We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in front of North Star Mall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport
Ranked #70 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in front of North Star Mall”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nice hotel just across the street of north star mall, 2 min from the airport, in the North side of the city, 15min from la Cantera and The Rim, and close to the i-35 to San Marcos (outlets) or Austin, great location.

"Mexican Quinta" style, well maintained, just ask for a room close to the elevators 'cause you can be in a long walk to get to your room if you don't. Nice pool and bar. Several restaurants nearby, also Target, Walmart, Ross, TJmaxx, Babies-r-us, Galaxy Golf and other good stores.

Room Tip: Room near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    305
    236
    139
    71
See reviews for
304
160
74
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buckypeekn
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was a nice stay. The hotel had a weird layout... You have to walk all the way around the floor to get to your room due to the indoor atrium. Getting ice was not an easy task. Overall, great location! Very friendly staff. The rooms are average size but clean and modern. Fridge and microwave are a plus!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckypeekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here after a 27hr driving marathon. Staff promptly checked us in and stored some bicycles over night for us. It felt great to take a shower and get some rest. Placed was nice and had some Texan charm and character. The trailer we were pulling was there when we got on our way the next day. There were no security concerns.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was hesitant to book this hotel after reading a few negative reviews. I'm glad I did because it exceeded my expectations! The staff was so friendly and courteous. Everyone from the front desk staff to room service and house keeping were friendly and warm.

The hotel itself is showing signs of aging but nothing obvious that would make the stay any less enjoyable. Our room was nice and cool when we walked in although I did notice the thermostat was cranked down to 55 degrees.

I was nervous about the room cleanliness after reading some past reviews but our room was spotless. No complaints there!

I wouldn't think twice about booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeMc1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at the Double Tree Hilton June 15th - 16th. I orgianlly had a reservation at the FourPoints but plans changed so I pricelined. I got this room for a really good price so I hoped that the room would be decent enough. We arrived right at 3 and there were a few people already there ready to check in. Once my turn I was told I had to pay a 25.00 deposit but the clerk wasnt sure so he asked another lady who said 50.00 deposit. Then still confused he asked someone else who said 25.00 as I paid the deposit he still wasnt sure and asked someone else who informed him it was 50.00 by the time all this was over 2 other people were already checked in their room.

Finally we got our key and the room was clean I checked everything. No problems to report. This hotel is much older but the photo on this site doesnt give it justice. Its clean and comfortable. The bed was nice and the bedding was clean. The bathroom was a bit small but again very clean. This hotel offers balcony rooms which leads to an outside elevator to the pool. This was a nice feature so you didnt have to walk the halls in your bathing suits. The pool was nice goes to 5 feet. We got this room because it was close to seaworld took us about 20 mins. There are resturants close by to eat at. chick fila is across the street, Applebees and crackle barral is right down the road. A big plus is the mall right across the street.
I rate this hotel a 4 in spite of the trouble with checking in because my kids truely enjoyed their stay and our room was very clean. Not the best property we have stayed at but was very good for our family of four.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor offer the balcony access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a baseball tournament over the weekend of June 8th. My son left his wallet there (with no money in it) just his learner's permit driver's license. My husband left his iphone charger. My son realized he left his wallet before they even returned home and called but could not get an answer. 3 days later and we still have been unable to get anyone to call us back from lost and found or housekeeping. We have spoken with the front desk who says nothing was left in the room. This wallet belonged to my father who passed away 5 years ago and my son has carried it ever since; there was nothing of "value" in it. My husband says he knows where his charger was left, and yet either they don't care enough to return our calls or as the front desk says, nothing was reported found. It is so disappointing that they cannot at least return phone calls and secondly dishonesty is something I cannot tolerate. There are too many other hotels to whom I will give my hard-earned money that hopefully would be more forthcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D2tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy Y, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
I am so sorry that no one responded to your call about lost and found. Please e-mail me at Julie.Robey@us.whg.com or call me directly at 210-321-4801 and I will personally check our Lost and Found log book for you. I need your room number the the date you checked out. Again, my apologies.

Regards,

Julie Robey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I will stay again! very nice Hotel, clean and big rooms, the only problem is they did'nt include the internet, but the breakfast is free.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bansterref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Uptown Loop
Hilton San Antonio Airport
Hilton San Antonio Airport
#63 of 356 in San Antonio
695 reviews
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport
Address: 37 NE Loop 410, at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216-5822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport. Located just minutes from San Antonio International Airport (SAT) on Interstate 410, across from the upscale North Star Shopping Mall. Our centrally located hotel offers close proximity to the downtown Riverwalk area and many major attractions such as SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas. Discover many things to do in San Antonio with our 24-hour shuttle service to the airport and nearby businesses. Enjoy spacious accommodations equipped with a range of thoughtful amenities including High Def LCD televisions to signature bedding. The guestrooms were designed with your comfort in mind. The DoubleTree by Hilton features fantastic facility amenities including a picturesque courtyard with a pool and hot tub, Cascabel Restaurant & Bar and Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Antonio
San Antonio Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing