We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view - exspensive food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #34 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Had a riverwalk view - I ordered breakfast... nothing but cereal and a blueberry muffin and it was almost $20 for $2 worth of food. Needless to say, we didn't eat at the hotel after that. It has smaller, less extravagant bathrooms than I was expecting based on the lobby areas.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellynicole85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

This a no frills hotel. The front desk/valet/bar/coffee service was great. The hotel... air conditioning was loud and very humid. We had to move to a different room because the humidity in one room made it difficult to breathe. The other room was 2 rooms away from the elevator. If you're wanting peace and quiet - get a room far away from the elevators. You could hear the elevators being pulled up and down the elevator shaft ALL night and day long!!! And the air conditioning was loud to. Bathroom was okay. There was mold in the ceiling tiles above the shower.

If noise and no frills are not important, this would be a good place to stay. The beds were GREAT! and very comfortable. They have no wireless internet in the rooms, so if you have 2 people needing to connect to the internet - only 1 can be hard wired in.

Valet parking - $33/day. Self park was $26/day. Self park was EASY, so if you don't have a lot bags, that might be the way to go. The elevators were FAST! If you can, ask for a room with a Riverwalk View and balcony.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionesslight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

First of all request a room that isn't next to the elevator. Not fun listening to elevator going up and down. Internet service was unavailable from our arrival on Friday to Monday departure - "working on it". Room wasn't made up until after 3pm. Decided to have a drink and bite to eat at bar on Saturday night. Sat at table and waited and waited and waited for service - that never came. People who came in after we did were served right away. Wanted to go to IMAX movie across the street so went up to room and I called desk. Thought they should know we waited 15 minutes and never received service. Operator noticed right away that husband is platinum member and within 10 minutes a manager called back. We were offered a meal but wanted to go to movie. About 11pm we had a knock on the door and were treated to cheeses and a bottle of wine. We also had a note saying breakfast would be complimentary. Yes, the manager went over and above what we expected but it shouldn't have happened in the first place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enjoy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Far from action on riverwalk like restaurants and nightlife. The riverwalk has developed away from this hotel. $350/nt- only 1 chair in room, no refridgerator, long walk to nightlife. Charges $15/nt for internet in room. Hotel living on old reputation. You can smoke on their patio at the bar but can not smoke on your balcony. Closet size store on premises but you have to wait behind guests at front desk to pay. Staff was friendly. I found much better rooms closer to the action on the river, balconies overlooking river, fridges, larger nicer rooms with free internet, mini-bars, and cheaper prices..No tv guides or USA Today as told.

Room Tip: Look on Expedia 1st.. the Omni is closer, better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulegeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Had an excellent stay for 5 days at a conference in April 2011. Location is great, right on the Riverwalk and across the street from the Rivercenter Mall and a short walk (couple of blocks or so) to the Alamo and La Villita. Although not as "glitzy" as it's sister property across the street, it's still a good value.

Didn't try the pool or excercise room, but food was good to excellent in the restaurant and Starbucks. Staff was friendly and efficient and able to answer questions about the area. Hotel was generally very clean and well kept, although could stand a little refurbishment in the future. Room was good size, flat screen TV, and a small balcony with table and chairs facing the Riverwalk.

Would recommend this to anyone traveling to San Antonio on business or pleasure. The location can't be beat for the downtown sights and prices are reasonable compared to other downtown venues.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillbilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My wife and I love this Marriott. First of all San Antonio is nice. I like the Hyatt for business , and this for family. The location is great.. walking distance to the Alamo, the mall.. it is on the river walk.. lots of restaurants. The pool is a heated pool 84 degrees in winter and summer. My daughter loves this place. There is ping pong, and pool table.. all for free, just ask. The business center is there too. I have probably spent with my wife a total of 15-20 different stays here. We try to always park downstairs but they will tell you, there is only valet parking is guaranteed. So, 1 time they did not let us down there. 1 out of 20 is good, Your car is safe there.. There is always hotel staff walking through there. The breakfast is good, but I am not a big breakfast eater so I go to McDonald's usually. Denny's kind of right across the street. Going back again and again.

Room Tip: 2 rooms on every floor bigger than the rest. ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Stayed for business meeting -- cheapest room was $240 per night for a very average, small room. Nothing fancy about the room or the service in this hotel. We were exhibiting in Marriott's proprety directly across the street, Marriott River Center. The street had construction and made it difficult to transverse back and forth between hotels. During our meeting, we could not hear speakers well on the first day due to the jackhammering on the street. It was awful. This is a convention hotel, pure and simple. I would not choose it for a special occasion or for leisure travel.

Room Tip: None were available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deputysher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#23 of 358 in San Antonio
3,633 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,130 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 358 in San Antonio
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Address: 889 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $218 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover San Antonio from convenient accommodations at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk. Our hotel in San Antonio, Texas sits right on the River Walk close to top attractions like The Alamo and near the convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing