We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center
Ranked #241 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed December 26, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank CHRISTINE G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 314 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

Ask to see the room first!!! I am a pregnant woman traveling alone with my 4 year old son to pick up my daughter from the Army. With it being Christmas time, I am on a tight budget. I guess I had better expand my budget a little. I was looking for a place that is inside entry as a safety precaution for me and my son and from the outside it looked alright (it was 10:30 at night so couldn't see much). The price was ok (fit into my budget) for a one night stay and we were tired from the drive so we took the room that was offered, a non-smoking with 2 doubles. I had requested a king but the lady at the front desk said they only had kings in suite rooms and it would be more. We proceeded to our room and the first red flag was the door leading into the building. If you pulled on it, the bottom portion would open but the security latch would not allow the top to open. Not very secure if you ask me. We got to the room and had a difficult time getting the door to latch back after getting it open. I had to open and close it about 3 times for it to latch. This was only done by pushing on it, not using the door handle. Got the door closed and locked and proceeded to get ready for the night and was greated by a roach on the towels. UGH!!!! I called the front desk and she offered to spray but I told her that if there was one there were more and I didnt want to smell that all night. She came up, pretty quickly, to change out the towels and I couldn't get the door open. Hoped we didn't have an emergency to where we had to get out in a hurry. She didn't say a word about the door when I to her that it wouldn't open. She came in and looked at the roach on the towels and tried to tell me the it was a cricket. I am 44 years old and know what the heck a roach is!!!! I told her that she left the front desk pretty quick as I tried to call back to go ahead and change rooms but she did not respond to that request. I am guessing that she was more concerned with the "cricket". My son being so tired, went ahead and crawled into the bed a fell asleep. I got into the bed shortly there after and the spring would pop with every move not to mention the vibration you feel from the ac/heating unit. Needless to say, a very sleepless night. I would advise going somewhere else!!!! I really hate to make reviews like this as I am not one to complain.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mglover37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. We are here to strive and satisfy the guest and obviously this not a impression we like to put on Howard Johnson or our hotel in particular. Howard Johnson is the oldest Hotel chain around for 90 plus years and it has been base on the 3 C's (Clean, Comfortable and most important Customer Sevice). We strive to to extremes in measures as we know if it effects our guest it effects us. Plese give a second oppurtunity if your are in the are to show you the new changes that occured, Guest Relatios Manager-Tony P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank Dwayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Ms T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for one week. Originally reserved for 4days, but the room was very spacious, staff nice and rates were excellent. Clean rooms, nice and friendly staff. The only thing wrong was pump went out on the pool and hot tub. I hope they get that fixed, hot tub would have been nice. Just a few exits away to riverwalk, and close to anywhere one might visit,ie. sea world and other attractions. Money saved on room allowed for more activities!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wonderlust L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. We know you have a choice and we are glad you chose us. Again, thank you for reviewing our property and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us. We cannot wait to see you again!
Guest Relations Manager: Tony P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank NORA S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in a double King suite. This layout was PERFECT for our family. It had two rooms, separated by french doors, with a King size bed and a flat screen tv in each room. The room was clean, smelled nice, and was supplied well. There wasn't great air flow with the french doors shut, but we could put the a/c on high while we were out during the day, and the whole place would be cool when we came back. We would then put our kids to bed, turn the a/c to low, shut the doors, and be able to watch tv and get on the internet and take time to wind down. When we would go to bed, we would open the french doors, and the temperature would be perfect all night. Here are the cons: The maintenance in this place was not great (my husband happens to do apartment maintenance for a living), and that caused some run down issues. Every morning there were some sort of ant, and sewer gnats in the shower. We just rinsed them away, and that was the end of it until the next morning. Judging from the cracks in the tiles, there was probably some mold behind the walls that were attracting them. Also, the locks/keycards were infuriating! We figured out the outside door pretty easily, we just had to put the card in and pull it out very slowly to get it to unlock. The door to our room was more difficult. We would normally need to put the card in several times, slow, fast, two times quickly.... We would just have to play around with it until it would work. The continental breakfast could have been pretty good..... except it wasn't. It had waffles, two kinds of cereal, bagels and toast, oatmeal, and biscuits and gravy. The gravy was not good, the toaster was broken and wouldn't stay down to toast anything.... But if you like waffles, raisin bran, or corn flakes. And if you do, you should get there early, or it will be gone. Housekeeping did pretty well, except for the last night. They only left one towel for a family of 4..... Which is not the end of the world. When we called the front desk, they said we were more than welcome to come pick some up. I just think that if they didn't put the towels in that they were supposed to, they should bring them to us. All that being said, it was still a very large, awesome room, for $67 a night. It served us very well, and I slept better than I ever did in one room with two double beds, and my two toddlers right next to us.They just need to put a little more into their maintenance. And the breakfast is a continental breakfast. It is what it is, and what I would normally expect.

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the outside door, and we often heard people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.We have adddressed such issues to maintenance and housekeeping to rectify these errors for future reference. We know you have a choice and we are glad you chose us. Again, thank you for reviewing our property and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us. We cannot wait to see you again!
G.R.M. Tony P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Quality Suites
#159 of 358 in San Antonio
31 reviews
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtow...
#168 of 358 in San Antonio
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Plus Downtown North
#111 of 358 in San Antonio
70 reviews
Northeast San Antonio
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#233 of 358 in San Antonio
118 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn-AT&T Cen...
#231 of 358 in San Antonio
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center

Address: 3817 N Panam Expy, San Antonio, TX 78219-2202 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $59 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 35, Quality Inn & Suites San Antonio Ft. Sam Houston, San Antonio International Airport and % minutes near downtown Riverwalk. San Antonio provides easy access to countless points of interest and popular Texas attractions. We also provide plenty of on-site entertainment such outdoor pool and hot tub, picnic area with barbecue grill,laptop,PS3 and DVD rentals.After enjoying your new comforter and pillow in your spacious room featuring 32 inch flat LED TV's, Newly Desinged Rooms, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE HOT breakfast,FREE Business Center. Business guests will appreciate our meeting space with fax and copy services. On site Snack Bar store and ATM. We are 100% smoke free and non pet friendly facility. Designated smoking area away from the building is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites I-35 - near AT&T Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing