We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very below par for La Quinta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland
Ranked #133 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“very below par for La Quinta”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This property is showing its age and needs renovation. The hotel has 3 or 4 buildings so it can be quite a walk to the lobby for breakfast. Lobby is not at all able to accommodate the number of guests and the breakfast is very crowded and laid out very poor. The rooms have an oddly very small bathroom. The toilet and shower are in a tiny crmped area and the doors hit each other. You cannot get your own feet out of the way to close the door to the toilet and shower space. The walls are paper-thin and you clearly hear people conversing the the adjoining room. This property is very below par for La Quinta and very badly needs remodeling. The rates charged are more in line with a modern and current property.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    198
    95
    57
    62
See reviews for
433
42
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Rooms are clean, short distance to BMT.

TV had very poor reception, cut in and out, impossible to watch!

If attending BMT graduation for one day this is the place. If a longer stay go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40Dodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Great location for those attending bmt graduation and lackland. The breakfast was good if you for up early. The location isn't good Unless you want to be close to lackland.
The staff was so friendly, the location is close to freeway access.
The rooms were average, we had issues with our toilet and tub not flushing and draining slow. We stayed 5 nights. Again, I would recommend this place to someone attending events at lackland afb.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlustb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I waited up to the last minute to book a room and was left with this choice and a 5 star which was like $350 for a night with my sons. I arrived around 3 PM the 23rd. The check-in process was lengthy and caused a line to form. The two counter employees did not acknowledge a single customer as they walked in or waited in line. I wanted to throw up upon entering the room. I requested non-smoking and that's what I supposedly got. Unfortunately, it smelled like urine and a pack of menthols burning in the room. The a/c was noisy and damp, the beds were stiff and the bathroom was not clean. Someone left white vinegar (probably for cleaning) in the coffee maker. I used the coffee maker to try to fill the room with some sort of aroma other than what we were breathing. I dealt with it because it was a one night stay and I got out of the room as much as possible. The restaurants closest by are a mile hike under a freeway and I got dropped off there. There was a lot of noise outside the hotel and probably because the second pool was closed and the pool is central to most units. The continental breakfast was wiped out at 8:45 AM so there couldn't have been much there. I addressed the concerns about the room and smoke smell when I was checking out and the counter person (no title is justifiable) acknowledged my concerns and did absolutely nothing else beyond that. Just silence. Then I asked why I would receive a smoking room and he said I made the reservation through T_________y.com and would have to address that with them. ??? No questions were ever asked at check-in about my stay. I come from a strong customer service background and this was completely unacceptable in any form or fashion. They know better than that.

Room Tip: Dont. The room wasn't worth sticking around long enough to take pictures of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thetxcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed 5 nights at La Quinta on Military Drive for attending BMT graduation Sept. 7th. Room looked clean and smelled clean. It was kept up every day, we had plenty of towels, never lacked anything. Free breakfast every morning beginning at 5:00 a.m. which was very convenient as we were on the go by 5:30 a.m. to head over to the base. Staff was very friendly and courteous. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laurie5020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

If you are not big on dogs, request a upstairs unit. Pool and the area around it needs some cleaning and TLC. Rooms are not bad, you get what you pay for. The maid never replenished our coffee or cups our whole 5 day stay. Breakfast is good. Perfect for going to BMT graduation, very convenient location and you can hear Taps playing on the bugle speaker at 9pm every night.

Room Tip: Request upstairs unit if traveling without a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loonalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neverneverland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This place was more of a motel than a hotel! It smelled like pee and the carpet and restroom was NASTY! We had already made a reservation and had to stay for 2 days! We all kept our shoes on the entire time we were inside the hotel room and didn't DARE look out the window at what might have been going on around us. Would NOT recommend this place at all!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smac35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
#249 of 356 in San Antonio
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Property: La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland
Address: 6511 W Military Dr, San Antonio, TX 78227-3615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, LaQuinta, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Lackland Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Lackland
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing