We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely updated, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #13 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

As many others have said, yes it's on the riverwalk and yes, it's about three blocks from the Alamo. They've updated the rooms with granite countertops, all the PC connections you could want and comfy beds. Internet speeds wifi or ethernet tested out to about 2 Mbps down/1 Mbps up and was free to me by being an HHonors member. I did not eat there, but the staff I encountered were helpful and friendly.

Trivia: What many do not know is this building has historical significance: all of the rooms were prefabricated offsite and lifted into place like giant Legos, already fully furnished before they were stacked up. I believe it was the first such building to be created this way, with the room-stacking part taking only 40 days, which was to get it ready in time for the 1968 Hemisfair.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as you can on the Riverwalk side for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,386 - 2,392 of 3,027 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just On the way back from a business trip to san antonio where I stayed at the Hilton Palacio del Rio. Overall I am very pleased with this hotel, position is definately the best asset, right downtown on the riverwalk, just minutes walk from anything to see or do in the San Antonio. Rooms are large and the view is lovely. The hotel has all the facilities you would expect from a 4 star hotel in the US. Bathroom probably needs a little update but overall the dark floors and furniture make the room feel very contemporary. Service was very good and fast and staff very nice. The hotel has a good restaurant and a nice Irish pub (durty nelly's) which was very lively on st. Patrick's day and any other night also. Swimming pool was a little small but between meetings i enjoyed relaxing for an hour in the sun, although there is a lot of noise from the streets below.
At lobby level there is plently room for meetings and it was never too busy at any time of the day.
On my next business trip to San Antonio I will definately book again the Hilton Palacio del Rio.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank francescacanneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is awesome it sits right on riverwalk and is in walking distance from the mall, shops and the Alamo. Its a bit pricey and parking is also expensive but to have a great hotel is worth it. The room is extremely clean which is a must for us. The beds are pretty comfortable it was nice to have a balcony facing the opposite side of the riverwalk because we had the view of the tower of the Americas it was beautiful. Also it was perfect weather in March low 80s so overall the hotel was icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kweeny26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It's location is perfect, right on the river, but just down from where it is crowded and loud! Within 50 feet of the turn that goes down to the Riverwalk Mall. It has a sports bar, a nice piano bar, and a Irish bar, which was great since it was St. Paddy's Day weekend!! The River's edge Cafe was nice too. All are right on the river with outdoor seating! The two queen room was very nice, but extremely tight on space!! They did use it very wisely and it worked even with 2 adults and 3 kids (8-11 years old)! Pool sucked, no bathroom, the bar was a temporary one that had to be put up and down each day with portable awning!?! The hot tub was an above ground cheapo!?! The staff were very friendly and helpful! Overall nice but not wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammyanniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My date and I were visiting the River Walk for the St. Patrick's day celebration and decided to visit your restaurant sitting right on the river edge. While we expected to be treated well and were very impressed with the ambiance of the porch like setting, what we did not expect was the special treatment and personal attention that we were provided by one of the most wonderful caring servant waitresses either of us has ever met. Sheila is a gem and one who is the perfect representative for an organization which thrives on providing exceptional service and care to their guests. You are fortunate to have Sheila as your face for the public, because she is an attraction unto herself who should make you proud. We fell in love with her and her welcoming attitude of care and her beautiful smile and will return, if just to see her again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for stopping by Tex's Riverwalk Sports Bar and writing a review! We will share your positive comments with Sheila and the team. We are proud of Sheila and love sharing the news. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

As a San Antonio native I grew up with the Hilton Palacio del Rio, having witnessed it's construction. I believe it was the first modular hotel built. In the old days it was the premier hotel on the river, though I think it lost it's status over the years. Well, it most certainly has made a great comeback. The rooms are super modern, clean and efficient. The bed is to die for. Flat screens throughout. Wonderful showers have taken the place of the old bathtub. All the amenities. Every room has a balcony with chairs. Entirely smoke-free.
We came downtown to celebrate our 25th anniversary and act like tourists. The location of the hotel cannot be beat. The cost of the room is somewhat high, but worth it.
A couple of recommendations: Sign up for Hilton Honors before you check-in. This gives you free Internet, among other things. And ask for a riverview room.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank doctcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Happy 25th Anniversary! Thank you for staying with us to celebrate your special day and taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the positive comments about our renovations and will share them with the entire team! Yes, we were the first modularly constructed building of its' kind back in 1968. We trust the $35 Million transformation has helped us find our luster! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights while attending a conference in March 2013 and are very satisfied with the hotel. It is Clean, well organized, friendly with good Staff and just nearby the Convention center. The only things I could complain about is 1. To expensive WiFi in the Roms. 10 dollar per device and day is to much! 2. The quality of the coffea in the restaurant and the bar. 3. The line to get breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyredOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,155 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,293 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,017 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#19 of 357 in San Antonio
3,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Address: 200 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $151 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing