We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #12 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautifully Situated”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated on the river and offer convenient access to everything in the touristy area of san antonio. However, We waited for about 20 mins to get valet parking upon arrival. Parking is extremely expensive. Self parking, which is awfully inconvenient, is $27. While valet parking is a whopping $39, something i would expect in chicago, nyc, LA, Sf etc..

Hotel was very busy and probably unable to provide attentive service to individual. I guess it is quite understaffed during busy seasons.

Pro:
Perfect location
Great breakfast by the river, free for gold and diamond HH
Guest services on the phone provided excellent service
Excellent new elevators, though they can be confusing for some.

Con:
FDA was understaffed
Parking problems needs to be fixed, you cant have someone waiting for 20 mins to valet and have them pay $39.
Exterior of hotel needs updating

Would chose to stay again if visiting San Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    854
    249
    100
    58
See reviews for
500
762
73
1,145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I took a quick one day trip to San Antonio (we drove up from Houston). It was my first time to leave my son overnight, so we did a one night stay at the Hilton. We arrived earlier and tried to check in but the room was not ready, which was completely OK since we were early. They went ahead and put it first in line to be cleaned and had it ready in 45 minutes after us arriving. We had no problem waiting, we just went right downstairs to the bar on the riverwalk. When we got to our room, they had arranged for a wine and cheese try to be brought up to our room which was Delicious! They had a very sweet note wishing us, Happy Anniversary. The hotel was very clean, the front desk associates were wonderful and so nice. We watched a football game in their lobby bar later that evening and the bartender and wait staff were fantastic. Breakfast the next morning was again great. We ate off the buffet which was stocked full of everything that tastes fantastic with a small hangover... :) Overall, service was great, hotel was great, would recommend over and over again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent location, any closer to the River Walk and you'd be in the water. An older hotel dating from the 1960's, but recently remodeled in fine fashion. Rather bright night light with motion detector that comes on with the slightest movement, and then seems to stay on, and on, and on.... Elevators are state of the art. Wonderful service. Rooms on the River Walk side have a supreme view of a gigantic green water tank. Parking is not cheap, but it is downtown San Antonio. Probably the best place to stay if your primary destination is the River Walk.

Room Tip: Go high unless you are partial to giant green water tanks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We took a 5 day trip to San Antonio to see the Holiday Lights along the riverwalk. The Hilton is an excellent place to stay right on the riverwalk. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the city and the riverwalk. It is so pretty during the holidays. The hotel staff were so friendly. The hotel has been recently renovated and it showed that way, everything shiny and in place. The room was great, very clean, nice bed/pillows and the bath very very nice. My husband and I enjoyed every moment of our stay. Room service was delicious. Being right on the river was so convenient to walk to any restaurant or shop. The rio tour cruise hop on is right across river from the Hilton. The shops of La Villita Historic Arts Village is literally a 5 minute walk from the Hilton.(we could see both from the balcony of our room) The internet/wifi is a little pricey but we are at&t users and the Hilton has an at&t hotspot so we didn't have to pay for wifi. Again, the staff was amazingly friendly from check in to housekeeping. I would definitely recommend staying here! Thanks for the great service.

Room Tip: Riverside Balcony rooms on lower floors have the best views. Otherwise all you see are trees. You wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeminiRed00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stopped here to grab a drink and catch our breath. We had excellent service at the bar and was able to rest before we continued walking down the RiverWalk. We really enjoyed chatting with the other patrons at the bar and watching the football game that was on the televisions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

As a Diamond Hilton Member, I have stayed in hundreds Hiltons worldwide. I love the brand and it is always my first choice.

We stayed in this hotel with my wife's family for the weekend before Christmasuntil Christmas day. The hotel is in a GREAT location right on the heart of Riverwalk. The rooms have been updated and look great. However, the room was very dirty. There was a lot of dust on the furniture.

The first day I left a $5 tip in the room (I usually tip them since I realized cleaning rooms are hard work!). When we got back in the evening, after they had done the room, there we extra towels, and chocolates on the bed, etc But the dust was still on the FURNITURE. I took a picture which I am posting with this review where I was able to write the work CLEAN on the dust.

I wanted to let management know and I spoke the Manager on duty on December 23rd in the afternoon. I showed her the picture and she apologized, but her attitude was "I don't really CARE".

Oh well, I really tried, so, here is my review. Great Hotel, Great Location, Updated Rooms, But VERY DIRTY.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal Diamond Member, staying with us recently AND taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the positive comments about the hotel renovations and location. I do apologize the guest room cleaning was not done properly as well as the follow through of your Guest Service Agent. We have addressed these opportunities with our management team and will use this to better train our team members. Again, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but it's been newly renovated and the rooms are quite comfortable. Granite bathrooms and very comfortable beds. They also have a modern elevator system, which makes stopping at every floor a thing from the past. You're also on the Riverwalk, which is very convenient if you're going to a restaurant or simply want to take a stroll.

My only complaint (and it's a bit of a big one) is their ridiculously expensive (and inefficient) parking service. We had to wait 15 minutes for someone to take our car, and 25 minutes to get it back the next day - and for this we had to pay $40 (plus tip, of course).

Sorry, but I find this outrageous. Now, in their defense, a "self-parking" option is advertised (for a little less than $30), but we went around the block looking for this self-parking place and didn't find it. In my opinion, one pays for valet parking because it's easier and faster than parking yourself, but this hotel turned it into an inconvenience. And a very expensive one, at that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielWeiHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and providing feedback about your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed the renovated rooms and our technology upgrades. I do want to apologize about the parking challenges. Your feedback is important as we evealuate our staffing levels during busy time periods. Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 356 in San Antonio
3,726 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,174 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,008 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 356 in San Antonio
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Property: Hilton Palacio del Rio
Address: 200 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing