We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but not very handicap accessible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Ranked #19 of 359 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but not very handicap accessible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is an older, historic building. The hotel is lovely, the staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable and immaculate. However, if you have a physical handicap you might think about choosing another hotel. We traveled with my mother, who is in a walker. To get from the lobby to the elevator, without having to go up any steps, you have to go out through the garage. The elevator does not go all the way down to the Riverwalk, so you have to either go down the stairs, or go out the front of the hotel, go around the block, cross the river and go down the elevator on the other side. There were also stairs to get to the restaurant. Then the buffet was outside on the patio, so to get to it, there was one short flight of stairs going up and another one coming down. while I would certainly recommend this hotel generally, I would not recommend it to anyone who is in a wheelchair, walker, or has other mobility issues.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter, than either the street or the Riverwalk sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. The La Mansion is an older historic hotel so while we always work to provide a level of comfort and accessibility for all of our guests, we do still have opportunities. We're glad the other aspects of your stay were pleasant and hope that overall you enjoyed your time in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,798
    682
    279
    150
    78
See reviews for
638
1,197
68
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We had a few great days at this hotel, the locations can't be beat lots of restaurants around and many places to stop and have a couple drinks. Very nice time, I would recommend it.
You just go out the back doors down a few steps and you are right on the Riverwalk

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review...we're glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location so optimal and appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at Omni La Mansion for the San Antonio Marathon. Even though we paid more due to the race weekend prices, our experience was just as pleasant as our first visit. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. The room faced the street, but we were not disturbed by traffic sounds. The blackout curtains used are great for a wonderful night's rest! If you don't want to pay the valet prices, you can park across the street in the parking garage. Would recommend this hotel for a special occasion.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room opposite of the Riverwalk or on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seeomara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We look forward to seeing you again for the next San Antonio Marathon or anytime you are in the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, CT
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here last Christmas and frankly, I didn't enjoy it very much because our room, like many, had a balcony that ran the length of the wing. That meant people walking by and no privacy unless we closed the drapes....bye bye view, hello cave-dark "ambiance". This time we asked for a room with a private balcony. They do exist but there aren't many. We wound up on the pool side, not the river side. It was a much better stay: more private, a pleasant view, and not loud. Of course, the decor was still lots and lots of dark brown and the sheers were still darker than most sheers. Hope that will change soon. We dined again at Las Canarias and it was quite good, even better than last year. Try the romaine salad (actually a crosswise slice of the head of romaine) wrapped in prosciutto....tasty and creative. They also had Conundrum wine on their list, one of my favs. One thing that was the same as our last visit was the very very nice staff. Now I'm looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 613 was especially nice because of its private balcony. It's not on the river but the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2peripatetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniHotelsManager, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for giving us a second try and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your feedback of La Canarias as well. We're proud of our #1 restaurant ranking in San Antonio according to Trip Advisor and are happy to hear you had a great experience at both La Mansion and La Canarias. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is my second stay at the Omni and once again I'm impressed. The rooms are really spacious. The beds are one of the most comfortable I've slept in. The only thing I don't like is that the beds are short sheeted. The staff is really courteous and attentive...even the valets. As I said in the title, it's not cheap...but if you have the extra funds, it's worth the stay. I would suggest using a package deal in order to get more bang for your buck.

Room Tip: They offer Riverwalk view...if you are light sleeper, ask for another room as there are bands that p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mykewll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniHotelsManager, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review...We're very happy to hear the staff was courteous and attentive during your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODBRIDGE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Came back to San Antonio for a wedding. Stayed at Omni again, this time for a wedding. Our four day stay was unexpectedly extended two days because of Hurricane Sandy. The hotel staff was so accomodating. Each day they willingly extended our reservation with no problem, and at the lesser expensive wedding rate. Absolutely this the perfect place to be "marooned" during an eastern hurricane.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtpete2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've stayed at Omnis around the country (it's a preferred chain for my company), and this one is by far my favorite! The location is ideal - walking distance to the Riverwalk and the required San Antonio sights (Alamo, etc.) but a couple blocks off the river so it's peaceful and not too noisy. The service is spectacular. On my second night, I returned from dinner to find my bed turned down and a little basket of worry dolls on my pillow. Register for the Omni Select Guest program right away - there's no fee and membership gets you free in-room internet access and a complimentary beverage delivered to your room each morning.

Room Tip: Ask about proximity to the pool, which is in a central courtyard. I had a room overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,606 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,760 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Property: Omni La Mansion del Rio
Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in the city, a historic hotel and Spanish hacienda style hotel, filled with charm & located on the renown River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing