We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that we hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Ranked #21 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I know this review is a little late in coming. We stayed at La Mansion between Christmas and New Year's for our 30th anniversary. I like historic hotels and we wanted to see the lights on the River Walk. Everything was perfect. I had read some of the reviews that stated River Walk rooms had trees that blocked their view so when I made the reservation I requested that it be an unobstructed view and let them know it was our anniversary. We got exactly what we wanted. We also booked a package that included valet parking, breakfast, and a river tour.

It is right on the River Walk and we were there during a holiday so we expected it to be noisey but it wasn't so noisey that is bothered us. We checked-out the day of the Alamo bowl so during our stay at any moment one of the college bands or Pep squads could break out in a song or cheer right across or under our balcony. All of this actually enhanced our experience and while I know the hotel didn't put this on just for us if you want a exceptionally quiet place this is not for you. We however loved it all!

Because it rained one day of our stay we decided to try out the restaurant/bar for lunch. We enjoyed it and would definitely eat there again.

Service everywhere was excellent.

Thank you La Mansion del Rio

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,485 - 3,491 of 3,910 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in May, being only our second experience in an Omni Hotel. We absolutely love the 'Omni' experience. Their service seems to be far more superior than any other hotel chain we have experienced based on our two stays. We had requested a riverfront room with a private balcony and were lucky enough to receive our requested room. It was absolutely beautiful! Such a pretty place and a perfect position sitting on our balcony overlooking the river. It is in a perfect location to walk to everything in San Antonio. The buffet breakfast downstairs was also amazing. Everything was so fresh and beautifully presented. Fresh omelettes/eggs made while you wait. Well worth it. We also received a bottle of champagne and a card personally signed by the staff wishing us a happy 30th Anniversary on our first night which was a total surprise. Another nice touch was the box of 'worry dolls' left on the bedside table. I have attached a photo. Such a novel thing to do!
The only thing I would point out if you are a select guest member and ordering the free morning beverage to read the form carefully. We had just stayed at the Omni Austin Downtown for 3 nights and they entitle you to 2 beverages, so we had been ordering coffee and orange juice. I assumed that all Omni's would be the same so I didn't read the small print on the La Mansion form which only allows you one free beverage, so I was charged $12 for two small orange juices. I had assumed they were free based on our previous hotel stay.
Overall a beautiful hotel and very enjoyable stay. Friendly staff. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Riverfront room with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbeggs81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Thank you for the great review of the hotel. We are always glad when someone chooses to spend an important night with us, be it a wedding, anniversary or any other special occasion. And while there are many hotels with a great building and a great location, what we feel truly sets both La Mansion as well as the other Omni Hotels apart is the level of service that you will receive. We know that this is what truly makes a stay special, and are glad to hear it came through in your case. Thank you for choosing the Omni again, and we hope to see you whenever you return to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

These superior properties distinguish themselves with a high level of service and hospitality, as well as a wide variety of amenities and upscale facilities. A well-integrated design, stylized room decor, excellent restaurant facilities, and landscaped grounds are all present. The comfort and convenience of the guest is the staff's prevailing concern.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at the Omni La Mansion del Rio over Memorial Day weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We got a great rate on a riverview room, and had a room on the 6th (top) floor with a balcony. The balcony was shared with two other rooms and only had three chairs (which weren't very comfortable), but we enjoyed watching the activity on the Riverwalk below us. Everyone that worked at the hotel was very helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed our breakfast two of the three mornings in Las Canarias (got a light breakfast at their coffee bar the third morning). We hung out by the courtyard pool Saturday and Sunday afternoons, and even though it was the busy holiday weekend, there were always chairs available (although the lounge chairs were a little harder to come by). The pool could have used a good skimming, but otherwise was a nice relief during a very hot weekend. Our only complaint was that the hotel hallways and our room had a musty smell, but we quickly got used to that once in our room. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The air conditioner in the room could have done a better job of keeping the humidity out of the room. We had a great stay and will definitely be back! (P.S. Make sure you sign up for their Select Guest program even if you're a first time visitor. And park across the street for $8/day instead of at the hotel for $32/day.)

Room Tip: Get a riverview room to avoid a view of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandini0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Thank you very much for letting us know about your great stay with us here at Omni La Mansion Del Rio! We are glad to hear your stay went great, and look forward to having you join us again soon! I have passed along your note regarding the pool to the rest of our executive team. We do keep an eye on this, but sometimes our trees and plants poolside like to drop their leaves all at once. We hope you are able to come back and visit us again whenever you return to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

A wonderful stay in a wonderful, spacious room with a caring, professional staff! Our first trip to San Antonio, and loved every minute of our stay at this beautiful property! Can't say enough good about it! Great service! Loved the River Walk area. Stayed in a room overlooking the pool courtyard; very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parker68048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

I am not sure if we could have found a better hotel for our vacation! Everything about the Omni la mansion exceeded our expectations in every way. The service was great, location was perfect directly on the riverwalk, and certainly the cleanest. We haven't had to move our vehicle once, were able to walk to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chase47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at the Omni. If you want to experience an authentic "Old World Mexican" feel, then this is the place for you. The hotel used to be a college and law school and then was transformed into a hotel. They did a magnificent job of joining the old architecture with the modern conveniences every traveler wants. Here are a few things I'd like to share:

1. Every day there is a complimentary refreshing drink in the lobby.

2. From the terra cotta tile floors in the lobby area, walkways, and balconies to the furniture and decor of the rooms, and the beautifully landscaped courtyard areas - this hotel is spectacular. I loved the wooden beams and exposed brick in the room.

3. Loved the ceramic coffee mugs in the room. Much classier than styrofoam cups!

4. On Saturday night there was a Mariachi band playing in the courtyard by the pool.

5. This location couldn't be better. Everything was within walking distance of the hotel and the majority of the restaurants on the River Walk were right near the hotel.

I had requested a courtyard view and not a street view. My only regret is that we didn't pay the extra money to stay in a room on the riverwalk. Next time we will!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank karenofpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

Thank you very much for the great review of your stay at the hotel! We work very hard to ensure that we keep the historical feel of the hotel, while still having all of the items that you can expect from a Luxury Hotel. The Riverwalk is a great location for many different restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing, and we are glad you found a great home during your time here. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,112 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,238 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,133 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $203 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Mansión del Rio is ideally nestled along the historic River Walk in downtown San Antonio. Perfectly situated, you can easily explore all of San Antonio’s extensive range of tourist attractions. Located within easy walking distance to the fabled Alamo, El Mercado, La Villita Arts District, Spanish Governor’s Palace, San Antonio Convention Center and most other well-known landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing