We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #42 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is the place to stay if you want to be downtown, right on the Riverwalk. The hotel boasts multiple restaurants, a nice bar area and a Starbucks. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are adequate, but nothing special. Definitely ask for a room on the Riverwalk side, the street side is very loud at night.

That being said, I found the lack of amenities ridiculous. For your $200+ a night you will pay to park, pay for wifi, pay $3 for soft drinks, and an astounding $17 for in-room movies. The bathroom was so tiny I had to straddle the toilet to close the door.

My recommendation for those staying in San Antonio. Stay at the Country Inn & Suites near the airport and rent a car or take public transportation downtown. It's a much nicer hotel and the money you save on the room and amenities will easily pay for your transportation to the downtown area.

Room Tip: Stay on the side facing the Riverwalk. The other side has a lot of street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    461
    232
    92
    33
See reviews for
222
258
38
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mi
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very nice location. We walked to everything we wanted to do. We were here for business so we cut thru the Marriott across the street went out the back and crossed the street and arrived at the convention center. About a 5 minute walk. Cross the street or go next door and you can enter the river walk and walk down below by the water for 4 miles or take the little river boats after finding a pick up and ticket point for a ride. If we walk about three blocks down these entrances will take you to a more active part of the river with shops and lines of places to eat and night life. Above ground you can walk a few long blocks and there are cute little shops and eateries. One block down and one block to the right and you can visit the Alamo! Behind the hotels bar is an entrance to entire mall!! Watch out blink and you will miss it from the inside and the outside. Rooms are average but I was thankful they were clean. Staff was kind and requests were met quickly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justjoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel to the riverwalk The Alamo The tower of America and the convention center. We had a river view with a balcony Free breakfast. Clean room. The only downside no free wifi or parking. The front desk we very helpful and any questions we had. If ever in San Antonio need to stay there

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Diva1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel, as I was attending a convention. Couldn't have asked for a better location. It was extremely conventient to the convention center and many area attractions. Every staff interaction was excellent, although I did overhear one of the Bellman badmouthing a guest (very unprofessional). The lobby is open and inviting, food is good, having a Starbucks on-site is awesome - My issue was with the guest room. They are in DESPERATE NEED of renovations. Furniture is stained, carpets are filthy, there are random holes in the walls & ceiling, there were gobs of dust/mold on the tiles above the shower and grout is stained. Two of my friends, also staying there, had the exact same feedback.The bed was fairly comfortable, but that's something you can find with most hotel brands these days. I honestly would have stayed a little further from the convention center, for a clean/updated guest room. My friend stayed at the Hilton and her room was SO MUCH nicer - She only had to walk 2-3 minutes to get to the convention center. Overall, this is a decent hotel, with many pluses, but renovations would make it worth the crazy rates that you pay. If I were going back to San Antonio, I'd look at booking the Hilton first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-in-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
I was so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your room. You may however, be pleased to know that the hotel will be undergoing a renovation in the coming year. Hotel styles are constantly changing and we will certainly have a more modern product upon completion of the renovation. I hope you will give us the opportunity host you brilliantly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The check-in process was flawed but not so bad. They had trouble finding my reservation and didn't have a King bad available. I really had no preference about two queen or one king. The room was comfortable and well appointed with a large flat screen TV, lots of outlets and a coffee maker. The lots of outlets thing is very important to me as I need computer and several chargers plugged in. The food was delicious albeit a little pricey. Thw room rate of $159 was well within what a similar pice would be but the finest feature was that it's adjacent to the San Antonio Riverwalk. Wel worth the price of admission. I would be happy to return to this hotel if I am in San Antonio again.

Room Tip: I was in room 1634 very conveniently close to a very noisy ice machine,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farcpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you are planning a great trip to San Antonio, Tx, I highly recommend the Marriott San Antonio River walk. It's close to major historic places such as Los Alamos....and of course, I enjoyed the river walk during early evening...it's too hot to walk during the say time. There are plenty choices to select from when it comes to a night out. I enjoyed the local dishes and cold drinks.

Room Tip: The Henry G Gonzalez is just across the street. It's easy to get in and out of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedes1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

in the rooms for sure. The lobby looks and feels great and you can't beat the proximityy to some of the bigger downtown and riverwalk attractions. The staff, at all levels, is great and very well trained in the "added experience".

The staff is what moves my rating up from average to very good. The rooms are NOT horrible, but they are slightly dated and worn. However, cleanliness is more important and they get high marks for this. I was pleasantly surprised with the comfort of the bed. I was on a high floor, facing the grand hyatt and freeway which was ok with me. My A/C was quiet, my room was quiet and did i say it was clean?

There is a better starbucks selection across the street at the other Marriott, and a breakfast and lunch diner just a few minutes away called Schilo's. Breakfast and drinks can be a tad on the high side, so venture out and enjoy the town.

For this visit they get a YUM YUM YUM out of 5YUMS

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yumyumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,383 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,054 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Property: San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing