We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriot with good view and shopping center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
Ranked #35 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Marriot river center is located in the perfect area in San Antonio. There are lots of restaurant around this hotel district and it is connected to the shopping center and riverside. Even there are bunch of resturants on the riverside and it looks more beautiful at the night. Close to the tourist attraction and room was spacious and clean. Concierge staffs were very kind and useful. I didn't have time to go to the inside swimming pool but I would love to go San Antonio again in the future and stay at exactly same place where I stayed last time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieNoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRam, Director of Sales at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please come again soon, our staff early awaits your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in Aug.
Loved it from the moment we walked in to the time we left.
The rooms were very nice and clean and the staff,All of them were so kind and helpful.
We would recommend the San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestbeachever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRam, Director of Sales at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your recommendation. Our staff strives to be warm, friendly and helpful. I’m glad to know they made an impression on you. I hope you will come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed six nights for a convention - Lonestarcon 3 - and found everything to be excellent. We were on the 20th floor. Three people sharing a room with two double beds worked great although a bit more square footage would have been nice. The room was kept very clean and the in room safe was very handy. An iron, ironing board and hair dryer were also available. We were thankful for the refrigerator we needed for our medications. I'm glad I had requested it in advance of our arrival as I heard others were not able to have one.

I have to comment on the black out curtains. They worked really, really well and were a godsend due to our odd convention hours.

Absolutely every member of the staff was a pleasure to deal with from the Bellmen to the Bar staff. They were outgoing and seemed really interested in making our stay pleasant. Even at peak times when the hotel was full to overflowing the staff maintained an excellent attitude.

We dined in the hotel restaurant a number of times. The food was good and priced for a tourist hotel. We had room service twice and were very pleased with the offerings. We enjoyed the food (and drinks!) in the hotel bar where we received excellent service. They make a great burger and the chips are heavenly. Try the cornbread salad!!!

The meeting areas of the hotel are very nice and comfortable and dealing with the facility staff was pleasant. The public restrooms were always immaculate, which is a major plus. The hotel lobby is large with lots of seating which made it a great place to meet up with folks. The Starbucks was very handy too.

Many people have mentioned the hotel's excellent location and it really can't be beat. Anything you might want is only steps away. We elected to self park at the hotel and found the garage to be a bit challenging to manuever in, especially the intial entrance and exit, but there was ample parking that always felt safe.

Our overall experience was wonderful. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRam, Director of Sales at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

I don’t really know where to begin to thank you for your great review. Sounds like you experienced everything while you were here and I appreciate you letting everyone know about our great facility, food and especially the service you received . Just to let you know, our Cornbread Salad is a big seller! Thank you again for sharing your wonderful experience. It will be our pleasure to host you brilliantly on your return visit to the Marriott Rivercenter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I just attended the Cornerstone Credit Union Conference in San Antonio TX first impression was by the promp service I recieved by Pete, the bellman the quick check into our rooms and the close walks to the tourist areas for us. The food at the hotel was seriously some of the best I have ever had and I travel often. I must mention Wanda Devers the Red Coat who is an excellent ambassador representing the Marriott name. Every morning of the conference she was polished in appearance always pleasantly smiling in her greeting and very articulate in her speech, rare these days. Wanda Devers is the type of employee that every hospitality organization wishes to have when you want every thing to be wright right on time. If you stay at this hotel look for her to receive high service she wears a red jacket and many gold stars. E Barnes

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBarnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRam, Director of Sales at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

What a great review! Thank you so much. I will be sure to pass along your great comments about Wanda Devers and Pete. They are indeed excellent ambassadors for our hotel! I will also pass along your comments to our Executive Chef regarding the food. Thank you for letting others know about the great service you received. We look forward to the next time we will have the opportunity to host you brilliantly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We attended a Convention and the Hotel staff were excellent. The rooms are a reasonable size and are very clean. The Rivercenter Mall is next door/integrated and the basement food court provided good value meals, whilst there is also a Denny's (breakfast) opposite. The Alamo is literally at the other end of the Mall and the Riverwalk is at basement level, with many varied Bars/Restaurants a few minutes walk away. All tourist locations are accessible via tours from outside the Alamo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRam, Director of Sales at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. I’m happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Our wonderful staff looks forward to hosting you brilliantly the next time you are in San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for a Convention. Be aware there are two Marriotts - Riverwalk and Rivercenter, but don't fret if you go to the wrong one as they are literally across the road from each other. Lobby has free wifi, but isn't it time these chain hotels offered free wifi in the rooms as well?! Our King room was clean but the decor is a little dated. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, great for coffee or a cheaper breakfast. The buffet breakfast is $20 for all you can eat. Set breakfast items are available as well. Over the course of our stay, we had breakfast, lunch and dinners here, and the food was actually lovely. If I was to visit again, I would probably look for a more modern hotel, but would be happy to stay here again if on a business trip.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sandra_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had the Junior Suite which is a spacious room ideal for holding a hospitality suite for a convention. All the hotel services were great with a friendly efficient staff. I did not check out the other amenities. I had heard that the hot tub was not available at the time. I would recommend this hotel mostly for its convenient location near the convention center, the Alamo and the River Walk. The hotel had a restaurant but I only ate there once. Most of the dinner entres included cilantro in the sauce. A Denny's is right across the street and the River Walk is outside the back door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRam, Director of Sales at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. Our hotel is indeed conveniently located to anything you would want to do on the River Walk. I have to agree with you, our staff is very friendly and eager to be brilliant hosts. We hope to be of service to you the next time business or pleasure brings you back to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#38 of 358 in San Antonio
1,277 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,535 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,997 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Address: 101 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#71 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $162 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter 4*
Number of rooms: 1001
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a historic Texas city from ideally located San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter. Situated just steps away from the legendary River Walk, our hotel in San Antonio is perfect for exploring the unique shops and restaurants that line the famous attraction. We are also within walking distance of the Alamo and near the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing