We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Antonio September 8-11 2005”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Ranked #17 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 11, 2005

We got lucky and found a code ( on trip advisor) for a cheap rate at The Hyatt on The Riverwalk...we had a great location for doing the tourist things in that particular area. King Riverview Room at 189.00 per night
The hotel was very nice and the friendliest staff we have encountered anywhere.
The Chaps restaurant in the hotel has pretty good food but the prices are not "inexpensive".
We had dinner one night at The Little Rhein Steak House and the food was very good. ..expensive.
The Jazz at The Landing is wonderful...right inside The Hyatt
the restaurants on The Riverwalk were all very busy after 7:30PM so get there early or expect to wait. The steak house took a reservation for our group(5)
The barge ride was a nice way to see the riverwalk and then have some idea of what you'd like to see further
The LaVillita area is quaint but not very spectacular
The Alamo is a must see and try to watch the free movie...history lesson...
The shops around The Alamo are nice and The RiverCenter Mall is in a nice setting but it is after all "only another mall".
All in all we enjoyed our stay in San Antonio and will return...
One major thought: if you have any walking limitations this Riverwalk area may not be for you...the surfaces are very uneven, the pathway is narrow and the amount of steps and stairs is something to consider.

13  Thank jtamchay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,147 - 3,153 of 3,268 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2005

The Hyatt was a nice hotel located on the riverwalk. It was located close to the Alamo and Ripley's and the wax museum. The lobby was nice, the room was nice, and the staff was friendly. Thanks to the reviews I read on tripadvisor I learned about the discount code and got the room for a much better rate than was offered anywhere else. Even Hyatt didn't tell me about this discount code and seemed surprised that I had a discount code. The riverwalk wasn't what I expected. It was dirty smelly water with nothing but restaurants and bars on both sides. The parking garage across the street from the hotel was $16 per day but the garage just around the corner was much cheaper.

Stayed: August 2005
5  Thank thetripman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2005

I checked into this hotel after a horrible experience at the St. Anthony-A Wyndham Historic Hotel (see my review there). As bad as my experience was at the Wyndham, the Hyatt was a wonderful haven. The service from the moment I walked through the door was very attentive. I had a spacious king overlooking the alamo. The large foyer area was tiled and contained the closet and bathroom to the left. The bathroom had a granite sink top. The bed was stylish and comfortably soft. There was also a large desk and a leather chair with ottoman and side table. The bed area was carpeted. All of the furnishings were new.

I had a problem with my television remote and a new one was brought to me within 10 minutes. Also, I had a fax and the bellman retrieved it from the front desk and brought it up to me. The back of the hotel opens to the riverwalk so it is full of activity at all hours and feels very safe.

The most inconvenient aspect of the hotel is that the self-parking is across the street and costs $16. Evern with this, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank angeldiva72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2005

Spent Saturday night here. This place was absolutely wonderful! The rooms are without a doubt.......clean, cozy, modern.....super! I can't say one wrong thing about this place at all. We didn't swim in the pool which was on the rooftop and the pool is more like a small pool you would find on a carnival ship. We ate Sunday breakfast here that had a buffet.....they made omelets, crepes, eggs, benedict, anything you could wish for a breakfast....price was 15.00 for that. On this particular day....they had all the fountains drained........they really are beautiful though. I would be willing to stay here everytime.....it's so conveinent to the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall, horse carriage riding at nights, wax museums, restaurants....loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank clairelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2005

My stay at the Hyatt was completely satisfactory. I was allowed to check in very early, and moved immediately (upon request) away from the dreaded room near the ice machine. My room was good-sized and beautifully furnished. One hint: Unless you need them, don't book two double beds. The king rooms have better space and an ottoman to go with the lovely leather chair. Another hint: Ask for a room with an external window, rather than a view of the atrium.

The bathroom was well laid-out with all the usual amenities. The closet had real hangers (thank you!) and adequate space.

Two room service meals and one meal in the Chaps restaurant were very good. All of our conference refreshments were excellent, too--nice selection of fruit, good coffee, muffins, etc. All in all, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
115
Reviewed July 9, 2005

Just recently visited San Antonio and had a BLAST! I checked other reviews and found a discount code-SAVEWS. The room price went from $169 per night to $99 per night.

This is a very nice hotel that's centrally located. Everything is in walking distance including the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall, the Riverwalk and gift shops. You have no need for a car, so save gas by walking.

I have checked the site since returning and the above mentioned code is now listed as $139 per night which is still better than $169.
Check in and check out was slow, but manageable. Valets were extra busy and we had to wait for our vehicle as it was on a first come first serve check out basis. The elevators were slow, but I think it was mainly because a lot of people were checking out at the same time.

No other problems. Rooms/bathrooms were clean. Be sure not to touch the mini bar as it is sensored and will charge you if you move anything. It doesnt matter if its eaten or not, so hands off to avoid the charge. CASA RIO's is a good place for authentic mexican food, but make reservations because they fill up quickly. Enjoy your trip!

Stayed: July 2005
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2005

This is a great hotel in a great location, right on the riverwalk, steps away from the Alamo.
Parking can get a little messy. If you choose self-parking ($ 16), go park across the street even before checking in.
Well-furnished rooms. Great work-out facility. Very happy with the discounted price ($ 99).

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank attractiveprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,082 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#22 of 357 in San Antonio
3,611 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,323 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 357 in San Antonio
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Address: 123 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2688
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#30 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $174 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of the Riverwalk at Hyatt Regency San Antonio. We are the only San Antonio Riverwalk hotel directly overlooking the historic Alamo and on the Riverwalk, connecting two of San Antonio's top destinations through our 16 story atrium lobby. Be the center of our attention while you are in the center of the action taking advantage of our unequaled location in the heart of dining and entertainment venues surrounding our Riverwalk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing