We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Central Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Ranked #20 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grand Central Station”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The hotel is in a great location for staying on the Riverwalk, but it is very, very busy. The Alamo is about a block away and people used the hotel lobby as a pass through to get to the Riverwalk. We were there the weekend after Thanksgiving and the lobby stayed full of non-guest tourists who thought it was a great place to hang out. Our room was an interior room with windows looking out into the atrium lobby and into rooms on the other side of the lobby. We had to keep our drapes closed the entire time for privacy. Our room was nice and very spacious. The staff was courteous and helpful. We had to pay $25 per day to self-park our car in the garage across the street. Our experience wasn't bad, but I don't think we'll stay there again. It's just too busy.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,616
    871
    298
    107
    65
See reviews for
610
717
63
1,241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We spent two nights in San Antonio and picked this hotel. It was a great location, the hotel was right on the riverwalk, you couldn't get any closer. The mall was within walking distance via riverwalk or the road, the Alamo was across the street and many restaurants near by. The room was comfortable and a reasonable size. I attempted to check-in at 2:30pm but had to wait till 3:30pm before my room was ready. We were on the 10th floor with a view of the riverwalk so the wait was worth it. The hotel also had a great lobby with stores, coffee shop, bakery, etc.
My own "issue" with the hotel was they didn't seem to care about all the homeless people in the lobby area. San Antonio was very cold, 26F (-3c) which is why I think the homeless started entering the hotel. There was six homeless people inside when I came in after supper at 8pm. They seemed harmless and didn't bother anyone, but the idea of having a bunch of homeless people in your hotel lobby isn't welcoming. I'm sure this was a one off because of the weather.
I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a high room overlooking the river walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilotboy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This hotel tends to be on the busy side (although all Regencys and Grands tend to be) but it is a good location and quite nice place to stay. They have remodeled since my last visit and the room and lobby are much more pleasant. In addition, the 24 hour Eistein's is good for early flights out and the Q restaurant is quite good--at least much better than the typical fake British pubs and Mexican places that line the Riverwalk.

It is close to the Alamo and right on the Riverwalk for the tourist types as well.

I did end up with an interior room (although with a patio) which I hate, but it was crowded and my reservation was very last minute (like 15 minutes before arriving). Still, the atrium lobby made this not so bad. The room was a little on the warm side and the AC didn't seem to want to work, so I couldn't open a window, but all in all the stay was nice. The room was spacious, the desk was one at which one could actually work and there was a reasonable access to plugs in the desk.

Good choice for a business traveler or tourist

Room Tip: Try to get an exterior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatworthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Let's start with the good parts of this hotel and there are many! Great location. Right on the riverwalk. Close to restaurants, bars and the fun. The staff is outstanding. They are nice, polite, helpful and friendly. Loved them. The rooms are spacious.

The bad, if your room is on the interior be SURE you pull your draqpes while in the room. People who are looking out their windows, in the glass elevator or in the lobby bar are looking in your windows. You wouldn't believe the things we saw.

The ugly...The noise. It was terrible. We had friends on a different floor who dealt with teenagers slamming doors and yelling all night long. The staff did get them to quiet down after midnight the rest of the time the were there but the first night was awful. We stayed for 4 nights. Most people had checked out prior to our last night. But at 7:30 AM the construction began on the room above us. It sounded as if they were tearing out the floor. They should have planned better and put us in a different part of the hotel as the last night we were there there were very few guests. It was very poor planning and very loud!!!

All in alI would stay here again. The staff was just that excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room thaqt looks out aqt the street. You won't ahve to deal with people watching you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The Hyatt Regency Riverwalk is definitely a busy place. Nicely done with good staff services I think it fits the bill if you want to be in the middle of everything. I found it too busy and way to loud to truly enjoy a weekend away with my wife. It was so busy it felt impersonal and the cost was more than I expected. Additionally, I think charging $25 per night to self-park is ridiculous! To each his own..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tex42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My wife and I wanted to take our special-needs grand daughter to the San Antonio riverwalk to spend a few days just after Thanksgiving.
Upon arrival, we were met by front desk agent : Jose Rosales. We would like to say that Mr Rosales was the MOST polite and helpful agent that we have had the pleasure to meet, in a very long time.
We appreciated his genuine concern for making our stay a pleasant visit.
The hotel was nice and we had no issues at all.
Bruce and Marty Johns.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Bruce and Marty,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent trip. We are happy to hear that you all enjoyed Thanksgiving with us. We will pass your kind words on to Jose. We hope to see your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My family and I just stayed 2 nights over the Thanksgiving weekend here for a family getaway. I am very picky about the cleanliness and comfort of a hotel but the Hyatt Regency gets 5 stars in my book. We normally stay at the Hilton Palacio Del Rio but thought we'd try something new and I'm glad we did. The rooms were super clean and you cannot beat the location. We were staying with our two young children and the location was great because when you walk out on river level you are right in the thick of everything.This makes coming and going with kids easier because you are never too far from the hotel.The interior of the hotel is beautiful with the Riverwalk running through the hotel lobby and the fountains are very nice. Of course the kids loved the glass elevators. The hotel has a very open feel, everything is open to the atrium. We had breakfast at Q restaraunt both mornings and it was terrific. The hostess was especially sweet, she did a wonderful job making us truly feel at home and welcomed each morning. Our waiter was also very nice and did a great job. Every member of the staff that we came into contact with was fantastic. From the valet, to the front desk, restaurant employees and even the engineer - everyone was very polite and attentive. The parking is pricy but you are going to pay the same price at any hotel downtown - there is no other option than a parking garage. Overall we had a fantastic stay and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
2,803 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,140 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,008 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#21 of 355 in San Antonio
3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Property: Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Address: 123 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2688
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#34 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 629
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of the Riverwalk at Hyatt Regency San Antonio. We are the only San Antonio Riverwalk hotel directly overlooking the historic Alamo and on the Riverwalk, connecting two of San Antonio's top destinations through our 16 story atrium lobby. Be the center of our attention while you are in the center of the action taking advantage of our unequaled location in the heart of dining and entertainment venues surrounding our Riverwalk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing