We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super-convenient for river fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
Ranked #37 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super-convenient for river fun!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a convention and everything we could want or need was in walking distance. We bought 5 rooms for the office staff and while they all raved about great views of the river we had a tiny room with a few of a helipad and parking lot. Ugly.

Breakfast in room of egg white frittata was delicious and delivered spot on as ordered on a card hung outside door before retiring.

Disliked feather pillows but loved how clean room was kept! All staff super friendly. I'd return, but ask for better view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladygadgetkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    551
    204
    69
    33
See reviews for
247
211
45
757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicottville, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in San Antonio. Nice lobby, great staff at the desk who actually take your Platinum status seriously with a dedicated check-in line and a welcome gift. The club lounge is open and stocked with great food and a decent beer selection. The room was very nice - corner room with lots of windows offering a great view of the riverwalk and easy walking distance to everywhere downtown.

Room Tip: High room, corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broctoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott. We appreciate your valuable feedback on your experience at the San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel. We’re delighted you enjoyed your room, as well as the great experience in our Concierge Lounge. We hope the next time you are in San Antonio on business or pleasure, you will again give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I was here on business for 3 nights. This place is fantastic - everything you would expect from a Marriott hotel. The rooms were fabulous - being Marriott Gold I was upgraded to a suite and oh my was it sweet!! Very large hang out room and desperate bedroom with large bathroom. Well appointed and fresh looking. The bed was very plush for good nights sleep. No issues with noise. Lobby was large and open with nice lounge and bar and Starbucks. Bar at night had good vibe and lots of patrons. Check in fast and friendly. Part of a shopping complex, and access to boats for river walk cruise at the back door. Only negative is that while location is central, the side streets are a bit seedy and makes you want to keep looking over your shoulder. Everything great enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here while attending a conference. Close to the conference center, attached to the rivercenter mall and restaurants. Easy walk to bars via the riverwalk.

No complaints about the room it is clean and modern. Clean sheets. The complaints about street noise are valid but did no bother me.

Don't get this hotel confused with the Marriot Riverwalk across the street which is very old and tired.

Room Tip: Can be noisy facing the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aksdjfkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one evening during Fiesta week with some friends. The lobby area is very nice with a Starbucks. The hotel also allowed us to check in before noon and made sure to put our rooms across from one another because he noticed we came together. Although the rooms were clean/nice, you can literally hear everything. If you're a light sleeper, this place will not be for you. I saw tips on here to NOT be right by the elevator. Sadly, we were far away from it but could still hear everything. Since it was fiesta week with a lot of party people, this could be a unlucky event, but the people next to us were up talking, yelling, drunk-like walking around the halls yelling to one another and purposefully kicking room service food sitting outside someone's room. It was disastrous. Even though this was Fiesta week, I wouldn't want to risk not getting sleep again and rather stay at my normal hotel in SA.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandymeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay at the Marriott Rivercenter Hotel. We apologize that it was so disappointing. We take comments such as yours very seriously and we will look into how we can make sure the incident you described, doesn’t happen again. We hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed 3 nights for a conference at the convention center, which is one block away. The river walk is about a block as well - very cute area. The room was nice and roomy. Mine had a view of the downtown area which is probably typical. The restaurant is fine but there are many others nearby including Fogo de Chao.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nove-bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

There are two Marriott Hotels, side-by-side in San Antonio. The newer is the Marriott RIVERCENTER and the second is the Marriott River Walk. The Rivercenter Marriot ROCKS. It is located right on the River Walk which gives you access to TONS of restaurants and shops. But this property is absolutely a Five Star property, wonderful lobby, outstanding bar and excellent house restaurant. The wife and I had cocktails and food in the bar and watch a basketball game. Such a beautiful lobby and bar area, you feel so relaxed and the noise suppression is great. Full bar, wonderful service, although the martinis are a tad pricy, at $14 for a premium pour, but I did not care. The food was excellent, BBQ, burgers, mexican food, salads, fish, everything you would want. This is a large property and perfectly located. We did not stay at this Marriott, but I have absolutely no doubt the rooms are to par with the rest of the property. STAY HERE, you will love it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#43 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#20 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
East Side
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
#66 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Property: San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
Address: 101 Bowie St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#71 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter 4*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing