We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #42 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 17, 2013

after seeing the reviews of this hotel in Tripadvisor we booked for a 2nights stay at San Antonio....
its very average....breakfast buffet is minuscule...staff is friendly...rooms are really small and look worn out...they really need to spruce it up...for the same amount u can get it just acroos the street in Marriott Rivercentre...it looked better and newer....havent seen the rooms there so cant comment on them...
There are so many hotels on the river walk..they are more accessible to the river walk..
disappointed with the room...expected more from a Marriott...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanJai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here over the Easter weekend (Sunday and Monday nights). We took an Executive King room. It was on the 28th floor, 2 down from the Concierge Suite. The room was just perfect, spacious, clean and comfortable. White bed linens, lots of pillows, TV, and a small fridge. The bathroom arrangement had an alcove with sink, vanity and mirror, outside of the enclosed room with the tub and toilet. The balcony had a small table and 2 chairs looking directly over the Riverwalk.

The desk was beside the TV cabinetry with easy access to multiple power outlets and network/video connections.

The room rate included access to the Concierge Lounge; complimentary continental and hot breakfast, as well as desserts and coffee. Concierge James was very helpful, checking restaurant availability and providing general information. Valet parking was offered at check in, but you can self-park under the hotel with an overnight (slightly cheaper) pass from the front desk. There are also guest self laundry facilities.

NOTE There are 2 Marriotts close together the RiverWalk and the RiverCentre. On our GPS it was hard to distinguish. The address of this hotel Marriott RiverWalk is on Market Street. Someone trying checking in ahead of us had reservations for the RiverCentre instead.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is by far not deserving of the marriott name! It is old, outdated, and has mold growing on ceilings in bathroom. I was very disappointed in the amount we paid to stay in such an old drab room. The service was great, food in hotel was good. Room service was excellent. There are better places to stay for location and price on the river walk.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvz2Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A few blocks from the RiverWalk and you have a lovely place to stay. The arbor is beautiful - get a room that overlooks it. The pool is clean and not run of the mill, grounds well cared for and beacon you to go outside and enjoy the air! The staff is great and the rooms are clean- beds comfy. We are Hilton people, for the most part, but the Marriott's seem to be more consistently well run hotels.
The downside of this hotel is that the parking fee is outrageous.

Room Tip: Lots of nice local restaurants around- first Friday of the month you can view local artists work at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mng1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This past March i traveled to San Antonio for the first time to attend a wedding on the San Antonio Riverwalk. I had booked the Marriott Riverwalk two months in advance and was assigned a room on the 30th floor adjacent to the elevator bank. And the 4 elevators never stopped transporting guests from floor to floor all night long. I should have known I was in trouble when I spotted a set of ear plugs on my night stand with the following card: "For a restful sleep, silence the sounds of the city. Ear plugs from the San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk!" Being on the 30th floor - no sounds could be heard from the city - only the constant noise generated by the elevator pulley mechanisms. The staff who responded to my request for a room change rudely suggested that I use the ear plugs provided. She insisted that there were no other Marriott rooms in the entire city of San Antonio. Only when I escalated the problem to the Manager was a room located in the Marriott across the street. So at 2:00 AM I packed up and moved to a new hotel. Needless to say, this was my worst Marriott experience in a very long time. As a gold card member, I stay in a lot of Marriotts for business throughout the year. Clearly management knows that the elevator noise is a problem and I should have been given a choice. Luckily the city of San Antonio and an awesome wedding made up for the poor Marriott experience.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the elevator bank as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kokamoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms were clean, well maintained, and spacious. The hotel is convenient to the convention center (across the street) and the Riverwalk and mall are literally right outside the doors. For the price and for business, my only complaints were the limited internet access (only 24 hours are complimentary) and the lack of a coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwalkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Made a reservation 6 months in advance but when I arrived March 29th I was given the wrong room. I moved to a different room, but still not right. Saturday morning Alex took care of everything and gave me free breakfast every morning and more Marriott points. The room she gave me was great. Floor 16, balcony, view of the city and Riverwalk. It started out rocky but she completely diffused the situation and made me a happy camper. It's nice to know someone knows how to turn a sad situation into a happy one.

Room Tip: Go high with a city view, otherwise you're looking at the buiding next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,496 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 358 in San Antonio
2,959 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $190 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover San Antonio from convenient accommodations at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk. Our hotel in San Antonio, Texas sits right on the Riverwalk, close to top attractions like The Alamo and near the convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing