We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #41 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This Marriott is on the Riverwalk and very near everything, the Alamo, a short walk. Boarding of the riverboats, downstairs. Taxis are plentiful as well as the bus line. Directly across from the convention center. The staff are very helpful with restaurant recommendations. The rooms are large and very clean. Beds are the BEST!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony..nice to look over Riverwalk and enjoy morning coffee..
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We’re glad to know you had a great experience at the Marriott Riverwalk Hotel. We hope the next time you are in San Antonio, our friendly and helpful staff will help make your stay more memorable than the last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

stayed for a business conference.
Cannot beat the location, literally right on Riverwalk.
Employees were friendly and helpful, hotel is clean, beds are very comfortable.
The hotel overall is dated. If the rooms were updated in the last 20 years it doesn't show, very 70's feel, except the bathroom had a new cheap plastic shower & tub. The bathroom was the old cheap style with the sink outside and tub & toilet inside.
And, "for your convenience", there is a large bottle of water on the desk, but if you open, it will cost you 3.50. Talk about trying to gouge you.
The indoor/outdoor pool is just a tiny indoor pool with a large window separating the the tiny outdoor "pool" that you swim under. Resturaunt(?) / bar was very small,cramped & dark, so chose not to eat there. The wifi is extemely s l o w, and they charge extra, what a lot of nerve.
The room TV was a first generation tiny LCD with a lousy picture, its basically a thick computer monitor.
This would be a decent hotel if not for the price. For roughly 200 per night I expect something a little nicer and even the small motels all have free wifi these days
The main thing going for this place is the locaton.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukiddingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel staff allowed early check-in for my party. The lobby was comfortable with easy access to Starbucks and The Bar. The Bar offered us great martinis and mojitos that we could easily charge to our room. Check-in was a breeze and the staff even thanked me for being a Marriot Silver Elite member and followed my profile's hotel preferences. The location of the hotel was excellent since it was situated along the Riverwalk, a walking distance to the Alamo, and the Bonnham Exchange club. It was also co-located to Fogo de Chao, a great Brazilian restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are away from ice machines and elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Sister weekend over Mothers Day. Staff was absolutely wonderful, helpful and very friendly.
Brunch was a little pricey on Mom' day but so worth it. Great local to walk Riverwalk. Beds were very comfortable and noise very minimal.Can't wait to return

Room Tip: Plan ahead so you get the rooms you want. Staff seems eager to please customers
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muggsie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Staff was very nice. Rooms were clean but they were very dated. Water pressure in shower was terrible. Great location for the Convention Center, Riverwalk and mall. Over priced food, rooms and drinks, but bar food was delicious. Beds were comfy but outside noise was loud made it hard to get to sleep. A/C was loud

Room Tip: get the riverwalk view side
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. Hotel room packages and décor are continually changing to stay functional and fashionable. Our parent company, Marriott International, is constantly researching new products that will distinguish all our different brands. We will expect to see a new more modern product at the completion of our next room renovation. We hope you will be able to return to see a “new” Marriott Riverwalk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The rooms here could use a serious upgrade (Hint - if looking for the in-room coffee set look in the top shelf of the closet). But, everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. We had some noisy neighbors and security promptly responded to our call and left us a Starbucks gift card under the door for our trouble.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a riverwalk view - not sure if it was worth it. A bit noisy at night from the ba...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhansen80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was overbooked and they offered us a street side room instead of the river side we reserved. We said we would wait for them to ready a river side room and they said we could wait in the lounge and gave us two free drink tickets. We met the chef accidentially and had a fun conversation with him and after learning we were there celebrating 27 years he had the waitress bring us a complimentary hor devour sampler that wasn't even on the menu. What a delicious treat. Breakfast the next morning was equally delicious. Our river side room was so high up we could barely see the river at all. Ha! Good thing we spent most of our time out of the room.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,438 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,106 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $229 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing