We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Ranked #20 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 14, 2008

I really liked this property. I travel extensively and it's been quite some time since I've encountered a staff as helpful, courteous, and friendly as the people at this hotel. Someone is doing a good job of ingraining a consistent culture of customer service. I believe the hotel was recently renovated, but to me everything seemed a bit 70ish in look and feel (walls, furniture, bed, TV, etc.). Not ugly, just a bit dated. I also thought the bath towels were kind of worn. That said, the place was clean and the room was quiet, comfortable, and spacious. You absolutely cannot beat the location. The Alamo is about 100 yards directly outside the front door of the hotel (some rooms overlook it), and the riverwalk is directly outside the back doors of the hotel. The Riverwalk is a blast with great food, shopping, and entertainment. I'd definitely recommend this property. Superior staff and location.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank cinncitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,114)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency San Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,936 - 2,942 of 3,115 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2008

We picked the Hyatt Regency Riverwalk because it had a great on-line price, compared to the other possibile choices (Marriotts, Westin, Contessa, etc.) .

Plusses: Great location
Large Room
Very nice staff

Minuses: The bed was not comfortable. Compared to the Marriott and Westin beds, it was hard and not cushioned at all. The sheets seemed starched (they made noise when they moved). This alone would keep me from staying here (or any other Hyatt) again.

The shower was hot and strong, but not adjustable in any way. If you don't like a pins and needles type shower stream, you wouldn't like this shower.

Not enough accessible outlets. To charge phone, camera and Blackberry, needed to use the outlets in the bathroom.

No free WiFi anywhere in the hotel. Most of the big hotels charge for WiFi in the rooms, but the lobby is usually free.

Other comments: The hotel has no real lobby. In the registration desk area, there are a few chairs, and across the atrium, there is a bar and a restaurant, but no place to just sit and lounge. The entire atrium area is too square and too much concrete (70s design, I guess). We walked through some of the other local hotels and liked the Westin lobby best (more intimate and upscale).

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sf7307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

I stayed here recently on business. It is a beautiful property with a lovely atrium that is nice to sit and relax in. It seems to be on a great area of the riverwalk, though I didn't spend a lot of time there. Additionally, it is right across the street from the alamo, which would really appeal to tourists.

For business, I would just say it is okay. The thing that bothered me most was the poor wireless. I understand that the thing to do is charge an additioanl $10 a day for wireless. I don't like this, but I get it. if you are going to charge, however, you should at least provide a decent product! I stayed on the seventh floor and the signal was so poor I couldn't even mainstream music, let alone the videos I needed to review for work! Even after the hotel gave me some sort of "booster," it was subpar. Still couldn't mainstream, but at least I didn't get bumped off. Additionally, you have to BUY a "special additional wireless" in addition to the regular wireless to gain any access in the conference rooms. This is ridiculous!

The room was decent. The carpet was strange and the television was cheap and small. the best thing for sure was the floor to ceiling window! loved that. Made it easier to stay in my room for several hours working. The bedding left something to be desired, though. The sheets were a bit ratty.

Room service was great. Not too expensive and very good. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The valet (though expensive) was great. One gentleman even ran back to my car to get my sunglasses I had forgotten. I just mentioned I would go to my car and he wouldn't hear of it! very kind.

My last complaint is the lack of coffee available during the day and evening. I don't really like to pay $10 for room service coffee when I am not ordering food, so I inquired where I might get some coffee in the building. Apparently, I could only get it at the bar. That's fine. I went to the lobby bar and was told they don't brew coffee after 5pm. are you serious? they offered to make me a latte. It was honestly the worst latte I have ever drank! Oh well.

Overall, great property. They just need to work on some of the amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dcm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

This hotel is fairly new and is really beautiful inside. It is a bit difficult to find if you are not familiar with the area. The hotel bar is very pleasant and also turns into a coffee bar in the mornings. The service and rooms are average. I was disappointed that they did not upgrade my room even though the hotel wasn't that busy. As a Hyatt member, they normally do that when there are rooms availiable. I would recommend the Marriott over the Hyatt in this city.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Loved the Hyatt Regency San Antonio. From the wonderful location - on the Riverwalk and right across from the Alamo - to the Comfortable Beds - everything was great. Try the great eggs benedict for breakfast in the restaurant.

Great Shower and Plenty of Hot Water & Good Water Pressure.

If you want to save money and buy your wine or make drinks in your room, thefre is a liquor store right on the corner about a 1/2 block away...

Valets, front desk staff and restaurant staff were friendly and efficient.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for your trip to San Antonio

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

Business meeting for 3 days.
Room ok but showing age.
Mold in shower area walls.
Lobby was nice and great location.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scubapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

Located right in the middle of the "river's bend" on the river walk, it is well positioned for a lot of fun. The rooms' motif is very classy and contemporary and the service is above par. My wife and I really enjoyed the hotel top to bottom. This Hyatt is a terrific vacation spot for the family or a couples get away.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank thickoozymud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,094 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,220 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,454 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Address: 123 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2688
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#34 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $186 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 629
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of the Riverwalk at Hyatt Regency San Antonio. We are the only San Antonio Riverwalk hotel directly overlooking the historic Alamo and on the Riverwalk, connecting two of San Antonio's top destinations through our 16 story atrium lobby. Be the center of our attention while you are in the center of the action taking advantage of our unequaled location in the heart of dining and entertainment venues surrounding our Riverwalk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing