We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip to San Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #40 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I recently attended a conference at the San Antonio Convention Center and was a guest at this hotel. The location was great - right across from convention center and the hotel was nice and clean. The convention center is large and everything is a long walk - so it was great to be at least staying at a convenient location. It is also right on the Riverwalk and convenient to many restaurants and services. The hotel was nice and quiet, even with many of the guests being there for this conference. I also enjoyed the quick check in and out, and the quick valet service. The only problem about the location is the road construction in the area, which made it difficult to know when to turn, and the traffic congestion. Otherwise, it was an enjoyable trip and I would stay again!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room without a view of the roof and street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfoxsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Marriott Riverwalk. This is a great location for conventions.
The staff is very accommodating. The check in was done quickly with a very friendly front desk person. My room was ready when I checked in at 4:30 PM.
My room was very nice and perfectly designed for my four day business stay. The room has a good size desk and computer hook ups, including wireless internet.
The Cactus Flower restaurant has a wonderful breakfast buffet. We had a few breakfast meetings there.
There is a nice bar that has a nice patio that overlooks the Riverwalk.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank BAHuston3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Bryan H,
Thank you for your feedback. I’m very pleased to know you so enjoyed your stay. From the minute you walk in, to the minute you check out, our goal is to deliver the best hotel experience possible. Thank you again for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This property is located on the riverwalk and within blocks of the Alamo. I have no complaints about this hotel, I was attending a convention. However, my wife and I stayed two nights prior to the convention at the Fairfield Inn and Suites two blocks away next to the Almo which was cheaper and included breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicopeeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our first trip to San Antonio was accompanied by many suggestions which included to stay at the Marriott Riverwalk, which we did. The Marriott Riverwalk provides a great location to the many restaurants, the Rivercenter Mall and the convention center. The staff is top notch, very friendly, helpful and understands the importance of good customer service. And both meals we had at the hotel were very delicious. The hotel on the other hand is old and tired and I am glad to hear a makeover is planned. The rooms are very small, nonexistent amenities that you would expect from the Marriott, and an even smaller bathroom. Our room had the bed and headboard under the air/heat vent and every time the system kicked on our bed would vibrate like the vibrating bed machines in a cheap hotel. After a couple of go-a-rounds with the vibrating bed, we pulled the bed away from the wall. The television reception was horrible!! Our stay was during the second and third rounds of the NCAA basketball tournament so the TV was important. Poor satellite reception, plus most of the channels were analog. I guess going analog was complementing the early-90s vibe of the hotel. Also, included in our room was a catalog to “Buy Marriott” and the ironic thing was that none of the items listed in the catalog were in our room. My expectations of the Marriott are much higher than what we experienced during our stay at Marriott Riverwalk. The price we paid for our room was way too much for was we received. In a city where there were hotels for as far as the eyes can see, great customer service can only go so far. Here’s hoping the remodel is successful and new life can be restored into the Marriott Riverwalk.

Room Tip: If your room does not face the Riverwalk, requeat a higher floor room to advoid the pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaytonDave1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear DaytonDave1113,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us your feedback. The hotel is indeed slated for a rooms renovation this year for a more updated look and feel. San Antonio has much to offer and I hope you will return after the renovation. We appreciate the comments regarding our staff; we do have a top-notch staff that excels in the art of hosting and would love to host you again. Having stayed with Marriott before, I understand your expectations, and I’m sorry we failed in meeting those expectations. We value your feedback and honesty, thank you for sharing with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Awesome location! The hotel is located on River walk and all balcony rooms overlook it and provide a great view of downtown San Antonio. The hotel is just 2 blocks from the Alamo. The room and service were good but nothing "over the top". Tip: be sure to get a balcony room for the view.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian30135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Nice Marriott close to the Riverwalk and just a few blocks from downtown River center. Within walking distance of pretty much all of downtown. The concierge food and service was excellent. The staff was VERY friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Corner rooms best, they are away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Although this Marriott is in a great location and we had a room overlooking Riverwalk, the accommodations were dated and lacked contemporary conveniences. There was no microwave, the bathroom was extremely small and the sink area is crowded for two people trying to get ready. Too many other choices on the Riverwalk to live without these conveniences. For $228/night we had much higher expectations!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Gloria H
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. You’ll be pleased to know the hotel will undergo a rooms renovation later this year, in 2014. San Antonio and The River Walk are great locations to visit and relax, I sincerely hope we have the pleasure of hosting you in one of our many fine hotels on the River Walk in the near future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,483 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,954 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $205 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing