We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel....Only one complaint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #43 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel....Only one complaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great, convenient hotel. We walked out of back door and down steps directly to Riverwalk. Front desk personnel were excellent. We actually tried to check in at the wrong hotel, and they offered to see if they had rooms here. They did and we were thrilled especially after we saw where our original Marriott was!

Rooms were very clean and beds comfortable. The only complaint was noise. We were on the 25th floor, but outside street noise was an issue all night long. I can only imagine if we had been near an airport! AC did a good job (it was 99 degrees) but very noisey.

We would certainly stay here again in spite of the street noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsnowman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRam, Director of Sales at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for providing us feedback of your recent stay. We’re very glad you found our hotel to your liking. We look forward to future visits, please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    438
    225
    89
    33
See reviews for
201
241
35
520
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The facilities of this hotel are just passable. However if you like to exercise and swim, this is not the hotel for you. The swimming pool has a division in the middle that allows you to swim in a space not bigger than four bathtub and doesn't seem very well maintained. Very disappointing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rudyard11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRam, Director of Sales at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We’re sorry to know you were disappointed with the facilities. I will pass along your comments regarding the upkeep of the pool. Thank you, again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at the Marriiott Riverwalk on a business trip. We had a convention in the convention center which was right across the street. The hotel is located right on the Riverwalk and a few blocks from the Alamo. The hotel has a Starbucks located inside which was convenient. We ate at the bar and the restaurant a few times and the food was good, The only suggestion I have for this hotel is to upgrade the showers and the elevators. They were sooo slow and the water pressure was weak. Beds were good. Overall a nice hotel in the middle of downtown located right on the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogluverSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRam, Director of Sales at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback and I’m pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Marriot San Antonio Riverwalk for 2 nights. The RiverWalk is amazing!!! This hotel is the best situated, right where the river walk starts and accross the RiverWalk Centre! Awsome! It is so beautiful!!! Lots of restaurants and terraces along the river walk, and lots of boutiques! We were there for 3 days, and it was all just magnificient!!! The only thing that we found the hotel lacking, is a refrigirator in the room! It is so hot in San Antonio, it would be great to have that, a fridge in the room!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the RiverWalk view!!! Or you'll be looking at parking lots! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your great post. The River Walk is amazing. Wait until you see it during the holidays, it’s magical!
I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your time in San Antonio and at the Marriott Riverwalk. We look forward to serving as your host the next time you are in San Antonio, perhaps during the holidays.

Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Staff is friendly. The location is great. I would avoid leaving close to check out time as the elevators were busy and we had to wait for about 5 before there was room for us. Easy access to the Riverwalk. Parking is expensive $25.00 a day, However, if you don't plan on using your car, there is a parking garage right across the street for $9.00 a day. The only thing thing with that is there are no multiple "in and outs" allowed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thinksafety05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’re glad you agree that our location is great and that we have a friendly staff. Our staff is always happy to be of service to you.
While our daily parking rates may appear expensive, our research shows that we are competitively priced with all downtown hotels in the local market. As an added benefit, Marrriott Riverwalk houses and manages it’s own on-site parking garage, providing both convenience and added security. This is an exclusive benefit that many hotels in the local market do not provide. The parking rates also provide unlimited in/out privileges, which is not offered at local city parking lots.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here over a Saturday night. When we arrived we were told self-parking was sold out and we could either use valet or self-park at the public parking garage for $9 (cash only) payable upon entry and another $9 (cash only) upon exit after 8am the next morning. We chose the public parking. Please note, you do not have in and out privileges with this option. This was not an issue for us as the hotel is in a good location and everything we wanted to do was walkable.

We were checked in promptly and given a room on the 30th floor. We faced east and had a view of the pool below, the Denny's and the highway a few blocks away. I would request a room facing west toward the Riverwalk. You would not get the blaring sun in the morning and the traffic noise would probably be lower on that side.

Room was average. Nothing special and as others have mentioned, a little dated. Air conditioner turned on and off every few minutes which was quite annoying. Turn on the fan setting on the thermostat so you don't have to hear it clicking on and off constantly. Shower pressure was terrible. When turning water to hot, the pipes screeched and did not let up until the temperature was turned down.

Pool on the 7th floor was one of those small indoor/outdoor pools Marriott has in a lot of their older properties. Other reviews complained of the water being ice cold. Apparently somebody at the property has taken note of this and tyrned on the heat. That pool was like bath water, almost too warm for summer. There is a nice lounging area both inside and outside with a ping pong table and pool table next to the fitness center.

Location was good with easy access to Riverwalk and Riverwalk Center at base of the other Marriott across the street, which looked newer and much more modern.

I have stayed at other hotels on the Riverwalk which were much nicer. I got this one on Priceline and would probably not book it on purpose, but would be OK with getting it for the right price again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing west. Less noise from the highway on the other side and no sun blaring in in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. You are absolutely right, the Riverwalk Marriott is ideally located to everything you might want to do while on the River Walk. I’m sorry to know you encountered many issues with your room. If you would like to contact me and let me know what room you were in, I will have my expert staff address your concerns with the room. As far as the pool is concerned, the heating element has been repaired and as you mentioned, the water is warm again. Thank you again for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Very good location, central river walk close to everything but far enough from hectic night life. Deluxe Rooms are nice and personnel very friendly. As a Gold member my guests and I have been very well received.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Baptiste F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for your loyalty to Marriott. Yes, our staff is very friendly, and always eager to help. I’m glad they took great care of you, please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#19 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Property: San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing