We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Ranked #69 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Keep coming back here for my annual San Antonio visit, out of habit I guess. Reception staff are always quick and correct checking in but there is no magic really, no sincere smile, no genuine hospitality. Tried the restaurant for breakfast, lunch & dinner during my multiple day stay - all good quality in itself. Restaurant staff are good at breakfast (a bit too talkative with the guests perhaps) but come drinks or dinner time you can count on having to wait for any staff to come out of the kitchen area - obviously they have little business in the evening with most people heading for the River Walk. Good central location, if you are OK walking you are only minutes away from Downtown, The Alamo, etc. Gym and pool area are fine. The hotel is getting old, it really shows. Perhaps time for a change next year. Why indeed do I keep coming back?

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view, 1st floor or up
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaaskop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Kaaskop61:

Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to provide constructive comments about the Marriott Plaza San Antonio, especially regarding our great location in downtown San Antonio, near all the activities and sights, but without the congestion. The Marriott Plaza truly offers a resort atmosphere in the city, from the Spanish courtyard with its abundant tropical plants, to the roaming Peacocks and exotic birds that greet our guests.

I also appreciate your observations about our front desk reception and restaurant and have made immediate revisions to these areas to elevate the service. I know you will notice these improvements during your next visit. You will also be able to take note of the completed changes to our lobby and other areas of the hotel. Our commitment is to continue to make the Marriott Plaza the most popular "best kept secret in downtown San Antonio".

If I may assist you in any manner, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Plaza San Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 803 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip. Nice entrance. Comfortable room. I had a courtyard view which was great in the morning. I was able to get to the Riverwalk in about 5 minutes walking slowly. Staff recommended good places for dinner.

Room Tip: Courtyard view is quiet with good views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emvholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Emvholt:

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! Your comments were greatly appreciated, especially regarding our Spanish courtyard. It really lends itself to the resort like atmosphere our guests enjoy along with the convenience you noted-near the RiverWalk without the congestion and just down the street from the colorful and fun King William Historic District.

Thank you once again for your review. We sincerely hope to see you back soon!

Rob Gauthier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here only one night on business. Its courtyard had a nice resort feel (only saw from the window). The facility is old and my room had a boring view facing the street. The room facing the courtyard would be much better. It's not located not on the Riverwalk and there were no cabs waiting by the entrance. The upside is its breakfast at the concierge lounge is much better than Marriott Rivercenter or Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akiraoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to San Antonio and for sharing your review. We were thrilled to read how you enjoyed our services and food quality. I look forward to our next opportunity to properly serve you when you visit with us again in the near future so you can experience a different type of room, this time with a nicer view.Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great motel, meets the usual marriot standard. Nice staff. Easy walking distance to all the sights in down town san antonio, just minutes from the riverwalk. very close to the tower of the americas. Rooms are a little older but clean with all the facilities. Bathroom looks a little tired. Easy parking on site but a little expensive, 25 dollars a day. In room internet at a price, however the free wifi from the lobby can be picked up on the second floor :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagreatdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and for your kind words about our location and especially our team which we are extremely proud of. We so look forward to the pleasure of your stay very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here over a weekend in July with visiting family. I was able to acquire the rooms short notice on priceline for a very reasonable price, especially considering the location.
We were very pleased with the facility and the service. The hotels has a courtyard that is very tranquil and peaceful. This is a nice place to relax prior to or after experiencing the riverwalk, as sometimes that place can be a zoo.
We would like to recommend this hotel for all types of travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feltish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to San Antonio and for sharing your review. We were thrilled to read how you enjoyed our location, services and food quality. We will celebrate those with our staff as we do so enjoy when we go above and beyond our guests' expectations. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Marriott Plaza San Antonio is a terrific property. The outisde of the hotel isn't the most impressive, but inside the pleasing surroundings are comfortable and relaxing. The staff is first class - better than most of the Marriott's I visit throughout the year. The rooms are large and nicely appointed. Most of the furniture is tasteful leather bound classic design. The concierge lounge is very, very nice and the breakfast each morning offers serveral choices and is simply delicious. Thank you to the staff for making my brief stay very enjoyable. I will definitely visit this property again when my travels take me through San Antonio!

Room Tip: Try to have a room overlooking the garden and pool.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you so much for posting your review of your recent stay at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio. on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel, location and especially our staff. I am so humbled by your comments regarding our service team. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you when your travels next bring you to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for first time in about 10 years and its still a nice Marriott; in fact, not as fancy as the other Marriotts in downtown SA, but more character. Has an old world Latin feel to it. Rooms have been updated, comfortable beds, good value. Location within walking distance of the river walk. Will definitely come back, this hotel has character.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our unique hotel, our renovated guest rooms and our close proximity to the River Walk. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to San Antonio soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
The Fairmount
#198 of 358 in San Antonio
159 reviews
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#42 of 358 in San Antonio
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,929 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Plaza San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Plaza San Antonio

Address: 555 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#52 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $168 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Plaza San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Plaza San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Plaza San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing