We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Mansion del Rio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Ranked #18 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
WOODBRIDGE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Return trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Came back to San Antonio for a wedding. Stayed at Omni again, this time for a wedding. Our four day stay was unexpectedly extended two days because of Hurricane Sandy. The hotel staff was so accomodating. Each day they willingly extended our reservation with no problem, and at the lesser expensive wedding rate. Absolutely this the perfect place to be "marooned" during an eastern hurricane.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtpete2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,694
    651
    271
    144
    77
See reviews for
612
1,135
68
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've stayed at Omnis around the country (it's a preferred chain for my company), and this one is by far my favorite! The location is ideal - walking distance to the Riverwalk and the required San Antonio sights (Alamo, etc.) but a couple blocks off the river so it's peaceful and not too noisy. The service is spectacular. On my second night, I returned from dinner to find my bed turned down and a little basket of worry dolls on my pillow. Register for the Omni Select Guest program right away - there's no fee and membership gets you free in-room internet access and a complimentary beverage delivered to your room each morning.

Room Tip: Ask about proximity to the pool, which is in a central courtyard. I had a room overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The front desk staff was great and we were able to get into our room. The rooms are quaint (small) but ok - not the nicest you will stay in but many of the Omni's have that old world charm. The not so good part of the visit is that we waited 2 hours for our food to be served in the bar. We ordered appetizers - it was sad to watch this unfold. Overall, it was a good stay but I do not know that I would go back. One other note, the elevator is the slowest. If you are someone who does not care for slow elevators - do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mardi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, General Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. As a historic property whose history is rooted in St. Mary's Catholic School, our building features many different room types, sizes and views. We also have seven elevators located around the campus layout of the building. While they are not the highest of high speed elevators, the building is only six stories, so elevator wait times are not usually an issue. As for the bar service, I will personally share your comments with our team. Two hours for food in the bar is not our standard, and something we will definitely address.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future and show we are capable of far better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once checked in, we arrived to a room much larger than expected (with a balcony). The service was exceptional during the entire time of our stay. Also, the restaurant downstairs was delicious for dinner and breakfast the next day!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxanadalila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Needed a room after my husband had surgery in San Antonio, the Omni was right across the street from the hospital and was the perfect refuge. Even though my stay was short, everything was perfect for a good night's rest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, General Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for letting us be your "port in the storm". We hope the surgery went well and your husband is well on his way to a full recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Loved the rooms and location of this hotel. Probably the most comfortable bed and pillows you will find anywhere! My wife and I both noticed that the first night. Right on river walk with many restaurants to choose from - Joe's Crab Shack, Rainforest Cafe, Lone Star Steakhouse, and lots of others. Walking distance to the conference center. Very accommodating staff too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATL-RES-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently had a (5) night stay at this hotel for a conference. I arrived on a Sunday and was greeted by a very nice front desk clerk. He gave me a room overlooking the River Front on the third floor. Upon entering the room I discovered the room was a bit on the small side, but quaint. There was a balcony overlooking the River Front, but it was a shared balcony with other rooms. I had to make sure the door and shades were always closed

The bed was very comfortable, and I slept very well all nights. When using the sink in the bathroom the water backed up and would not drain properly. Within 10 minutes, a maintenance person arrived to fix the problem, and he was very courteous. The conference facilities were good and the staff always attentative to everyones needs and requests.

The River Front was nice with a good array of restaurants, and shops. Its a nice walk in the morning and evenings. The food was "just ok." I have had better Mexican food this was not so good. The restaurant in the hotel was very good but pricey, along with the food served at the conference.

I would return to the hotel should I travel to the San Antonio area in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericm315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,532 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,694 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#9 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,361 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
#8 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Property: Omni La Mansion del Rio
Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in the city, a historic hotel and Spanish hacienda style hotel, filled with charm & located on the renown River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing