We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,424)
Filter reviews
4,424 results
Traveler rating
2,683
964
431
230
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,683
964
431
230
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivershared balconylas canarias restaurantfrench doorssister propertyostrabeautiful hotelturn down serviceriverwalk viewperfect locationvalet parkingbalcony roomthe san antonio riverwalkhistoric buildingvalet serviceeasy accessfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
3,733 - 3,738 of 4,424 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at La Mansion del Rio over New Years and we loved our stay. We booked a AAA Rio package (which included a riverview, wifi, buffet breakfasts and tickets for the river taxi). We didn't rent a car for this trip, because we planned to keep to the downtown San Antonio tourist sites. If you do some research, you will find that all of the parking in downtown San Antonio is priced at a premium, so we decided to go without. We didn't miss a car for our short trip. For a longer stay, we would definitely have rented a car, because there is much to see in the San Antonio area.
We found the Spanish colonial ambience of La Mansion charming, and exactly what we were looking for. Our room had a king sized bed, full bath, wifi, stocked mini bar and also a second small refrigerator (for whatever we wanted to put in it). It faced the riverwalk (beautifully lit for Christmas) and was lovely. We were on the fifth floor with a shared balcony, and so we were also able to view the fireworks display put on by the city of San Antonio on New Years Eve. It was wonderful to be able to view the fireworks and not have to walk back to the hotel afterward. We were close to the excitement of all the restaurants and clubs further down the riverwalk, but found our room quiet and enjoyed more than enough privacy. From the hotel, we were able to walk to the Alamo, La Villita, and the Tower of the Americas. Directly across the river were some wonderful restaurants. It was also a short trolley ride over to the Mercado. We absolutely had a great time!
For those people who complain, it's true, La Mansion isn't the most modern hotel on the riverwalk, but that's WHY we booked it. I can stay at the Hyatt, or the Holiday Inn or a Motel 6 in most any big city in America (and generally you won't be able to tell what city you're in). La Mansion is unique and has a gracious style and sense of history that you don't find everywhere. It was perfect setting for a romantic trip for two. We will return because we loved everything about this hotel!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cinemenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, General Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

On behalf of our caring associates, I sincerely thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel, and for so eloquently describing La Mansion del Rio. Our mission is to deliver a memorable experience, in one of America's unique cities, by providing attentive, gracious service in a setting that truly represents San Antonio’s Spanish colonial heritage. We certainly are not a “cookie cutter” style hotel, and for that we are immensely proud. We look forward to welcoming you back to the river when plans call for a return to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 riverview side by side rooms (connected by a balcony) for our family of 4. Ideally, the hotel would have a 2 bedroom suite (1 king, 2 dbles), or at least a room with 2 kings or 2 queens. Because it doesn't, our family stay added up to $1k for 2 nights in the rooms. I will say the riverview rooms were beautiful (and very quiet with the drapes closed). The weekend buffet breakfast is amazing!! From the gourmet selections to the layout to the service, it couldn't have been better.
The hotel is very conveniently located, has a fabulous restaurant and excellent service. An improvement in the room options would be the final touch!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whoknewheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that overall you found our rooms beautiful and Las Canarias to be so amazing. Unfortunately our property does not feature one room that includes multiple king and queen beds but we are happy to hear this was not a major hindrance to your stay. We do hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Omni properties are always nice and this is no exception. The location right on the Riverwalk is ideal. Centrally located also to downtown dining and attractions (Alamo, The Market). The staff are overly helpful (this is a good thing) and everyone is so friendly. Rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. I cannot say enough good things about it. Consider this as your base of operation while in SA.

Room Tip: Good to higher floors and I would chose courtyard vs. riverside for more peace.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of La Mansion del Rio and for your loyalty to Omni Hotels & Resorts! We are glad to hear your stay was so enjoyable and we look forward to being your base of operations the next time you visit San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Perfect place on the river it is just across from the start of the restaurants, some say they are on the river but nothing is close to them. The Omni is in the middle of everything. Only thing I would change was speed of elevators, real slow. Great rooms , wonderful staff and valet.

Room Tip: See the Alamo and Missions skip the Ripleys and wax museum.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooper204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

We appreciate your review and are glad to hear you feel the Omni La Mansion del Rio is perfectly located in the middle of everything on the Riverwalk! Given our status as a San Antonio historical landmark, we do understand that our elevators run a little slow and never want this to detract from the stay of our guests as opposed to adding to the charm of our property. We are delighted you found our staff to be wonderful as well and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I shared our 5 year anniversary at the Omni La Mansion del Rio. We reserved the Amor del Rio Package, included breakfast for 2 each morning, wine/chocolates and turn down service, complimentary valet, which is normally $35 a night. We stayed for 2 nights and was upgraded to a private river balcony suite. It truly was a romantic experience..the breakfast was delicious (Huevos Rancheros and the omelet was delish)! The staff was nothing but nice and professional. I also did a 50 minute Swedish massage at a sister location called the Mokara Spa - it is located right across the bridge from La Mansion. The spa was amazing - they treated me like royalty!

The bed was very comfortable - the only complaint I have is that my allergies would act up when we turned on the air. When it got hot in the room we opened the balcony door for the cool air.

We will definitely be staying at La Mansion when we are visiting San Antonio.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 617! Great View!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience celebrating your 5 year anniversary at the Omni La Mansion del Rio and honored that you chose to spend it with us. We do hope to see you for many more special occasions and wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews