We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #48 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Downtown, easy access to all events. Clean rooms. Good banquet food. Comfy beds. Friendly staff. River walk is very relaxing. Weather in fall is fabulous.

Three large groups kept the hotel alive.
For business, I would return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    379
    208
    84
    30
See reviews for
180
209
33
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The location good, the property is a bit aged, the rooms functional. Not large, but comfy as one would expect from the top of the line Marriott flag. Internet not free, but connectivity poor! My cell phone had better connection time! When I inquired, I was connected, presumably to a call center where the poor chap lacked the most basic English langauge skills ! At about $200 a night, I would expect Marriott to employ someone on the spot, to "fix, make right, create goodwill, or simply make one's stay more pleasant.

Room Tip: I was here for a seminar on the site. If doing this on my own, I have alway found Courtyard by Marr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Excellent location & top quality service. I was pleasant surprised at the level of quality and the level of professionalism of the staff. The resturants overlooking the riverwalk were spacious and the outside eating areas very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for the river walk view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmk5033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nothing really bad nor good to say about this convention-center hotel except that you really can't do much better location-wise. If they are not hosting a bid convention when you are going, you should be able to get in on Priceline for very little money, in which case it is absolutely the best place to stay. I paid $75 a night (rack rate 4 times as much) for three nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinhanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was at a Conference for the International Facility Managers Association in San Antonio between October 30th and November 2nd and stayed at this hotel. It was really convenient to the Convention Center and the Riverwalk, so the location was great. The front desk staff were professional and very helpful and the lobby looked much as you would expect from a major brand hotel.

The problem hit me when I got off the elevator on a high level of the hotel [ yes I have good status with this brand ] dirty hallways. Although the room was a good size I can honestly say I have never seen carpet in a 4 star hotel so poorly maintained. IT WAS FILTHY. There were at least three very noticeable stains that could have been anything from coffee to soda to – you don’t want to know.

Do yourself a favor – stay at one of the other hotels near the convention center in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Higher levels if you must stay here are better - lots of noise from the Riverwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed while attending a conference in the same hotel. It's a nice place and the rooms are nice. It's big and I had trouble in some areas getting phone reception (which is a big deal and several people mentioend it). Overall my stay was nice and I really have no complaints, but... In the conference area, it seems like they skimped on places to sit down and talk to someone. That's part of why you go to a conference is to talk to people, but you either have to go to the lobby or stand... More chairs please...!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dan1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
274 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location across the street from the conference center and on the river walk. Our king bed had a trench in the middle of it. Maybe time to replace some of the mattresses? Great view down the river walk on the 7th floor. Bellmen are great. Guy that watches for car services is a does not have any listening skills. I was waiting for a car service and wanted to sit inside until they arrived. Rather than listening to me explain what I wanted him to do (for a tip), as soon as he heard car service, he told me to go to the front desk to order a car. Duh ... I already had one. He didn't get a tip.

Room Tip: Ask for river view. Ask if there is a newer mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#20 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 2,405 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,221 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Property: San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Address: 889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing