We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
Ranked #35 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 14, 2014

A perfectly fine hotel for business travel. I would consider staying here again if traveling on business. But it was really just like any other business hotel in any other city, so I don't have a lot to say about it.

Positives:
- Room was clean, adequate in size, and the bathroom was adequate in size
- Great location on the Riverwalk
- Staff was very friendly
- Good set up for business travelers (adequate desk and desk chair, sufficient conveniently located outlets)

Negatives
- WiFi in guest rooms was pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Momrath,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your recent stay, we appreciate the feedback. The hotel is, as you state, perfect for the business traveler, but also great for families wanting to take in the sights and sounds of San Antonio. There is something for everyone. Thank you again for your post and please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for a convention. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. Mine had a view of the Riverwalk and I could see part of the Alamo which is nearby. The convention facilities and meals were very good. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachWalker143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Public Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear BeachWalker143,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I’m pleased your first trip to San Antonio and the Marriott Rivercenter turned out so well. San Antonio and the Marriott Rivercenter are the perfect hosts for conventions of all sizes. We hope to have the pleasure to serve as your host the next time business or pleasure brings you back to San Antonio. All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a serviceable large Marriott Hotel, across from the San Antonio Convention Center and conveniently on the Riverwalk. Staff were friendly and attentive, but the property is a bit run down. My room had dirty and worn carpet, and the décor throughout the hotel is dated and uninspiring.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Riverwalk side have a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Justine S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I’m sorry you were disappointed with your accommodations. We do our very best to ensure every inch of the hotel is in tip top shape for every guest. I’m sorry we did not provide you with that product. I appreciate the comments regarding the staff, they are truly the best in the business. Thank you again for providing us your feedback. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

From the trouble with the hotel fulfilling the reservation to the three different rooms we were shown, this is a tired convention hotel and probably should be avoided. Staff were friendly enough but unable to meet our needs. We opted to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: ask for a recently renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_V_travel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear R_V_travel_11,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I’m very disappointed to know of your difficulties with your reservation. You mention the hotel was unable to meet your needs, but didn’t specify. Did you speak to one of our front desk managers about your needs? Our staff takes immense pride in delivering the best guest experience possible. I’m sorry we failed you, but I trust you had a great time while in San Antonio, where ever you chose to stay. All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have stayed here before and on this visit, we were here for one night - New Year’s Eve. There was a lot going on around the hotel because the San Antonio City-wide celebration was held at nearby Hemisphere Park. In spite of that, the hotel was well managed and maintained beautifully despite large crowds. Our room was a suite on one of the Concierge Level (CL) floors. It was large, comfortable, nicely decorated, plenty of counter space. But like other Marriotts that I have stayed at recently, no makeup mirror. The only hiccup during this stay was that 2 days before our arrival, my fiancé received an email from someone at the hotel that advised us not to plan on parking at the hotel. Excuse me? We are paying guests and there would not be any parking for us, self or valet? We almost cancelled the trip based on this, but decided to go as planned. We arrived around noon, parked in the shopping mall parking area and moved our own luggage through the mall to the lobby. Not a big deal. Around 6 pm, there was a very long line of cars trying to valet – this is what the hotel was talking about – but it didn’t affect us. We left our car parked in the mall and took a taxi to AT&T Center for a Spurs game. We had dinner at the Ruth’s Chris in the Grand Hyatt. The Marriott RC has a large bar in the lobby. They had a really fun band for NYE (retro pop songs with a Hispanic twist) so we hung out there for the countdown to midnight. It was a large crowd, including families with small children, but security was highly visible. Because of our Marriott Rewards Gold Level status, we had access to an outstanding complimentary breakfast. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLYCAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is in a prime location on the riverwalk, there is a large mall right next to it and the Alamo is just a block over. There is also a Starbucks in the lobby which is convenient. Many reviews claim this is an older hotel- and perhaps it is but it felt modern to me and certainly showed no wear and tear. The rooms are large, offer great views of the city and the beds are comfortable. One thing that should be mentioned is that there are two groups of elevators that split the hotel in half. If you are staying on higher floors, you need to change elevators in the lobby to get to rooms on the middle/lower levels.. it can be annoying if you're visiting someone on a different floor, but pleasant if you're on the higher floors as you don't need to stop constantly. One change I would like to see are refrigerators in the rooms. But overall I had a positive experience and the staff were friendly enough so I would strongly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor facing downtown, the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevRitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

KevRitch,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your recommendation. We appreciate the comments regarding the staff. We have many amenities to offer our guests, at the top of the list are our associates who excel in the art of hosting and are always ready to create a great overall hotel experience. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We went to San Antonio during the last week of Fiesta and stayed downtown. A note to anyone who does this - they shut down half of downtown SA for parades, etc., so GPS won't help you navigate normally to this hotel. Stop and ask directions :)

We arrived and parked the car in valet and didn't get it back out until checkout. Most downtown attractions are within walking distance (Rivercenter Mall, Riverwalk, Alamodome, the Alamo, Mi Tierras Restaurant, La Villita, etc.

We stayed on a concierge floor which was nice - free breakfast in the mornings and free snacks in the evenings. Our room had a great view of the riverwalk and we could see much of the downtown area. We loved being able to look out our window to see whether the parades had started yet before wandering downstairs.

The room was clean, had comfortable beds, and a large bathroom with separate toilet/shower area. This room was also very quiet as we had a hallway that led into the main room, blocking out any hallway noise we might have experienced.

We were pleased to see a safe in the room, but no refrigerator. For what we paid for the room, a small nook with a refrigerator and a microwave would have been nice. When you go out to eat in San Antonio, you always have tasty leftovers and you hate to leave them behind!

Check out was really fast. We checked out on our television, called down to have the valet bring our car around, and by the time we got downstairs, our car was waiting. The valet gave us perfect directions to get around all the construction and road closures and five minutes later we were on our way home. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to SA.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the concierge floor - worth the price for the view and free snacks and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

DebbieKeiser
Thank you for your great review. I’m pleased to know your accommodations were to your liking and that valet took good care of you. As you found out, Fiesta is indeed a big event in San Antonio. The event holds a river parade, a day parade and a night parade scattered throughout the week so it does create a few challenges getting around the area (even for us locals!), but it is a much anticipated yearly event, rich in tradition. Thank you and please again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#37 of 358 in San Antonio
1,278 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,539 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
3,207 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
3,001 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Address: 101 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#71 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $161 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter 4*
Number of rooms: 1001
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a historic Texas city from ideally located San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter. Situated just steps away from the legendary River Walk, our hotel in San Antonio is perfect for exploring the unique shops and restaurants that line the famous attraction. We are also within walking distance of the Alamo and near the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing