We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #42 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location, bad service”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was first time at this Marriott and one of the worst hotel experiences in a long time, mostly due to poor service all the way around.

First: The hotel pool was out of service due to a leak. Now this could not have been foreseen by the hotel, but their solution was to send guests to the Courtyard Marriott across the street, which would have been OK, but that pool was low on water, dirty, and in poor shape. Plus no one staff member could tell us when the main pool was going to be repaired - we heard a day, two days, a week - much confusion.

Second: The wake-up call was late by 15 minutes the first day and after pointing this out to the manager the next night, after asking for a wake-up call again, the desk called and woke us up to ask us what time we wanted to get the wake up call because someone didn't write it down - really? A colleague staying in a different room had a similar experience that week.

As a hotel that billed itself as one of San Antonio's finest, it proved itself wrong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinciJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We were sorry to hear that you found your recent experience at the San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk disappointing. We appreciate all feedback and we would be delighted to discuss your experience with you in more detail. Please feel free to get in touch with Libby at your convenience. Libby can be reached at 210.554.6060.

Again, our sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    461
    232
    92
    33
See reviews for
221
258
38
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were disappointed with this hotel. We usually love the Marriott chain, but this hotel was a bit of a fail. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. But the state of the hotel is really bad. The carpets are all stained and filthy looking. Our room looked tired and rundown. The bathroom was full of black hair. Housekeeping was nice, but I did clean the bathroom floor because of the hair. The pool area is downright ghetto. I did not want my kids swimming in that pool which was too bad as that is something we really enjoy. The location is so great, right on the riverwalk and we spent most of our time there or visiting family. Love San Antonio and can't wait to get back, but it will very certainly be at a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioJBass, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We were sorry to hear that you found your recent experience at the San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk disappointing. We appreciate all feedback and we would be delighted to discuss your experience with you in more detail. Please feel free to get in touch with Libby at your convenience. Libby can be reached at 210.554.6060.

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Do not stay at the Riverwalk. $259/night and they didn't even clean our room before the second night. It was loud, busy and very run down. We expected a top notch hotel with excellent amenities, but got a very low class hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel that is newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Sitting on the head of Riverwalk, this hotel is a perfect place to be for anyone visiting Riverwalk in San Antonio. Right across the convention center the hotel offers a beautiful view of the city's sky line and base line (the river).

The rooms and bathrooms were smaller than the normal but Ok. Be vary of the parking lot...you can be taken for a ride by the valets....Parking is slightly on the higher side, $25 for self and $33 for valets. We were travelling in a group with two cars, while we get to park in self parking garage, our friends were forced into valet parking. We arrived hardly few minutes apart and there were lot of empty spaces available in self park....wonder why they assumed no self park spaces.....guess the parking price difference.

Room Tip: Go for riverwalk view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinnyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We decided to take a last minute weekend trip to San Antonio and enjoy a weekend of shopping and relaxing. We booked a riverwalk view room and noticed the area was PACKED when we arrived. We always do self park, so I was just going to go in, check us in, get the car park key and head on. As there was a long line of cars, I hopped out while we were still waiting in the street so I could check us in asap and head into the parking garage. Check-in was very easy and simple. I told the young man checking me in that we would be doing self parking. He gave me my card and said if there was any other way he could be of assistance, just let him know. I went outside and my mother was about to hand her keys to the valet. I asked what was going on and she said the valet told her the self park lot was full and we HAD to do valet (which I believe is about $10 more than self park plus the tip you give them every time). I said the check in gave me a key and mentioned nothing of self park being full. We were allowed to proceed to the garage. Another valet was standing there and we told him we had self parking. He said nothing about it being full and we kept going. When we got to the first level of self park there were at least 5 empty spaces that we could easily see and were close to the hotel entrance. So, that's my only cautionary advice if you stay here. There was some kind of Japanese cartoon convention taking place at Henry B. Gonzalez & the Grand Hyatt so it was quite crowded. Rooms were great, there were letters in the rooms about a possible cricket problem in the area, but we never saw even one in our room or on the balcony. All in all it was a great trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose Hill, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel was built around 1980 and it shows. Beds were comfortable and the air was cold. Other than that this place is PLAIN........

Rooms smaller than expected for a $189 Rate.

Much Better Choices In The Area.

Breakfast was Better Than OK, But Not Much Better. $16.95 Per Person.

Shop Around, you will find a better deal and just as nice a place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The room was clean and pleasant, the views from the balcony were great, but the service was truly remarkable. Everything from restaurant recommendations and transportation help exceeded my expectations and rivaled the service of a much more exclusive hotel. I will definately return...

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arigrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,882 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,382 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Property: San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing