We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Annual Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Ranked #74 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Annual Stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Every year my wife and I go on a quick getaway to downtown San Antonio. This was the 5th time at the Marriott Plaza Hotel. Having stayed at many different hotels in downtown San Antonio, the Marriott Plaza Hotel, is by far, our favorite. I travel three days a week for work, and my company uses every hotel imaginable. So, this would seem, like just another hotel for a seasoned traveler. Well, it is not! The hotel is beautiful and very relaxing for a downtown hotel. The grounds are manicured, and the rooms are as nice as Marriott's category 8 hotel. The food is excellent as well. What separates this hotel apart from every other nice hotel, is the staff. I can't say enough good things about the people who work at this hotel. Bell staff, front desk staff, bar and restaurant staff, concierge room staff, and housekeeping staff were all "over the top" friendly. I had my parents join us for this trip, and they were amazed at how they were treated as well. They too, are hooked on the San Antonio Marriott Plaza Hotel. Thanks to the staff for a great stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffW25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Jeff W.,

First, thank you so much for returning each year to the Marriott Plaza San Antonio for your getaway. I was delighted to read your email regarding the stunning property and the wonderful ladies and gentleman on our team. We strive to not only meet our guest’s expectations but exceed them. I know each team member genuinely care for each guest. It is wonderful to see our guests each year and their families. We are honored we play a small part in making a memorable experience for all. Anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable or get you what we need, we are happy and ready to serve.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott Plaza. We look forward to seeing your family next year (or even sooner)!

Always At Your Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    261
    94
    60
    31
See reviews for
157
179
39
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota FL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Plaza. Comfortable room. Friendly staff. Free Starbucks coffee in the lobby in morning. Cool fruit flavored water in the afternoon. Only a 5 minute walk to the famed River Walk. About 10-15 minutes to the Alamo. We flew in and never rented a car. Taxi from airport to hotel was about $27. We had 6 people, so it was a "deal"!

Cons: Train horns in middle of the night. LONG horns! Every hour or 2 on the weekdays all night long. Not good. But you would hear these horns no matter what hotel you are in. The hotel hosts a beautiful peacock in their courtyard. However, at night, if you have a room on the courtyard side, the bird can make some awful noises early (and I mean early) morning! If you have a choice, get a room on the opposite side of the courtyard! Just a fair warning! I am surprised more guests do not complain.

But the hotel itself is great. We enjoyed our stay and recommend. We paid in advance thru AAA and got our rooms for $145 including all taxes. Good deal!

Room Tip: The hotel hosts a beautiful peacock in their courtyard. However, at night, if you have a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pclarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear pclarry,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay with us. I am sorry that you heard the horns from the train in the evening. Those trains go through downtown and thank you for your understanding. I also know our peacock has been a little on the vocal side these past few weeks. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. He is beautiful and is quite the show man during the day. I am readying up on anything that we can do.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our coffee service we provide in the morning and our fresh Elixir water throughout the day. It is just a small way to thank all our guests for staying with us. I am also happy to read that you had a wonderful service experience with our team. We always strive to go above and beyond. Anything suggestions or feedback we do our best to improve on for future guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and taking the time to share your experience. I do hope we see you again when you visit San Antonio.

Always At Your Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

From the moment you enter, you feel this warm welcome, like home-coming. This is a hotel like a 5-star hotel should always be. We got a very beautiful suite on the garden-side, which is quiet enough for a good sleep and you have an open view towards the city. The balconies are furnished and give you that relaxing feeling. We had lounge - access, which was most enjoyable, for breakfast and evening snacks. The wine in the lounge is not complimentary, that is the only minus point as usually you get free wines in all lounges.
For my birthday, they offered however complimentary wine and cake, which was phantastic!
It is an easy walking distance to the river, 8-10 min. where you do not want to stay, unless you like tall hotels, shoulder on shoulder, facing each other along this narrow river.
We booked this Marriott for its balconies and it was the best choice ever!
It is a phantastic, warm hotel, with very good service indeed and very friendly staff; if you book some time ahead you get a good rate!
This Marriott is for us one of the best we had worldwide, congratulations to the staff!
A 2-night stay is perfect for exploring this small, beautiful city.

Room Tip: garden-view, high floor, MRM is honoured..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vondel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear vondel33,

Thank you choosing to stay with us at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio during your weekend getaway and birthday celebration! I am thrilled that you had an amazing stay and that our team was sure to recognize you on your special day. We know that when our guests come, it is about making sure we create a memorable experience and our team is dedicated to making sure we do whatever we can to make that happen.

I am glad you enjoyed our view and your room. We sit on 6.5 acres and the grounds are gorgeous. You would not even know you are right in downtown and right by the Riverwalk. It is a wonderful location; close to all the attractions, yet enough space to feel like you are miles away in our garden and pool.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Again, it is our pleasure to serve you. Happy Birthday and we hope to see you back soon.

Always At Your Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I recently stayed at this property for a conference. Great location! Only a few blocks from the River Walk so....close enough to enjoy...far enough away to avoid the madness. The staff was incredibly friendly. Perhaps the biggest surprise was the quality of the food. Now....we have all been to many conferences and know what "conference food" is all about. Well....this is one of the few times in my life I actually went back for more food. It was exceptional! I would stay here again if I visit. While the larger Marriott is nice....this one was a little oasis....quiet and still within reach of all the fun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marriott Plaza! We had a balcony room facing the courtyard - enjoyed the fountain/pool view and the peacocks! free coffee in the am and fruit-infused water in the pm were a nice little perk.

The manager also directed us to breakfast at The Guenther House on Monday morning as we were enquiring about a nice breakfast spot on our way out of town - aMazing! sat outside with a pleasant light breeze and ate delectable waffles/pancakes/bacon!

Next time we are in San Antonio we know where we'll be staying - Marriott Plaza!
(p.s. - bed was super comfortable! and plush towels!)

Room Tip: balcony room was perfection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinagirl0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Wonderful treasure of a hotel in San Antonio. It is a beautiful property with lovely pool and grounds--complete with peacocks! The staff was friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The hotel was the site of a conference and it was perfect. Meeting arrangements and details couldn't have been better. Morning buffet in the concierge lounge was comprehensive, as was the afternoon array of hot appetizers. Staff was welcoming, engaging, and attentive. The hotel is in easy walking distance to San Antonio's attractions yet was so inviting that I didn't want to leave. Loved the intimacy of a smaller hotel--it will be my first choice for any future stays in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Upper floor overlooking pool was perfect--beautiful old live oak just off the balcony offered shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCK012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed for the second time on business this week. Hotel has good downtown location and the neighborhood is not as daunting as some have described. It is not on the riverwalk, but very close. Take this as a positive or negative, depending upon your preference. Property is gorgeous, very old with mature and lush landscaping. Birds in the courtyard are a nice and peaceful touch. Lobby/bar area very nicely done as well. Rooms are typical, no complaints in that department. Staff was great. This will be my HQ for future trips to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
The Fairmount
#194 of 355 in San Antonio
157 reviews
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#43 of 355 in San Antonio
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
2,793 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#20 of 355 in San Antonio
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Plaza San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Property: Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Address: 555 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#52 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Plaza San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Plaza San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing