We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A beautiful hotel right on the River Walk in San Antonio!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Palacio del Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #14 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel right on the River Walk in San Antonio!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

A beautiful hotel in downtown San Antonio with great rooms and restaurants. Close to the Alamo and the Tower. The balcony was very nice. The River Walk is right out the back of the hotel. Very clean and accomodating!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony overlooking the river is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    782
    229
    89
    57
See reviews for
450
696
66
1,015
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The San Antonio Hilton has the best location on the River Walk. The hotel is spotless, recently rennovated and the staff are all extremely friendly. The Hilton has been completely refurbished in a very tasteful way. The bed are extremely comfortable as well. I highly recommend this Hilton - it is one of the best we have every stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Travel for me is a nightmare. My diet has to be gluten free, no eggs, dairy, sugar,or soy. The three chefs at The River's Edge Restaurant ( David, James, Nick) were fantastic. And Priscilla was instrumental in getting me directly to Chef David prior to our arrival at the hotel. My husband and I were there over the Easter weekend celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. They never made me feel awkward with having to place special orders for each meal. We wanted to go to Europe for this special anniversary, but with my food restrictions decided it was better not to, as I have to eat 5-6 times per day. All of the staff from the front desk to room service were very helpful and it was so nice to sit outside for our meals. We want to thank all of them for their great service. Joyce & Ed Room 1020

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JoyceR823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Happy 30th Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating your special day with us and taking the time to tell us about your experience. We appreciate you recognizing James, David, Nick and Priscilla! We will definitely share your positive comments with the entire management team. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hilton Palacio del Rio for my husband's birthday. Had an excellent room on the 20th floor. We had a balcony that overlooked the Riverwalk. It was great seeing all the sights and the lights at night. Room was very nice and we enjoyed it a great deal. Service was excellent at the hotel. I had ordered a special birthday package for my husband and it arrived right on time. We will definitely stay again! Great location for anything you want to do along the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, Missouri
Level Contributor
226 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed a week in the FIRST of the hotels in the Riverwalk area. Magnificently redone; courteous check-in and the bellmen were absolutely gracious, helpful and courteous.
The rooms are done with taste and the river side rooms with balconies offer a beautiful sweeping landscape view of the Riverwalk.
The computerized elevators are cool, convenient and easy to use although quite a change from traditional 'lifts."
The restaurants are good, Sports Bar is right on the walk and Durty Nellies is a hoot! More about Durty's in another review.
East walk to almost everyplace including the Alamo, shopping, restaurants and parks.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, the rooms on the Riverwalk side are exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear you enjoyed our recent renovations and our cool "lift" upgrade! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have stayed here a couple times now. It is definitely a nice hotel, probably one of the nicest on the riverwalk, but you're paying for it. The balconies are great, especially facing the river. Access to the river is fantastic. The restaurant, just like every other Hilton, is ridiculously overpriced, especially breakfast. And the parking charges are horrible too, but that's the norm for the area. Overall, nice place, but be prepared to pay the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the renovated rooms. Very comfortable and high tech. We enjoyed the free HHonors breakfast which was also very good, in another very modern renovated space.

The location is great. A ten minute walk to the Alamo and the River City Mall.

The downside is the parking, $27 to self park a block away or pay some obscene amount to valet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Txcpl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#20 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Property: Hilton Palacio del Rio
Address: 200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing