We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay near San Antonio Airport.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport
Ranked #69 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“My favorite place to stay near San Antonio Airport.”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This hotel is convenient to the airport, and there's a big mall across the highway, which can be crossed over a bridge on foot if you're willing to brave the horrible traffic. Be careful. Cross the less busy street to the west for access to a wide variety of restaurants and stores. But why leave the hotel? It's a great place. The staff at the front desk, bellmen, waiters, waitresses, lounge attendants, housekeeping, are always helpful, friendly and efficient. I avoided the pool area because of the weekend crowd, but the fitness center is nice, if a little bit cramped. I feel obligated to warn readers to avoid the pool-side elevator on the north edge of the pool. It'll give you a slow-baking sauna ride in the summer. Wireless internet works only in or near the lobby. The restaurant serves up a great breakfast buffet. Shuttle to the airport runs every half hour and seems very efficient and timely. I've stayed in some other hotels around the airport, and I like this one best.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet, a room on the far east side on the concierge floor will keep you away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatmisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    303
    233
    138
    70
See reviews for
300
157
74
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on 7/15/11 for one night before a vacation flight. When we were ready to turn in for the night my wife turned down the covers and realized half the bed was wet. Yes, it was a urine soaked bed. We had both felt the bed before we realized it was urine. After we both ran to the bathroom to wash off I called the front desk. The guy told me to come down and get a new room key. He apologized, but nothing else...just gave me a new room. Never heard a word from management. My wife and I both touched a disgusting urine soaked bed and no measures from management were taken. I filled out these comments on the Hilton website and have heard nothing (I'm a Hilton Honors elite member). Needless to say I'll never stay in this disgusting place again, and after no response from Hilton I may never stay in any of their chains either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crhdmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Basic 1980 hotel with the popcorn ceilings, brick walls. There is no wireless internet in the rooms, just the lobby. Come on it's 2011. I got the lounge treatment since I am diamond, but that really does not offset the fact that this place needs to be shut down and about 10MM spent to bring this place up to date. Go to the Hilton (which is somewhat dated) or the Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Check in about 3:30 on Saturday 07/02/11, got a cookie even though their were two of us, we split the cookie. Open the door to the room and it was hot, Went straigh to the AC and down it down to 65. Try to open the door to the balcony but it was painted shut, I wouldn't take no for an answer I knew the doors open I have stay at the hotel many times.
Finnaly I broke the seal on the door and standing on the balcony. woo too hot outside.
We decide to go catch a movie and let the room cool down. Caught a movie and dinner.
Got back to the room about 7:30 the AC was still running, but not much cooler. We took cold shower and got into bed. All night long the AC ran but never cooled off. The sink stopper was broken.

We check out the next morning and headed home stop by the front desk to report problems they said they were sorry. They would look into. Got an Email from the Manger on returning home, she said she would address the problem and would like to send us a certificate for a free night. that would be wonderful never have recieve anything.

It is a old hotel that needs some work done on it, It's just too hot in San Antonio not to have the AC working. Housekeeper had to know it wasn't working.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tugboat11191951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I just returned from a two-night business stay and was very happy with the room, the service and the location. The hotel is out of the takeoff/landing patterns, so it's much quieter than a typical airport hotel. The concierge area breakfast was good and the common areas were clean and pleasant. The only negative I encountered was that on a 102 degree day, the air conditioner was working awfully hard to keep the room cool when I returned around dinnertime. For under $100/night, it was an excellent value. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbru83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Double Tree Hotel as beautiful courtyard which is screened in on the top to keep the bugs out... it surrounded by great trees and a fountain. You would never know that your at an airport property and the best part LOCATION - and an amazing mall just across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ari_12356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Arrived late and the shuttle was prompt to the airport.
Check in was very fast and the room was a fair distance from the lobby.
The staff were very friendly but there is only free internet in the lobby which is a downside.
The room was older but clean with two comfortable beds.
Restaurants and big mall within walking distance.
Bus stop out front hotel had line directly downtown to the Riverwalk area etc.
I wouldn't rush back but if the price was right and I needed a hotel near the airport I wouldn't hesitate to stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank trip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Uptown Loop
Hilton San Antonio Airport
Hilton San Antonio Airport
#60 of 355 in San Antonio
671 reviews
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport
Address: 37 NE Loop 410, at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216-5822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#31 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport. Located just minutes from San Antonio International Airport (SAT) on Interstate 410, across from the upscale North Star Shopping Mall. Our centrally located hotel offers close proximity to the downtown Riverwalk area and many major attractions such as SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas. Discover many things to do in San Antonio with our 24-hour shuttle service to the airport and nearby businesses. Enjoy spacious accommodations equipped with a range of thoughtful amenities including High Def LCD televisions to signature bedding. The guestrooms were designed with your comfort in mind. The DoubleTree by Hilton features fantastic facility amenities including a picturesque courtyard with a pool and hot tub, Cascabel Restaurant & Bar and Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Antonio
San Antonio Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing