We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Ranked #19 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had a romantic get-a-way here and it was quite cozy. Good view of the riverwalk within walking distance to The Esquire Tavern (a must do). Great Sunday brunch at the Omni too. We didn't use the pool as it was too cold, but it was adequate, yet small in a beautiful courtyard.

If you are new in town...please note that the Riverwalk is pretty but unfortunately it is overrun with chains. Luke and the Esquire Tavern are good places to stop if you want something good. Much of the rest are just tourist traps.

Great food is everywhere in San Antonio and much of it is close by. The CIA Bakery, not more than 5 minutes from the hotel, is a MUST DO. Incredible breakfast and lunch. The Granary is another hot-spot and very good. La Gloria is a ton of fun. All of these are next to each other at The Pearl.

We did the Jester King tour outside of Austin and visited Franklin Barbeque that Saturday and I can't think of a better gastronomic exercise. (See other reviews)

Room Tip: Too much over the 4th floor and you won't have a good view of the Riverwalk. The first floor mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonflycafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are glad you had a great romantic get-away at the Omni La Mansion del Rio and were able to enjoy some of the local eateries the Riverwalk has to offer as well. Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    669
    275
    146
    78
See reviews for
629
1,164
68
630
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Since this hotel is right on the Riverwalk, in the thick of the action, it's great to walk out to restaurants and evening activities, as well as to the local attractions like the Alamo. Do get an upper floor if noise would be an issue for you on the balcony.( But was only bothersome on Saturday night. )

The staff is quite friendly, and adds to the atmosphere. The food - La Canarias -- is excellent - and that's what you get for room service as well as in the restaurant.

The rooms are comfy, and although others have called them small, they are certainly an OK size, particularly for an older property. Liked having the coffee shop as an option for a Starbucks and small breakfast snack before heading out. I'll be heading back later this year for my next San Antonio visit - much prefer this over the cookie cutter newer hotels.

Room Tip: The Riverwalk can be busy and noisy - ask for an upper floor. Be sure to spring for a Riverwalk room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gogoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the location, dining, and history of the Omni La Mansion del Rio Hotel during your recent stay and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
245 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here for business a few weeks ago and had a wonderful experience. The staff was so friendly and helpful, it was a pleasure working our event with them. The hotel has an intriguing history and is full of charm and character. The rooms are nice and clean as are the hotel public areas. There is a quaint pool albeit it was much too cold to swim during my stay. The fitness center at the sister property (Mokara) is wonderful, I really enjoyed it. The location of the Omni right on the Riverwalk is ideal. You are steps away from dining, entertainment and strolling the riverwalk. The Alamo is about a 7 minute walk as is the Main Plaza and Market Square. There is also a Walgreens very near which is convenient. I would definitely stay here again for leisure or business! I recommend signing up for the Omni loyalty club also, with it you receive free internet in your guestroom.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Omni La Mansion del Rio Hotel and for your loyalty to Omni Hotels & Resorts through our Select Guest Program. We are very pleased that all aspects of your stay were so enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again soon when the weather gets warmer to enjoy our pool as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Two days on the Riverwalk in this fantastic hotel equals five days of vacation anywhere else. The staff is top-notch, the facilities are incredibly beautiful, and the Riverwalk is right outside the hotel if you feel the need for excitement, entertainment, or tourism. Otherwise, you can watch the world go by from your balcony overlooking the Riverwalk. It's also well-located for attending a weekend farmer's market or visiting the Alamo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAskewTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are honored you found two days at our property equal to a five day retreat elsewhere and that you had such a wonderful get-away. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back for a little more R&R very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Girls weekend in January. We had a balcony room overlooking the Riverwalk. The view and the atmosphere were great. This hotel has great character. The staff is excellent and understand the meaning of servicing customers. The restaurant, Las Canarias, has great margaritas and the braised beef short rib was superb.

Room Tip: We paid extra to have a balcony overlooking the Riverwalk, it was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryr1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear the Girls Weekend at the Omni La Mansion del Rio was such a success and that your dining experience in Las Canarias was enjoyable as well. We hope to see you again the next time you need a little get-away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
613 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is a historical building located right on the River Walk. I had a balcony with chairs overlooking the River Walk (see picture). It is near several good restaurants and a 10 -15 minute walk from the Convention Center. The rooms are quaint with brick walls and beams -- although a bit small. Very clean! They come with bath robes! The bathroom has ample counter space and a nice flat screen TV. The bed is comfy but has only two king size pillows -- I asked for more. The towels are plush and soft. Be sure to join Omni's Select Guest Program for free pressing and free morning beverages. The room still has a mini bar instead of an empty refrigerator. I had a great view of the River Walk but being only on the second floor you could hear people late at night so either bring ear plugs or ask for a higher floor. There is a Walgreens a 1/2 block away for beverages and other necessities. The gym is sharred with the hotel across the river walk but it is very nice! Will definately stay here again. The staff make you feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Higher floor if overlooking the River Walk if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kes1639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience during your recent stay at the Omni La Mansion del Rio and that our staff made you feel so welcome. Thank you for taking a moment to provide us with your feedback and we looking forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Over all a nice hotel. Very pricey but still a nice hotel. Vallet is expensive but convenient. Rooms are dated but very clean. Right on the river walk. Near tons of restaurants. Small pet friendly. Tons of SA history.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arismendez25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our place in the history of San Antonio and we are happy to hear you were able to experience it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,567 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,729 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#9 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Property: Omni La Mansion del Rio
Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in the city, a historic hotel and Spanish hacienda style hotel, filled with charm & located on the renown River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing