We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“O'Brien Historic Hotel San Antonio, TX”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #89 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
East Bernard
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“O'Brien Historic Hotel San Antonio, TX”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel was really nice on the inside. Had a balcony room during Fiesta in San Antonio. Very clean, check in went fine and fast. We stayed 2 nights and it is a very nice short walk to the River walk from the front door of the hotel. About 2 blocks. Very close to the restaurants and shopping. The mall and the Alamo are a little further down maybe about 1/2 mile at most. The only thing that I did NOT like is that there was about 10-12 parking spaces for the whole hotel, so you have to park offsite or across the street and hope that nobody breaks into your vehicle. We did not have any problems with that, but it was an inconvenience and $12.00 a day for overnight parking that you had to renew by 10:00 the next morning to keep from getting towed. That is the only reason I did not score this hotel excellent. I guess it isn't their fault. They are pretty much land locked.

Room Tip: get a balcony room. you can sit out there in the evenings and drink your own drinks cheaper than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trac2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    152
    60
    27
    22
See reviews for
70
160
22
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My son was attending a concert in SA so rather than driving back late at night (to Austin) we chose to stay overnight. Coincidentally, it was during Fiesta so it was packed everywhere. Not a problem, everything was very lively but it quieted down by 10:30 or 11:00. The problem was parking, which was very limited. The hotel's lot was full and so was the lot across the street. I had to park in the lot to the side of the hotel (out of my view) and pay $20 (because of Fiesta) instead of only $10. I was also worried about my car and anxious to check on it the next morning, but all was well.

The hotel itself was nice - not luxurious, but nice. You can't beat the location! I thought it was decorated nicely and the employees were courteous. It's a small hotel, so they don't offer a whole lot, but once again, you can't beat the location. We were able to walk to the Alamo, Ripleys, Riverwalk, everything we wanted to do! We had a room facing the street. I liked that the windows opened although we didn't have a balcony. The sound was ok, although we could hear the roar of trucks and busses occasionally. They provided standard toiletries such as shampoo, conditioner, and a full bottle of lotion. They also offer a continental breakfast. No bacon and eggs, but that was ok for us (lol).

I would definitely stay there again, especially now that I know what to expect with the parking.

Room Tip: Front side faces the street and parking lot with no balcony, but windows open, some road noise. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILuvDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stopped on the way south from the SXSW. Outside appearance does not look like much. Inside room second floor street side was excellent. Victorian furniture. Good service from the front desk. All the hot chocolate you can drink. Short walking distance to River Walk. Little longer to the Alamo. Good location. Balcony in back didn't interest us. Nice artist plaza in the back - across the parking area. Good Mexican restaurant very close as well. ?Would come back here again.

Room Tip: Second Floor front - right side of the elevator. Across from passport sub station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimgara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The best about this hotel is the location, you can get to river just walking and if you go out at might, you can walk back to hotel, is really safe. The breakfast just fine, there's no much variety but you can just get coffee and a fruit or a waffle.
The size of the rooms is appropriate, it's not very big but you won't need more space. The bed is really comfortable, is the best about the rooms.
And in general the hotel is good, it's clean, it's comfortable, personnel are nice and it has a parking lot right across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at the O'Brien Historic Hotel in downtown San Antonio, TX Wednesday April 17, 2013 and April 18, 2013. I would have to say this was the worst experience I have ever had at any hotel in any part of the United States. First off, construction in the back parking lot started at the break of dawn. They advertise they have a workout area but it isn't even in the hotel, you have to walk a few blocks away. The parking is horrendous, their parking in the rear will fit 7 cars but they try to fit 12 (if you're an early riser like myself, you won't get out). The manager of the hotel is very rude and unprofessional at best. I had my dirty clothes in a bag and the staff threw my clothes away! The entire staff denied this and the manager laughed in my face. The rooms are nice and the location is pretty hard to beat, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone! I would suggest to anyone to spend the extra few dollars and go to a more reputable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norridge
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very clean, great location, pleasant staff. Check in and check out were quick & easy. Even tho it's on a busy street, it wasn't noisy and we were steetside, but it wasn't a weekend night. Room was very nice & charming. Bathroom was clean, roomy and had all the amenities we needed. Lobby and common areas were open & clutter free. We didn't have their breakfast, but there were others in the area within easy walking distance.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The O'Brien is historic and feels it. It's small, 39 rooms. Lobby and entrance is small and unimpressive. Service is average to bad. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Get an upstairs room. Location is great because you can walk to the Riverwalk, without paying Riverwalk prices. I would recommend this hotel if you want a balance between price and location and aren't too expect much personal service.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
The Fairmount
#168 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
Riverwalk Vista
Riverwalk Vista
#27 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 116 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Brien Historic Hotel Downtown Riverwalk offers quiet luxury in the heart of Downtown San Antonio. We are centrally located one block from the famous Riverwalk (which offers an array of restaurants, shops and nightlife), four blocks from the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, three blocks from the Alamo Plaza. You can take a breath-taking walk on the Riverwalk and enjoy the history and magic that San Antonio has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Brien Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection San Antonio
San Antonio Clarion Collection
Clarion San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing