We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience after mixed reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2005

I read very mixed reviews of La Mansion and was apprehensive before we arrived. It is a very old hotel and therefore has small rooms and limited storage, so an extended stay could be problematic. However, for a long weekend we found it to have a great location, courteous staff and a nice ambience (IE doesn't feel like a big chain hotel). The hotel restaurant was very good and we very much enjoyed our stay. We would stay there again.

3  Thank wander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,989 - 3,995 of 4,132 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2005

I stayed al La Mansion for Christmas. The rooms were very clean. Although the hotel was very full, they managed to find three rooms on the same floor for all our family members. The Concierge was very helpful before we arrived--helped us with dinner reservations, mass schedules at local churches for Christmas--and extremely helpful and efficient while we were there. Valets also very helpful with driving directions. We had three rooms with river views, perfect for viewing the lights. We worked out at the sister hotel, the Watermark. The facitilies there were excellent and very clean. Our Christmas Eve dinner at Las Canarias was outstanding. It was a great place to enjoy the holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westwind13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2005

I was in town for a conference. My wife attended with me. The La Mansion was listed on the conference list with a good price. The price was good and I was happy with the location. The walk to the convention center was nice either on the riverwalk or street level. I dont think the hotel should be rated above 3.5 of 5 stars. Here is a list of some good and bad points:

Good--
The location. Its far enough from the busy part of the riverwalk to not impeed the area but close enough to get anywhere quickly on the walk.

The Staff was very good and helpful. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived. The bellman took our bags and placed them in our room when it was ready.

The doors were secured at night. In previous reviews it was noted about some security issues. These must have been revolved. The doors are secured at night.

The hot water was HOT. Again that issue must have been resolved.

The King bed was good, not great.

The Bad:--
The internet connection required a payment of $10. I think that is a bit high, esp when was expired at 3pm. The was no WiFi service at all.

The Water pressure was low. We were on the 2nd floor. Also the shower heads needed cleaning. A hugh build up of lime and calicum.

The under side of the sink was very dusty. Looks like it hasnt been cleaned in a while. The counter top was rough to the feel. It was like it had hairspray over spray on it. I think just a good wiping would have cleaned it.

No extra blankets in the room;however,one was delivered very quickly at 11pm by housekeeping.

Our room was on the street side facinga parking deck. It was very noisey early in the morning. I was a good think we are early risers.

I will stay again only if the price is right

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigBenNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Round Rock, TX
12
Reviewed December 3, 2005

I took my family down to La Mansion del Rio Dec 3rd to look at the Christmas decorations in San Antonio.
The hotel was MAGNIFICANT from the moment we stepped out of our car. The room was immaculate and very large. We were on the 5th floor directly on the river walk with a huge balcony. The marble bathrooms and makeup area was perfect. The robes in the room were comfortable and clean.
Since we were traveling with small children the hotel sent up to us 4 huge chocolate cookies, a large fruit basket and 2 cold glasses of milk (without asking for anything.) The staff went above and beyond the call of service.
The pool was warm and extremely clean.
The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have had.
Our stay was so enjoyable that we re booked for next year. THANK YOU La Mansion Del Rio staff for making our trip terrific.
If anyone needs a hotel in San Antonio...this is the one to stay in over and over again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Portland, Oregon
16
Reviewed November 27, 2005

We stayed at La Mansion over the Thanksgiving weekend with my in-laws and my husband's Aunt. Each step of our stay from the first phone call to the hotel to finally checking out was less than adequate. The customer service phone staff, front desk attendants, and concierges were poorly informed of hotel events, and in one case, downright rude. After asking several times about the Holiday Riverwalk parade, we were given blatently wrong information that resulted in three of us not attending the parade and the other two paying more than 10 times (!) as much than we were told. As for the rooms, we were all staying on the pool side which was incredibly noisy. In our room alone, the thermostat was broken, light bulbs were burned out, and hot water often wasn't available for showers in the morning. A huge disappointment for a "nice" hotel in a high end tourist area of town.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Comanche, Texas
13
Reviewed November 25, 2005

Just spent Thanksgiving at La Mansion and found the rooms shabby and dirty. Carpet and bedspreads were old and had holes in them.. The desk attendants gave us a block of rooms and then later changed it. We were no where near each other. Doors to the river were left open and anyone can come and go. Did not feel safe. We visit family frequently in San Antonio and always stay on the river. In the future it will not be La Mansion.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
13
Reviewed November 15, 2005

We had a King room on the river with a private balcony. The rooms are old and small and need to be redecorated. The bathroom was small. There are not very many jacuzzi rooms. The concierge was nice. The room service was good, although overpriced. I have stayed in many hotels in many cities and don't stay in anything less than 4 stars. This room was not worth the $260/night price tag. I will stay elsewhere for my next trip to San Antonio.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,216 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,352 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,600 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 358 in San Antonio
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $201 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Mansión del Rio is ideally nestled along the historic River Walk in downtown San Antonio. Perfectly situated, you can easily explore all of San Antonio’s extensive range of tourist attractions. Located within easy walking distance to the fabled Alamo, El Mercado, La Villita Arts District, Spanish Governor’s Palace, San Antonio Convention Center and most other well-known landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing