We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good and some not as good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #64 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Some good and some not as good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am very loyal to the Hilton brand, but did not feel that this location is up to the high standards of Hilton. The staff was very nice and accomodating, the lobby and rooms were clean and the breakfast buffet was good, although lacking the omelet and waffle station. The shuttle staff was VERY kind and helpful running folks to and from the convention center.
I felt as if the rooms were a bit outdated and really more aligned to the Hampton Inn properties. I was disappointed that there was not a coffee and tea bar for after hours and a quick cup in the AM.
The AC unit is my room was loud and I am not a huge fan of the sleep number beds.
It was not an unpleasant stay, but it just wasn't the Double Tree that I prefer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayhawks91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    268
    189
    89
    74
See reviews for
298
166
42
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great place to stay in downtown San Antonio...the location is great as it's close to the River Walk...breakfast is delicious and the hotel has a nice pool. I love the hot chocolate chip and walnut cookies. We had our family reunion here and the venue made it easy for us to explore downtown San Antonio and to have a good time at the hotel hanging out with each other.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Yolanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife decided to treat me to a weekend in San Antonio for Father's Day. We had such a good experience several weeks before when I treated her to a weekend in San Antonio for Mother's Day. Both weekends were made all the better by our stay at the Doubletree Hotel near the UTSA Downtown campus. The hotel looks great and the people there are friendly and helpful. The "Southwestern" breakfast buffet is great! We both like to workout each morning, so the Fitness Center was furnished with up-to-date cardio machines in good working order. Best of all, the hotel had a shuttle to take us back and forth to the River Walk, so residing at a hotel away from the hustle and bustle was made all the better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice hotel, good restaurant on site, across the street from the UTSA. A hike to the Riverwalk downtown, but they do have a conveinent shuttle that runs regularly to the area, so no problems there. Great staff. Was not crazy about the sleep number beds, but that may have just been me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We enjoyed out stay. The location was convenient to the River Walk and only a short drive to the Zoo and Botanical Garden. Every person I dealt with on the staff was friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant once for breakfast and once for dinner. Food was delicious and the service was fantastic both times. The only negative for me was the bed. I personally dislike Sleep Number beds. I don't think they are much different than sleeping on an air mattress but if you like them this is definitely the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank carcrumpler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a wedding at the River Walk, but the hotels on the River Walk were very pricy, and we found the Double Tree which is 5 minutes away from the River Walk, for a great price and it was also a very nice hotel. Would recommend it if you are looking to stay in the downtown area of San Antonio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very satisfied with stay. Just think that they should offer free wifi and parking. Otherwise, would recommend to anyone visiting the downtown / riverwalk area. Shuttle was a nice plus also! Time of next shuttle departure always posted in lobby. Driver gave us phone # to call when we were ready to be picked up. Came quickly! Breakfast was really good and room service came in a timely fashion and tasted great! Staff very friendly and helpful as well! Housekeeping very nice. Gave us trashbags and towels when we asked for them even though we told them not to clean room until we checked out. Would definitely consider another stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#124 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown
Address: 502 W Cesar E Chavez Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78207-4408 (Formerly Radisson Hotel San Antonio Downtown Market Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#89 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#97 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover contemporary comforts in historic San Antonio at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Downtown. Set in San Antonio's central business district — less than 15 minutes from San Antonio International (SAT) Airport and with easy access to major interstates — this hotel is convenient to the Alamo, the Riverwalk and surrounding Texas military facilities. Park out of the Texas sun in our shaded lot and catch this hotel’s complimentary shuttle throughout downtown. Enjoy a warm cookie and a warm welcome always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
San Antonio Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing