We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, but they sure put the squeeze on you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Ranked #20 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Haven, Conn.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great property, but they sure put the squeeze on you.”
Reviewed February 10, 2010

PLEASE NOTE: THIS REVIEW WAS ORIGINALLY POSTED UNDER "HYATT PLACE IN SAN ANTONIO." I HAVE ASKED FOR THAT REVIEW TO BE REMOVED.

I'll give the Hyatt Regency San Antonio credit where credit is due: It's an impressive property in an excellent location. It boasts a soaring atrium and attractive, clean rooms. But what a rip-off!

If I'm paying $219 a night for the most basic room, I do not expect to be nickle-and-dimed. I thought they were joking when I found out about the $10-a-day charge for wireless access. And that bottle of water in my room cost $5 -- not $1 or even $2, which would have been reasonable, but $5 -- more than a gallon of gasoline costs.

I stayed recently at $25-a-night hotels in the remote highlands of Vietnam that offered free wireless, even though it was doubtless much more expensive to provide. And they could have extorted us for water, since the stuff that comes out of the tap is practically poison. But they didn't.

I suppose I shouldn't be bothered by this because, like many of the Hyatt Regency SA's guests, I stayed there on the corporate dime. But for some reason it aggravated me all that much more that they were trying to squeeze me for every possible penny of my company's money.

There are lots of hotels in San Antonio within a block or so of the Alamo and Riverwalk, and many of them deliver far more charm than the Hyatt Regency without treating their guests like human milch cows. I would strongly recommend looking into them.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,616
    871
    298
    107
    65
See reviews for
610
717
63
1,241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Conn.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I'll give the Hyatt Regency San Antonio credit where credit is due: It's an impressive property in an excellent location. It boasts a soaring atrium and attractive, clean rooms. But what a rip-off!

If I'm paying $219 a night for the most basic room, I do not expect to be nickle-and-dimed to death. I thought they were joking when I asked about wireless access and they told me about the $10 a day charge. And that bottle of water waiting for you in my room cost $5.

I stayed recently at $25-a-night hotels in the remote highlands of Vietnam where wireless was free, even though it was doubtless much more expensive to provide. And they could have extorted us for water, since the stuff that comes out of the tap is practically poison. But they didn't.

I suppose I shouldn't be bothered by this because, like many of the Hyatt Regency SA's guests, I stayed there on the corporate dime. But for some reason it aggravated me all that much more that they were trying to squeeze me for every possible penny of my company's money.

There are lots of hotels in San Antonio within a block or so of the Alamo and Riverwalk, and many of them deliver far more charm than the Hyatt Regency without treating their guests like human milch cows. I would strongly recommend looking into them.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I came to attend a student convention with 22 high school kids. My students were obviously NOT welcomed in the hotel and the check in services were grossly understaffed and ill planned.I agree that the location is in the heart of downtown and therefore convenient, however, we were booked for triple and quadruple occupancy and given rooms with only one bed. Finally received blowup mattresses late in the evening. Always in the past, blocks of rooms were assigned to keep students in close proximity to one another and their sponsors. This hotel put our group on 3 different floors. Students were held on the bus & not allowed inside until the sponsors could hand them a key to go directly to their rooms. I was traveling with high school students. On departure, we were told to have students wait in 1 of three ballrooms, not in the Lobby, or outside while completing checkout. Their system went down and I was told I would receive an itemized bill by that afternoon - 2 days later I still have received nothing. Only after exerting significant complaints did I receive a small ($20/night) break on the room prices since our reservation (sent in November for a January occupancy) was not appropriately filled. Do NOT bring a group of young people to this hotel!!! Our group was complimented many times by the military personnel who were staying at the hotel the same weekend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestTexasIronlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Very nice atrium style hotel with a rooftop pool(!!) and very nice rooms. The location is the best on the River Walk. (Part of the river goes inside the hotel)

Nothing comes close to how easy it is to walk to restaurants and the best pub right next door. Breakfast was way over priced in my opinion, but whatever... if I'm in San Antonio again, I will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Hotel was a bit overpriced for the value. The coffee shop had weird hours; the lobby gets congested; the beds are VERY firm; and you really need to request a river or Alamo view because if you don't you'll be looking at rooftops with trash all over them; the pool is very small, also. However, the location is Fantastic - right on the Riverwalk and very close to downtown and the Alamo, and the rooms were clean and well-maintained. Needless to say, we won't be staying here again should we come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKB983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel with glass elevators and large rooms with beautiful views of either Alamo or Riverwalk. Lots of fountains and sound of running water is very relaxing. Hotel staff was pleasant. Rooms were large and comfortable. Beds were perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColIndianaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

My sister and I stayed for four nights - this was our annual holiday get-away trip together. The hotel staff were some of the best we have ever encountered. They went out of their way to get answers for us and were all very nice. The location was terrific - we had a room with a view of the river and then down the hallway we could peek out and see a view of The Alamo. We were close to everything in the River Walk area. Food in the hotel was excellent, plus there was a plethora of restaurants within walking distance right on the river. The view from the rooftop pool was amazing and for a summer trip would be great for relaxing and swimming. A tip for older travelers, be prepared to traverse stairs as they are everywhere.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSister75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
2,800 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#21 of 355 in San Antonio
3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Property: Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Address: 123 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2688
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#34 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 629
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of the Riverwalk at Hyatt Regency San Antonio. We are the only San Antonio Riverwalk hotel directly overlooking the historic Alamo and on the Riverwalk, connecting two of San Antonio's top destinations through our 16 story atrium lobby. Be the center of our attention while you are in the center of the action taking advantage of our unequaled location in the heart of dining and entertainment venues surrounding our Riverwalk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing