We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will keep coming back again and again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Will keep coming back again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

My family and I have been staying at the Hyatt Hill Country every summer for over 15 years, and we love it more every year! The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the service is excellent and the rooms are always clean and nicely decorated. The kids in our family range from 2 to 21 years old, and there is plenty to do for every age group! For younger children, they have tons of activites, like crafts in the lobby, face painting, poolside smores (adults welcome too!), and movies on the lawn outside the lobby. The pool and lazy river is fun for the whole family. The pool has a waterfall, volleyball net, basketball hoop, and if you float down the lazy river a couple minutes, you'll find a small beach area where you can play in the sand. If you want a quieter atmosphere while swimming, you'll find it at the adult pool or hot tub. The beautifully decorated lobby has a bunch of comfy couches and arm chairs for rest and relaxation, and the picturesque back porch is lined with rocking chairs, from which you can see the beach and lazy river. This is the perfect place to spend a weekend with family!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morbea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your family’s recent summer vacation experience and for recognizing the many family-friendly activities we offer throughout the summer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Melody Goeken, director of public relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    556
    158
    67
    28
See reviews for
1,011
272
21
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

I spent 4 nights with my 6 adults, 2 children, 2 toddlers.

The resort is very family and kid friendly, service is fine, not outstanding, but accomodating. Golf Course was great.

Restaurants a little overpriced for quality of food offered, but expected that. The Antlers, high end restaurant a major disappointment for a plate avg of $35. They were out of 3 menu items also..

The major disappointment was the resort grounds (very unkept), water/lazy river (very dirty and unkept). We were looking forward to the pool and exterior grounds, for the room rate, a major disappointment. Cloudy water, sand, lots of leaves, twigs, etc. We saw it cleaned only 1 time during our visit. Many other guest commenting on it was well while there. Too bad, the website makes it look nice. We did go the new timeshare property by Hyatt down the street, tha pool was great. Clean lazy river, 2 bis slides, lot's of activites.

Would not stay at the Hyatt again. It is in need of a room update, grounds update, and improved maintenance for the pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SJMCSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Thank you so much for providing your feedback from your recent visit to The Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa. Your detailed thoughts helps us to identify areas where we can improve our overall guest experience. Our goal is for every guest to leave with wonderful memories. It is clear to me that in many instances we did not deliver this experience to you and for that I apologize. The quality of our food is very important to us and I have shared your thoughts with our culinary team so they can address this area that fell short during your visit. The cleanliness of our pool and water feature areas as equally important, and I have shared your experience with our engineering team to make sure that our pools are continually checked for leaves and debris. Please know that we value you as our guest and will work hard to regain your trust. I hope that you and your family are able to return soon to enjoy the overall experience that we wish you had experienced on your first trip. Melody Goeken, director of public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

The website does not do this place justice. I was worried we would not have enough to do but we were just as busy or just as layed back as we wanted to be. We rented bikes for a short ride, took walks, watched movies on the grassy lawn, swam till we were pruney, ate, played their organized games, and relaxed. Not a ton of stuff for older kids but the younger crowd is well entertained. Breakfast was wonderful but the deli/store next door had breakfast tacos and muffins for cheap. Save your dollars and come to a relaxing place that will not dissappoint.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ackHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

I was at this property for 3 Days in April, pretty good, the low area was the catering for out Business Functions. Upon arriving at the Airport after check out, I realize I had left a very special and important book in the room on the nightstand. That may sound petty, but in October of 2006 I lost everything but the clothes on my back, ended up in New Orleans trying to help out, but ready to give up on life. This book, Conversations with God came into my hands right at the moment that I had given up. It litterly saved my life, I have dozens of higlights of the words that help me make a new life. I have it with me every day at work, then on my nightstand at night. I immediately called the hotel, got housekeeping, gave her the room number and told her how important the book was to me. She took my phone number, and though I tried to explain that though only a book, it was special to me. She never called me back. I have tried to call the Hotel manager 2 times including today. I always get put on hold and have to give up.
Just make sure to double check your room before you leave it, so not to have the indifference of their "lost and found".

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdHoneycutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
244 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

My husband was at the Hyatt Hill Country for a conference and I joined him for a leisure stay. The hotel was very attractive and the grounds were lovely. Attached to the pool was a "river" for tubing - very relaxing. The room was very well appointed and quiet, but would have liked two sinks. The staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds were lush and there was a walking path through the trees and around the golf course - a nice escape. This place seemed excellent for families as well as couples. There was a lot going on and a lot to do. My only complaint was that the wireless internet signal was very slow so we had to purchase something faster. It is no where near the downtown area of San Antonio, but is great for visiting the hill country north of there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

We spent the week here with our grandchildren for spring break and it was THE best choice I have ever made in hotels/resorts. We offered to take the children to Seaworld and Fiesta Texas and they wanted to stay at the hotel! We had to make them leave to go to the Alamo! They had live pony rides for the children, HUGE inflated slides with tunnels and climbing decks, rock climbing walls, a lazy river with a sand beach and so many activity pools, hot tubs and adult pools, a great spa and Camp Hyatt for the children allowed parents to let the children have fun with friends their ages and have one on one time with elder cousins, etc... The daily snowcone stands were a big hit too. The camp counselors were energetic and interactive with the children. Then, there was the food! AWESOME and very inexpensive! You could actually choose filet mignon off the buffet every night, prepared one way or another! Awesome salads and soup choices and the most friendly and helpful staff you could imagine! They offer a guest laundry with free washers and dryers, you just buy the soap! We said we were going to Seaworld and a waitress runs back and comes back with this coupon book that had we actually gone (remember the children chose to stay at the hotel!) we would have saved fifty dollars! Front to back this was an absolutely awesome hotel. The grounds were beautiful and kept to perfection. My grandchildren have already said this is their choice for next year! Wow! That was easy! Perhaps the rooms are slightly higher priced, but consider free parking, great food choices and great prices, in room refrgerators if you are so inclined to use them, and everything you can dream of on sight. This is an excellent family hotel and we live in a resort area ourselves! We were dreading the idea of San Antonio and we were delightfully surprised. We have extensive travel history and consider this a hidden gem!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeathand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

Stayed March 8-10 with two other families. They were slow the week before spring break so we felt like we had the place to ourselves. I wanted to book the new JW Marriot near by but the rates were way more expensive. After reading reviews of the chaos at the JW I am glad we chose the Hyatt.
The staff really went out of there way to spoil us. Every request was fulfilled and with a smile. I would go there again because the service was 5 star.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckreeves99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 353 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#16 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true Texan hospitality of our genuine San Antonio Hill Country resort. Built upon 300 acres of the historic Rogers-Wiseman family ranch, our resort offers a unique blend of comfort and elegance. With the inviting charm of a Texas ranch house and the amenities of a luxury resort, guests can escape to a quiet retreat from everyday life. Float down our country-style lazy river, pull up a rocking chair on Aunt Mary's porch, golf 27-holes, or join our many family activities. Rich in tradition and overflowing with amenities for relaxing, playing and dining, all just 20 minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing