We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on the River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Ranked #22 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay on the River”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Perfect place on the river it is just across from the start of the restaurants, some say they are on the river but nothing is close to them. The Omni is in the middle of everything. Only thing I would change was speed of elevators, real slow. Great rooms , wonderful staff and valet.

Room Tip: See the Alamo and Missions skip the Ripleys and wax museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooper204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We appreciate your review and are glad to hear you feel the Omni La Mansion del Rio is perfectly located in the middle of everything on the Riverwalk! Given our status as a San Antonio historical landmark, we do understand that our elevators run a little slow and never want this to detract from the stay of our guests as opposed to adding to the charm of our property. We are delighted you found our staff to be wonderful as well and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,213
    810
    355
    192
    93
See reviews for
817
1,468
78
802
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I shared our 5 year anniversary at the Omni La Mansion del Rio. We reserved the Amor del Rio Package, included breakfast for 2 each morning, wine/chocolates and turn down service, complimentary valet, which is normally $35 a night. We stayed for 2 nights and was upgraded to a private river balcony suite. It truly was a romantic experience..the breakfast was delicious (Huevos Rancheros and the omelet was delish)! The staff was nothing but nice and professional. I also did a 50 minute Swedish massage at a sister location called the Mokara Spa - it is located right across the bridge from La Mansion. The spa was amazing - they treated me like royalty!

The bed was very comfortable - the only complaint I have is that my allergies would act up when we turned on the air. When it got hot in the room we opened the balcony door for the cool air.

We will definitely be staying at La Mansion when we are visiting San Antonio.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 617! Great View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience celebrating your 5 year anniversary at the Omni La Mansion del Rio and honored that you chose to spend it with us. We do hope to see you for many more special occasions and wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited the Omni Mansion del Rio for a three day weekend in mid-December. We were very excited about the trip. Having visited San Antonio several times and always trying to stay at a different hotel, we'd admired the Omni's Spanish mission architecture from a distance and heard lots of comments about it being the most refined and luxurious hotel on the river walk. However, our actual experience betrayed those feelings. In reality, this is a dated hotel (not in a charming way) that could probably stand some remodeling and updating. Despite the colonial Spanish appearance of the exterior, the theme inside the rooms doesn't mesh. Although they make efforts, popcorn ceilings between the weathered wood beams doesn't exactly make you feel like you're in old Santa Fe. This is an admittedly petty observation, but the bigger issue is the price for what you actually get. We stayed in a standard room with a shared balcony that faced Navarro street and was extremely loud late into the night. The room was fairly cramped, with dated accents and appliances, artwork that didn't match the Spanish motif they advertise, and all of it was covered in dust. Although the river front rooms and suites were most likely nicer, they cost upwards of $250/night. In terms of similar price point, what we paid for a standard room at the Omni would have bought a suite with a river view at the newer, hipper, cleaner Hotel Contessa. Although we can say we've stayed at the Omni, I think once will be enough unless they stop resting on their laurels and make some improvements to this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, General Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to serve you over the holidays. We truly appreciate your detailed design observations, and will certainly look to incorporate your suggestions in our upcoming guestroom renovation. As for finding dust in the room, that is something that should never occur here, and we truly apologize. We will refocus our housekeeping efforts to insure we correct that issue immediately.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was nice hotel and it did have great access to the riverwalk and nearby restaurants on the riverwalk. The hotel room was also very cozy. The overall look of the hotel could use some updating. The carpeting in the hallways and around the property was dirty and looks like it needs to be replaced. We only ate Las Canirias one time for breakfast and I would not recommend the buffet. The warm items were cold when we sat down to eat, the eggs were runny, and my husband's bacon was really greasy and overcooked. It was was not worth the $17 cost. I have had much better breakfast buffets. In terms of San Antonio itself I would not recommend a stay in the city for more than two days. The riverwalk was beautiful and the Almo was great but, that is all there is to do in the city. The mall and other recommended shopping areas were extremely disappointing. The city itself needs a major overhaul.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie A, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us with feedback that will give us an opportunity to address your concerns.
We are actually embarking on an improvement project of the building starting with our meeting space and are in a constant state of improving what we see as areas of need. Regarding the carpeting, this information has been shared with our housekeeping staff and we will be adding a stepped up program to address this issue.
All your feedback regarding food and beverage has been forwarded to the Director of Food and Beverage as well as our Executive Chef in order to address the deficiencies.
If plans ever bring you back to San Antonio, please feel free to see any of our concierge staff and I am sure they can make recommendations in San Antonio that might surprise you. We have many attractions that are not so commonly known like the fact that we have other missions in addition to the Alamo that are quite beautiful and worth a visit. We have several museums and local shopping areas that are more in touch with the heritage of San Antonio.
Once again, thank you so much for the valuable feedback, we will take this information and utilize it to help us improve service to our valued guests.
Warm Regards, Lucie Arteaga Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel had one of the best locations on the riverwalk and was close to everything. Walk to Alamo, Mall etc. We were there for Christmas so it was all lit up with dangling Christmas lights and was beautiful at night time. However the hotel itself is okay compared to other Omni's. The elevators stink - there are not very many and they take a long time - they are also used by staff which slows them down. Stairs are incovenient and didnt go all the way down had to get on elevator anyhow. The service was not what I expected for the expensive price tag. They did not clean the room well until I complained. OUr movies weren't working and asked twice for it to be fixed (it never was). They did upgrade up to riverview because we were members however it is extremely noisy on the river side. If you are a light sleeper you dont want one of these rooms. Also forget the first floor rooms there is no privacy. I expected alot more for the pricey per night charge. Would consider a different hotel next time though generally I like Omnis. Breakfast was included with the Riverwalk package and was good. Park across the street - the cost at hotel is $32 much more than the $9 across the street.

Room Tip: do not pick a first floor room no privacy. If you are alight sleeper do not pick a river room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marienjnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us, especially our service falling below your expectations. We do apologize that the inconveniences you experienced were not resolved in a timely manner or to your satisfaction during your stay and we do hope to have the opportunity to show you the hospitality we are known for by having you at our property again. Please reach out to me directly at ddelk@omnihotels.com if there is any way that I can be of more assistance or discuss your recent stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Three couples stayed at this hotel over new years. We are all seasoned travelers and must agree this hotel staff is one of the best ever. It takes special effort to make a great stay for us and this staff did a wonderful and above board job. The hotel location is great and the breakfast at Las Cararias is out of sight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRCZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We always love to hear when we are able to make such an impression on seasoned travelers and appreciate you taking the time to share this with us. We’re glad to hear all the aspects of your stay hit the mark from the level of service you received to your dining experience at La Canarias and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort walton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel over Christmas week. The combination of the Rio package and being Select Guest members made our stay so incredibly easy. The best part (for us) was the included breakfast (as part of the Rio package). We ate at Ostra twice (on a Sunday and Christmas Day) and Las Canirias once. The breakfast buffets at both places were the best we have ever had. The service at both places was also beyond anything we have ever experienced.

The location is fantastic - you're literally on the Riverwalk. The room was smallish (which we expected) but very nice. Service was outstanding. Every staff member went out of their way to make sure our stay was great.

That being said, there were a few very minor glitches. Our room keys didn't work to get us into the gym at the Mokara one day and it was somewhat embarrassing to go get help as we were in messy workout clothes. Also, our Select Guest beverages never arrived on Christmas Day. We let it go because it was our checkout day and it was Christmas so we didn't want to call attention to something so minor. We were also in a rush to get to our next destination. Lastly, valet service was excellent but at times a little slow. The only other issue was the lack of a gift shop. Not a big thing but it would have been nice to have - especially to do some last minute Christmas shopping. If there was a gift shop, we never saw it. Perhaps we missed it?

Other than that, you simply can't go wrong with this hotel. Our other Omni stay was two years ago at an Omni in DC and this was comparable. We'll definitely continue to seek out this chain when we travel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disneyprofmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review and we are very pleased to hear that overall your stay was so enjoyable. We do regret the glitches you encountered during your stay but are glad to hear it did not detract from your overall experience. Our hotel does have a gift shop, Morsel's, that sells sundries and other small items that travelers may have forgotten but it might not have offered quite the selection of gifts you were looking for to finish up that last minute Christmas shopping. We are also pleased you were able to experience the multiple dining options that we offer and that you enjoyed them each so much. We are definitely excited to hear that you will continue to seek out Omni Hotels based on your recent stay at the Omni La Mansion del Rio and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,456 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 355 in San Antonio
2,957 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Property: Omni La Mansion del Rio
Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in the city, a historic hotel and Spanish hacienda style hotel, filled with charm & located on the renown River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing