We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #13 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Stowe
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Across the street from the conference center and Hemisphere Park, on the Riverwalk, next to a quaint Mexican village, transportation options galore and many, many stores for shopping, the Alamo up the street a couple blocks, at least 6 different churches withing walking distance. Breakfast at the restaurant on site was good. I'm a healthy eater and I had many options. My room was 1520, high enough that I did not hear much noise at night. Nice balcony over-looking the Riverwalk, except you could hear the noise from the air conditioning units on the roof of the museaum across the way. Fast elevators. The fitness center was located in 3 very small connected areas, low ceilings and there were issues with several pieces of equipment. Badly needs upgraded to a more pleasant environment. I was surprised for a Hilton.

I had an unpleasant situation (no fault of the hotel) and the hotel staff responded immediately and later that day (for my inconvience) I was given a nice basket of assorted Mexican snacks.

I will be back.

Room Tip: High enough so you do not hear the noise/music from the Riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine19518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,605
    860
    255
    102
    61
See reviews for
512
772
74
1,160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Great lobby bar and our waitress Rhonda was fantastic. Really knowledgable about the city and the hotel. Great experience. The view is awesome too and it really comfortable to relax after a long day. Would definitely go back. And highly recommend

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank krench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

One of the best places to stay on the Riverwalk. There Patio Bar & Café are right on the river edge.. great for people watching... while sipping drinks.. This is in the old section of the Riverwalk which to me has the best views & restaurants on the Riverwalk, plus its only 2 blocks from downtown & the Alamo.. The Staff has one thing in mind, & that's to make your stay an enjoyable one.. If your a non smoker like I am there is no smoking on any of the patio bars.. & hotel.. Best time to go is after 11/24 when the 2 1/2 mile walk is lit up in lights.. I also got the best price on the room by going direct to the hotel web site.. 3 nights is all you need if you can get in around 1 o'clock on the first day.. When we go back it will be to this hotel..

Room Tip: you have 2 choses for baloneys views, the river view or the city view.. Both are great, We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everett m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I called a couple of times before our visit which was during Fiesta week. The operator - Eva - was more than helpful and even recalled my earlier call when I mentioned I had called earlier in the week. So often we are quick to complain about the operator when they don't really have control over anything. Although this is late (stayed in April) I wanted to still give kudos to those who earned it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcatlanta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed three nights at the Hilton Palacio del Rio as part of a conference I attended. The hotel is fine and it is right across the street from the convention center. The rooms are are reasonably sized and cleanliness was ok. There are few issues that put this as an average hotel. First, if you have car there is no on site parking and it is $39 a day for valet parking. If you self park there is a city garage several blocks away you park at and then have to walk back to the hotel. We were not told when we pulled up to the front of the hotel that it was not an attached garage so we drug our luggage back to the hotel from the parking garage. The parking is about $12 a day so even if you enter and exit multiple times it is still cheaper than valet. Just be aware you should check in first and then park. The breakfast at the hotel was decent but we were charged incorrectly and the service was very slow. We did the buffet but our drinks were never refilled and it took 15 minutes to get our check after we asked for it. The hotel is located on the River Walk so that is nice but you can probably find other options that are closer and cheaper. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful in terms of directions and dinner options that is a plus. Overall, an average hotel for a stay in downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buckeyetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear buckeyetravel - Thank you for staying with us during your recent conference. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our central location and proximity to the convention center. I am sorry and apologize for the lack of service received in the restaurant and have passed along your comments to the food & beverage team to address with the staff. Our goal is to provide exceptional service every time. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I called over 3 month ahead to make reservations. We requested a room with a river view and a balcony. The room did have a balcony but we were placed on the 8th floor. We had to stand up and lean over the balcony to see the river. We were not high enough to see anything of the town. The only view we had was a hugh greenish gray tank across from our balcony. We had to pay an extra fee to be able to look at this tank. The amount charged for this room was extreme for what we got.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Edna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Edna F - Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write a review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations regarding the view from your room. We typically assign rooms between floor 5 and 12 for guest that request a river view. We appreciate your comments and will evaluate them as we update our processes. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

If you need a hotel that is located extremely close to the convention center, this is a great hotel. The staff was incredibly nice. They worked quickly through the long lines of all of us that were checking in and they did it with a smile on their faces.
The room was clean. I ended up with a double, instead of a king but that was ok. The rooms are a touch on the small side and if you hear a loud 'bang' either at night or during get day, it is just someone else opening or closing the sliding closet! The rooms were surprisingly quiet for as small as they were.
The breakfast arrived every morning exactly on time for when I'd called for it the night before, although a little on the pricey side.
Nice hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BudGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,078 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,787 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,050 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Property: Hilton Palacio del Rio
Address: 200 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing