We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at La Mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Ranked #22 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay at La Mansion”
Reviewed December 26, 2005

I stayed al La Mansion for Christmas. The rooms were very clean. Although the hotel was very full, they managed to find three rooms on the same floor for all our family members. The Concierge was very helpful before we arrived--helped us with dinner reservations, mass schedules at local churches for Christmas--and extremely helpful and efficient while we were there. Valets also very helpful with driving directions. We had three rooms with river views, perfect for viewing the lights. We worked out at the sister hotel, the Watermark. The facitilies there were excellent and very clean. Our Christmas Eve dinner at Las Canarias was outstanding. It was a great place to enjoy the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westwind13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,155
    792
    348
    181
    89
See reviews for
787
1,419
76
789
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2005

I was in town for a conference. My wife attended with me. The La Mansion was listed on the conference list with a good price. The price was good and I was happy with the location. The walk to the convention center was nice either on the riverwalk or street level. I dont think the hotel should be rated above 3.5 of 5 stars. Here is a list of some good and bad points:

Good--
The location. Its far enough from the busy part of the riverwalk to not impeed the area but close enough to get anywhere quickly on the walk.

The Staff was very good and helpful. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived. The bellman took our bags and placed them in our room when it was ready.

The doors were secured at night. In previous reviews it was noted about some security issues. These must have been revolved. The doors are secured at night.

The hot water was HOT. Again that issue must have been resolved.

The King bed was good, not great.

The Bad:--
The internet connection required a payment of $10. I think that is a bit high, esp when was expired at 3pm. The was no WiFi service at all.

The Water pressure was low. We were on the 2nd floor. Also the shower heads needed cleaning. A hugh build up of lime and calicum.

The under side of the sink was very dusty. Looks like it hasnt been cleaned in a while. The counter top was rough to the feel. It was like it had hairspray over spray on it. I think just a good wiping would have cleaned it.

No extra blankets in the room;however,one was delivered very quickly at 11pm by housekeeping.

Our room was on the street side facinga parking deck. It was very noisey early in the morning. I was a good think we are early risers.

I will stay again only if the price is right

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBenNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 3, 2005

I took my family down to La Mansion del Rio Dec 3rd to look at the Christmas decorations in San Antonio.
The hotel was MAGNIFICANT from the moment we stepped out of our car. The room was immaculate and very large. We were on the 5th floor directly on the river walk with a huge balcony. The marble bathrooms and makeup area was perfect. The robes in the room were comfortable and clean.
Since we were traveling with small children the hotel sent up to us 4 huge chocolate cookies, a large fruit basket and 2 cold glasses of milk (without asking for anything.) The staff went above and beyond the call of service.
The pool was warm and extremely clean.
The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have had.
Our stay was so enjoyable that we re booked for next year. THANK YOU La Mansion Del Rio staff for making our trip terrific.
If anyone needs a hotel in San Antonio...this is the one to stay in over and over again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 27, 2005

We stayed at La Mansion over the Thanksgiving weekend with my in-laws and my husband's Aunt. Each step of our stay from the first phone call to the hotel to finally checking out was less than adequate. The customer service phone staff, front desk attendants, and concierges were poorly informed of hotel events, and in one case, downright rude. After asking several times about the Holiday Riverwalk parade, we were given blatently wrong information that resulted in three of us not attending the parade and the other two paying more than 10 times (!) as much than we were told. As for the rooms, we were all staying on the pool side which was incredibly noisy. In our room alone, the thermostat was broken, light bulbs were burned out, and hot water often wasn't available for showers in the morning. A huge disappointment for a "nice" hotel in a high end tourist area of town.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 25, 2005

Just spent Thanksgiving at La Mansion and found the rooms shabby and dirty. Carpet and bedspreads were old and had holes in them.. The desk attendants gave us a block of rooms and then later changed it. We were no where near each other. Doors to the river were left open and anyone can come and go. Did not feel safe. We visit family frequently in San Antonio and always stay on the river. In the future it will not be La Mansion.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 15, 2005

We had a King room on the river with a private balcony. The rooms are old and small and need to be redecorated. The bathroom was small. There are not very many jacuzzi rooms. The concierge was nice. The room service was good, although overpriced. I have stayed in many hotels in many cities and don't stay in anything less than 4 stars. This room was not worth the $260/night price tag. I will stay elsewhere for my next trip to San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2005

I just got back from a trip with me sister to La Mansion. It couldn't have been better, and the hotel's location can't be beat. We had spa services at the Watermark, La Mansion's sister hotel (and the were fabulous!), but for reflecting the architecture and "feel" of San Antonio, we were very glad we chose La Mansion.

Helpful?
4 Thank Tex56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,084 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Property: Omni La Mansion del Rio
Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in the city, a historic hotel and Spanish hacienda style hotel, filled with charm & located on the renown River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing