We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient location right next to the Alamo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
Ranked #36 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
265 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Convenient location right next to the Alamo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay in this hotel. We were in a suite on the top floor to have a panoramic view over the Alamo. Its location is unbeatable--Alamo, Rivercenter, River cruise and Tower of America. Also a walking distance to Main Plaza, San Fernando Cathedral, Majestic Theater.... There are very good restaurants in Rivercenter or inexpensive ones for a quick bite. If we visit San Antonio we will stay in this hotel again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank leo88copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    507
    189
    66
    33
See reviews for
228
201
42
696
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The location is the best. Walking distance of Rivercenter Mall, Restaurants and Bars. The staff is great, they were able to find us two rooms without reservation, having a huge convention was taking place, this is a nice gesture to notice. I would only complain about three things: No complimentary wifi (only lobby), indoor pool was cold and valet service a little expensive. But I will still go back. The views for the river with Xmas decoration are priceless!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseLuisAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here one night for business this past week and everything was top notch!

Everyone working there was extremely friendly. They game me an amazing corner room on the 28th floor overlooking the rivercenter. The room was large and bed was extremely comfortable.

The concierge lounge for elite members had a very nice happy hour from 5:30-7:30 and wide selection of breakfast items in the morning.

Parking was $25/day which I felt was extremely high however there is metered parking right on the street next to the hotel, which I used instead.

I would give this property 5 stars and would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in San Antonio.

Room Tip: If available, ask for an upper floor overlooking the rivercenter or riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstats69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveton, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed Thanksgiving weekend for Distinguished Youth of Texas. The location is fabulous. The room was spacious and comfortable. Only bad thing was laptop case was dropped at some point and damaged our computer. Marriott is working with is to resolve. I would highly Recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I really enjoy our 5 nights at the Rivercenter. They didn't have a King room the first night we were there, but graciously moved us the next day for the remainder of our stay. Lauren at the front desk was fabulous to work with and our house keeper Lei kept our room perfect and neat. Drinks in the bar were expensive, but it didn't stop from having a minimum $200 bar bill per afternoon there. Servers in "The Bar" were very slow and could have sold many more drinks if they would have just asked. Elevators were always moving. The longest I waited for one was 5 minutes and had to ride "down" to go up. Pool was very inviting and I enjoyed one afternoon there. However, I wished the hot tub would have been up and running. Gift store didn't have Benedryl so my husband had to run to CVS. I was having an allergic reaction and could have used it sooner. Overall, enjoyed our stay. I would stay here again. It is close to the Rivercenter Mall, Henry Gonzalez Convention Center and the River Walk too!

Room Tip: If you want a River Walk view make sure you ask for it. If not, you will be facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maelee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here for a conference and this is now my favorite Riverwalk hotel -- and I've stayed at a few. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and super comfortable. The service was amazing and I felt like I was always treated like a special guest. The room was cozy, clean, and had nice amenities. The hotel is on the Riverwalk, and also connects to the Rivercenter Mall, which is very convenient. Room service is prompt and courteous, and the food is good. The hotel restaurants are also good -- one of my favorite hotel breakfasts. The hotel support and amenities made for a really nice conference as well with a great breakfast, clean and beautiful rest rooms, and nice conference rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanw956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Connected to the Rivercenter Mall and right on the Riverwalk, this hotel is also just a short walk from the Alamo. The location alone makes the property very attractive. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were fairly spacious and clean. On the downside, on-site parking was pricey (not surprising for this area) and hot water seemed almost nonexistent in the evenings. We were on the 25th floor. Overall, this is our first choice accomadation on the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#43 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#21 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
#60 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter

Property: San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter
Address: 101 Bowie St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3901
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#71 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter 4*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel San Antonio
Marriott San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing