We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "San Antone" Favorite for Decades”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #13 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A "San Antone" Favorite for Decades”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Hilton Hotel Palacio del Rio is hard to review because it’s been such a comfortable and popular destination for me the past 20 years. With that said, I tend to overlook what some might consider faults.
It’s a lot like my old flight jacket I have. It’s not attractive to everyone, but it’s not for everyone’s attraction. It receives great comments and accolades, but some say it’s a little old and tattered around the edges. But if you do want the flavor of Old San Antonio; other than going to a boutique hotel like the Mengar downtown, this is Su Casa.
Rooms are comfortable, food service is very good as is the insanely good time at Dirty Nelly’s and the breakfast buffet at Ibiza’s is good, not great.
The great thing is that it is next door to The Little Rhein Steakhouse (make reservations asap [--], and less than a 5 minute walk to Casa Rio, the very best in TEX-Mex anywhere.
Centrally located on the Riverwalk, directly across from the Riverwalk cruise dock, The Hotel del Palacio is easy to get to anything or nothing on the Riverwalk. Low balconies are preferred on the Riverwalk if a parade is going on, if not, get a high floor for a quieter time. The streets get loud on weekends with bikes and cars.
All in all, this is one of my favorite places to hang my jacket for a couple days and relax, explore or just hang with my best friend, my bride. We always embrace and never expect and are never disappointed in this hotel.

Room Tip: Low balconies are preferred on the Riverwalk if a river parade is going on, if not, get a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetjouster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    811
    233
    94
    57
See reviews for
468
727
69
1,086
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Arrives on Saturday, Halloween weekend, and found all of the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. I had read that the hotel was under removation and was a bit concerned about morning noise, but there wasn't any. This is a great hotel in a perfect location for visiting the Riverwalk. It's very nice, right on the river, and close to everything. The remodeled rooms are very nice.

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars you can have a view of the Riverwalk. If you want to have a good view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBEIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Location, location.. A bit expensive but location to the river walk and Down town San Antonio is priceless. Walking distance to the Alamo. The hotels Resturant is on the river walk. U can't beat the view from the balconies. The rooms are a bit dated but still very nice. The front desk was always willing to help

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arismendez25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

What a GREAT location! I am not sure if there is a more centrally located hotel on the Riverwalk! You just walk out the door and BAM, the Riverwalk is there. Some of the best places are right there. You walk across the bridge and you can catch the Riverboat tours. Even on the street level, you just walk to the corner of the property and catch the Trolley which will take you to ALL of the attractions. The Trolley is $1.10 per person and you have to have the correct change. You can go to the visitor center which is a couple of blocks away and get an all day pass for $4.00.

The rooms are very clean and nice, we booked on priceline and were given one of the older rooms, which slightly discouraged me but it was nice enough. The hotel is under renovations so during the day it is noisey which we didn't really mind because we were gone most of the day. I will say tho, you can here the racier traffic at night and all of the emergency vehicles. If you are a light sleeper that might be a problem. Our shower was stuck on near scalding but when reported, they had it fixed within an hour.

I would stay at this hotel again. The parking is a tad expensive. Hilton has the 7th floor and up on the parking garage. It is a in and out rate which is nice feature. Be prepared to pay $22 per day for self park and $35 per day for Valet. You will not have to pay that tho until check out. A Division of the SA Police Dept is in the same building which gave me a sense of ease. Overall, I will stay again. Maybe at that time, renovations will be complete. :o)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Beautiful remodeling job in progress for this property. We stayed in a great room that had already been remodeled. Wonderful location right on the river!

Room Tip: Be sure to request one of the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsVick100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Hilton Diamond Hhonors member with around 100+ nights per year in hotels and more than half at Hilton branded properties.

This is one of the nicest Hiltons yet as for the renovated rooms. I was on top floor and heard/saw no trace of construction underway. The rooms are excellent with private balconies (try to be on riverwalk side), Grohe plumbing fixtures, LCD tv, great bed with reading lamps, motion sensor lighting, multimedia connections, etc.

I saw an un-renovated floor when the elevator door opened - you really really want a newly renovated floor and the higher the better.

Downsides: $35/day valet parking!!! Weak wifi signal (too weak for iPad or iPhone but my laptop connected). Very loud if there's a riverwalk festival. Overall value is fair compared to other riverwalk hotels.

There are a lot of nice riverwalk hotels, but if you are a Hilton program member you can't go wrong here in the brand new rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoFLme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

The hotel is undergoing renovations and hopefully they will get to the lobby soon. The new rooms are gorgeous and I had a balcony overlooking the river. The service at the hotel restaurant leaves a little to be desired, but service every where else in the hotel was excellent. The location cannot be beat!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megsies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,479 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Property: Hilton Palacio del Rio
Address: 200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing