We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Huge rooms, great view, convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #43 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, great view, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

While in town for an Air Force graduation, we stayed in this hotel. Our room was quite large with a balcony overlooking the riverwalk. Unfortunately, it was also right next to the elevators. This didn't affect us too much as we were exhausted each night. My husband and I loved the bed and pillows! We also appreciated the thoughtful room service. I used the gym several times and it was quite busy each morning, but I was able to use the equipment without problem (I also loved the eucalyptus chilled towels in the gym).

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arejaydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I’m glad to know you and your husband enjoyed your stay. Our rooms certainly do offer a great view of the beautiful River Walk. I’m also glad you liked the nice touch to our gym towels. We look forward to being of service to you the next time you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    431
    220
    88
    34
See reviews for
200
237
35
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Picked this hotel because it is across the street from the convention center and assumed that my needs would be met by a Marriott at this price. Wrong! The beds were comfortable and the room was clean, but the room was very shabby with worn carpet. That wouldn't have bothered me so much, but there was no refrigerator and the ice machine on my floor was not working. The food here is priced beyond believability.The restaurant is not open in the evening, and the desk clerk suggested that to find a restaurant I would have to walk to the Mariott Rivercenter. Never mind that it was pouring rain.I finally settled on a vegetarian pizza from room service which cost $25 with the service charge and delivery fee. Wifi should be free in the rooms. I would not stay here again. There are several other hotels much better within walking distance of the convention center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay. We will be undergoing a rooms renovation in the near future which will feature a more modern product. I hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice room, clean and fresh. Room service was fast and the food was hot, restaurant was wonderful - great service and food, beautiful view of the Riverwalk. Elevators are slow if you stay on the upper floors but overall outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you were able to stay in one of our balcony rooms with the fabulous views of the River Walk. And thank you for sharing with everyone the great service you received. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I were in San Antonio in August for a convention. Luckily the host hotel was the Marriott Riverwalk. Very convenient to everything on the River, a short walk to the convention center and attached to the Mall! I could shop and relax while my husband went to meetings. In the evening we tried several restaurants on the river but actually enjoyed the Mexican food at Rosario's which is on Alamo Street. Of course we had a ball at Durty Nellies on the River. The Marriott is a great place to stay if you want to be in the center of things. Very helpful employees, great service, good food and fantastic beds.

Room Tip: We had a room off to the side with a view of the Riverwalk. Very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patidragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Oh so many choices to eat on the River Walk, Rosario’s is definitely a favorite of the locals as well. I’m glad to know we offered great service during your stay. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the near future to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed here previously and are big Marriott fans. The hotel is nice and, as always, Marriott beds are the most comfortable ever! The bathroom vanity definitely needs more lighting but overall everything was very clean and comfortable.

The location is great. We had a room on the 23rd floor overlooking the Riverwalk. Across the street is the Rivercenter Mall and the Marriott Rivercenter. If you have a choice, stay at the Riverwalk. A quick elevator ride and a few steps down and you're strolling the Riverwalk. It's especially fun around Christmas with lights everywhere and carolers on the barges.

We ate at Rita's which was disappointing. The food wasn't passable but the service was definitely not good. We got our food and didn't see the server again until we found someone to track her down. Missing food, no drink refills, no smiles....until we were presented with the bill. We saw our first smile then.

What makes this Marriott stand out is the staff. Everyone is so friendly and works so hard to accommodate everyone's wants and needs. They will remedy any issue, minor or major, with a smile and a quick resolution. It is so rare these days to see this type of service and it is much appreciated. We will return!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the Riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LILEulessTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Our staff indeed works hard to accommodate everyone’s needs and wants, it’s our way of hosting you brilliantly. It will be our pleasure to host you brilliantly on your next visit, so please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

+ coffee maker in room
+ room seems well cared for
+ real glasses
+ toilet has two flush levels
+ iron and board
+ rooms made up promptly
. free wifi in lobby ~0.3 Mbps
- big swings in room temperature, gets very hot then blasts with cold air
- cable TV but poor selection of stations
- no grab bar in shower- friend put in three rooms before he found one in which the plumbing was not broken
- wi-fi $15/day in rooms- no fridge
- no microwave
- small cramped rooms
- very little drawer space
- thin walls, voices from other rooms surprsiingly loud in room
- note says earplugs in drawer but none
- skimpy coffee fixings
- neighbor taking shower sounds like in your bathroom
- no breakfast
- prices very high

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Leeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beds are comfortable and the room was exceptionally clean. There are two separate buildings, even though they are both the same Marriott. I recommend the Riverwalk even though it's an older building. I just bought a brand new truck and was concerned about letting valet park my vehicle, but I was more concerned about theft in a public parking lot. The valet took great care of my truck, gave me directions to get around downtown, and called taxis for my friends who didn't have a car. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinQ-JustinQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRam, Director of Sales at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m glad that we put your anxiety at ease with your new truck. Our valet staff is very professional and always ready to be of service. We hope we have the pleasure of serving as your host again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,960 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Property: San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing