeeping department as well as our front desk staff to ensure we improve in these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    799
    229
    93
    57
See reviews for
460
705
67
1,052
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great Location, great value for the money, and good clean comfortable rooms. You will have to go elsewhere to enjoy anything else. The lounge is lacking, can't even watch sports. Very small TV and not equipped.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Jerry B - Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the positive comments about our location, housekeeping staff and value. I apologize the lobby bar did not have larger televisions to watch your favorite sports. We normally have a large projection screen in the area and are researching why it was not operating during your visit? Next time, you might want to check out our very own Tex's Sports Bar with many HD televisions! We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are great and hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Terrific location on the Riverwalk and updated rooms are nicely finished. Disappointing breakfast buffet though. "Cooked to order" eggs had to be done one at a time and took three tries before they weren't broken. By the time both were finished the first one was cd. They were so raw they were inedible. Waiter told me what I wanted for a drink (water?) but I said no, I wanted coffee and OJ. It was the last time I saw him. No service, no tip. Only blemish on an otherwise great stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarcyAg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was a points stay so we were assigned a room away from the water which was at first disappointing but there was a good view from our side as well. The room was clean and though parking is expensive and traffic pretty heavy around the area, once you get there you can walk everywhere you need to go. We would stay there again if in the area!

Room Tip: High floor facing water is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loribledsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nice room; great location; fabulous breakfast. Even liked the Convention Center vies from the balcony. Elevator is cool; you select your floor before boarding. I lived in San Antonio while this hotel was constructed (modular). Wow! Updates are amazing. Access to the River Walk is really great. Room rate was good due to reserving shortly before stay and rate reduction due to light demand.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed at the Palacio Del Rio this past weekend. Great hotel. Had not stayed there in a few years so was glad to see the updates and upgrades. Rooms are great with a very nice view of the river. The staff is friendly and courteous - making the experience all that much nicer. If you are looking for a very nice hotel - conveniently on the river - I recommend this one!! The room and view was awesome!! Highly recommend this hotel. Don't let the blogs about the parking mislead you. It is very convenient to the hotel and easy to use!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The location is perfect, next to river walk and Alamo. Hotel and the rooms are in good condition and very clean. Breakfast buffet is excellent. There are very good restaurants nearby. The staff is very friendly. If you will not go in and out you can park in the city garage next to hotel at 15$/day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mufasa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Property: Hilton Palacio del Rio
Address: 200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing