We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #43 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roswell, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant stay.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The room overlooked the Riverwalk and was convenient to shopping, dining, and the Riverwalk experience. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The only dining for lunch an dinner was in the Greatroom (the lounge) The food was good, but not quite the same as going to a restaurant with atmosphere, but great for lounge food! Our server in the Greatroom was excellent. We went out for Dinner. We were able to walk due to the excellent location of the hotel. There is a restaurant in the hotel for breakfast only, but we did not eat there.
If one wants upscale treatment, a clean, safe and convenient hotel, this is a great choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    458
    231
    92
    33
See reviews for
218
255
37
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in San Antonio and loved the hotel's proximity to the River Walk and Convention center. However we could hear the street noise with construction early in the morning. Also the room in the early morning hours it sounded as if people were above us doing maintenance with clanging and banging noises...so not the best sleep. The room was very small with limited space but comfortable non the less. Our kids loved the pool and amenities but we were looking forward to sitting in the hot tub which we found is no longer there although it shows in all the maps in the directory in our room. The rooms could definitely use a deep clean and updating. Be careful of the parking we felt like we were parked in the subterranean levels and it smelled and was dark and scary. You can park next door for much cheaper than the Marriott lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Traci N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights. We stayed in room 905. It was a handicap accessible room (the only room with a king bed left). The room was big, but not maintained very well. There were big stains on the carpet. The bed was comfortable. Another downfall was there is no conciaiage. Over the 3 days we asked several staff what questions about the area, making reservations for restaurants, etc. No one was particularly knowledgable of the area, or just not very helpful in general. There is no shuttle service through the hotel.

Also noteworthy, we got a group rate while we were there ($207/night). Our flight got canceled & I called to see about getting another night there (against my better judgement, but the people I was with thought that'd be easiest since we'd already been there). The receptionist told me they couldn't honor the group rate for another high, so we'd be paying $229 for the night. What a joke! For a so-so room, & now it is a Sunday night (which you'd think would be cheaper...). Bad business & customer service.

There is another Marriott right by this one that looked like it was nicer (judging from the lobby we walked through one day). If you're looking for a Marriott I'd give that one a try.

Room Tip: Not sure. We were in room 905, & I certainly wouldn't recommend that one. Friends of ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Rachelj5
Thank you for your feedback and your insightful comments. I’m sorry to know you didn’t have a very good experience, but you’ll be happy to know that the hotel will undergo a rooms renovation in 2014 for a more modern look. I’m also sorry to know that our staff wasn’t very helpful in giving you local information and making recommendations. On behalf of the entire staff, please accept my sincere apologies. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to showcase our new rooms but most importantly to provide you the kind of service you have come to expect from Marriott. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I had planned on staying 3 nights at this hotel and ended up checking out after just 1 night. The hotel is beautiful and everyone is very nice...but the room was awful. If you like a hard bed then this is the place for you. I don't expect hotel beds to be like home, but I do expect them to be softer than the floor and this one was awful. It was in February and abnormally warm and we could not get our air conditioner to work which made it very humid in our room. The hotel was packed and I noticed several people complaining about the temperatures in their room. My husband and I decided to walk across the street and move to the La Quinta and it was the best decision we made. free wifi and free breakfast!! can't beat that!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TesFul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I’m very sorry to know that you were so disappointed with your room you felt it necessary to check out early. I wish you had brought your displeasure with your room to the attention of a manager; we would have happily relocated you to a more suitable room. Please accept my sincere apologies.
Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I visited San Antonio in January and stayed at the Marriott. It's important to note that there are the Riverwalk and Rivercenter hotels, which are across the street from each other. The Rivercenter is connected to the small mall. Both appear to be nice properties. As others have mentioned, the Riverwalk is due for a slight upgrade, but overall it was nice and the people were friendly. Service in the restaurant was very good, although beware that the breakfast buffet is a little expensive ($24.99US). It's a good buffet, but if cost is an issue you may want to walk to the Denny's nearby. There is also a Starbucks in the hotel which is super convenient and a nice bar area overlooking the river walk. Another plus - the bed was quite comfortable. I would definitely return to this hotel if I were back in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the higher floors to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trips_with_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent breakfast buffet. Very friendly & helpful staff. Close to the Riverwalk and other tourist sites. Very good meal prepared for our bus tour with private accommodations, waiters and food were excellent. Rooms nice with balconies.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Karel W,
Thank you for your post. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our great staff and great location is an unbeatable pair. Thank you again and please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

I had a really nice experience at this hotel. During check in the staff was extremely welcoming. When I thought I left my eyeglasses at the reception desk, they went out of their way to try to help me find them. And when the eyeglasses ended up being with me, they were gracious and happy that I found them instead of annoyed that I called and asked them to look for them. These little gestures mean a lot. The room was clean and the bed and pillows fantastic, as I expect from a Marriott Hotel. The location is ideal, right next to the Riverwalk in San Antonio.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your post. I’m happy to know all turned out well with your eyeglasses. I know I’d be lost without mine! I hope we have another opportunity to host you brilliantly in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,845 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#20 of 356 in San Antonio
3,317 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 356 in San Antonio
3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Property: San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing