We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Ranked #9 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Can't wait to go again”
Reviewed June 10, 2006

The room was gorgeous. The walking paths were so nice to get some exercise in. The spa was so tranquil. The food was superb. I loved that it had an adult only pool. I liked being away from downtown in the country. So convenient to Sea World. Staff was professinal. Can't think of one negative - and I'm picky!!!

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,554
    622
    193
    80
    35
See reviews for
1,194
308
28
647
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2006

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Hyatt. This is our second stay there. While we had a nice time this is the second and third time someone in our party has gotten their things misplaced. Our first visit our friend had his golf clubs misplaced. This last visit they misplaced my husband's golf clubs and our friend's luggage. They really do need a new system of keeping track of things.

Other then that our stay was very nice. The staff is amazing. The place is relaxing. It's a very family place. They have activities all day long for kids. It's really very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tlegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

We (me, my husband, and our almost-two-year-old) stayed at the Hyatt Hill Country Resort over Memorial Day weekend. Overall, we were very pleased. The resort and grounds are beautiful, with a rustic Texas flair. The staff is very attentive and professional. The range of activities is outstanding-- the lazy river, a special pool for babies, an adults-only pool, bicycles you can borrow, a "family barn dance" on Saturday night, kids' activities scheduled all day long, a nice spa plus a special spa for teenagers, beautiful golf course, etc. There are also numerous food options: the elegant/formal Antlers Lodge restaurant, an ice cream/coffee bar in the lobby, an outdoor snack bar by the pool, another bar perfect for a beer or two, and much more.

I had a great massage at the spa, but the spa itself was not as well-managed as others I've been to. Many people checking in and out at the same time, and the lounge area was not very quiet or relaxing-- the two doors were constantly being opened and closed.

The only problem we had was that our room faced the main courtyard of the hotel, and on Sunday night there was a "Disney Movie on the Lawn" right outside our window. It was VERY loud, and did not end until nearly 11 pm. This would have been fine if our son was 6 years old-- we'd have been out there on the lawn enjoying the movie. But he is a young toddler and goes to bed by 8 pm, so we did not appreciate the loud movie right outside our room. They should have told us about the movie at check-in time, and we could have chosen a different room. Apparently the rooms on the spa-side of the hotel are the "quiet" rooms-- this is what you want if you have a baby/toddler who needs to sleep!

This is a fabulous place for a family vacation, VERY kid-friendly. I would NOT recommend it for couples looking for a romantic getaway, unless you went mid-week during the school year.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BossElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2006

Most of our stay at this resort was good, but at the price of the room you would expect everything to be good. We stayed Monday to Saturday and I agree with the other reviews that the staff is top notch, they greet you by name and are always eager with help. The pool area, beach and lazy river were great for the first four days, although the kids hot tub is not hot, not even lukewarm. On Tuesday we went to pool area about 400pm and we were the only people in the lazy river and only 3-4 other families were at the beach. The grounds of the resort are gorgeous and the spa is supreme. i would never stay over a weekend or during "on" season ". By Thursday night there were more people, and alot of kids. By Friday definatley more people, and more teenaged kids, who thought nothing of running throught the landscaped areas and jumping in the lazy river no matter if people were in the way. The reviews of the walls being thin are totally accurate. Friday night the room next to ours had younger adults who stayed up laughing and drinking untill 330am, and you can hear most everything, and they were not being overly loud, just normal conversation you can hear.And prepare to pay for eating in the restaurants $6.95 for a half grapefruit for breakfast?? There is a General Store with cereal and sandwichs that is reasonable. My 7 year old loved the pool and I loved the grounds and spa, and we would stay again during the week and definatley would ask for an end of hall room.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CLJ93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2006

During our pre-kid phase, my wife and I stayed at the Westin La Cantera in San Antonio. We, too, made mental comparisons of what we had experienced at the Westin versus what the reviews said about the Hyatt Hill Country. We anticipated a similar resort-type experience, but overrun with children. Unlike most, that didn't concern us because we have an almost three-year-old and a baby girl born last December. We were surprised to find a resort that we felt was superior in quality to the Westin as well as the fact that although we didn't feel out-of-place with our children, there seemed to be more meeting attendees and childless couples, even on the week-end.

Unlike that of the Westin, the resort staff at the La Cantera were friendly and eager to help. We were especially grateful for the concierge's recommendation of the Gray Moss Inn for a special dining experience. The lazy river was much longer than we had expected it to be and provided a pleasant and, indeed, lazy retreat from the Texas sun. The sandy beach in San Antonio was fun, not crowded, and surprisingly deep with sand.

Although previous reviews had indicated that the room would be small, we were again pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms we received. The bathrooms, although not large, were adequate even for a family of four.

Yes, we had hoped to pay less for a hotel. But when we reviewed the competition on a number of travel sites, we found that you tend to get what you pay for in the Sea World area - and saw some absolutely frightening reviews of the Radisson. We don't get the opportunity to vacation often, so the extra money was well worth it with the Hyatt. Special touches, such as roasting the s'mores on Friday night, the unique breed of ducks they seem to have flying free at the resort, and the Texan touches made our stay in the Hill Country a memorable one. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a nice weekend at the Hyatt Hill Country.I was a little worried about going after reading some of the reviews, but our stay was just great. We are early and late 30's and have no children, so when I read so much about the number of kids; I thought we might be miserable. Not the case.
We arrived on friday around noon. Way too early for check-in, but they let us anyway. Our room was a normal room, nothing fancy. There is a coffee maker, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, fridge, and toiletries. The fridge was nice because it was empty, so we kept it stocked with water, beer, and wine from the General Store.
There were kids there, but we just stayed at the adult pool and they never bothered us. There are a few parents who bring their kids to the adult pool, but it was not a big deal. It might be to some, but we are pretty layed back.
I really have nothing negative to say. We never ate at Antlers Lodge, we had room service every night. It was always hot and prompt. The breakfast buffet at The Springhouse Cafe was good.
The most wonderful thing about the resort for us was the staff. They really made our trip. They were so friendly and helpful. Not just a few, but every single person we came into contact with. They should be very proud of all of the wonderful people who work there.
This is a beautiful resort and is a terrific place for a family. There is so much for the kids to do. We enjoyed it and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank niclou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2006

we just got back from a stay at the hyatt and loved it. we have two children ages 2 and 6. the staff was very friendly, the grounds are beautiful and the hotel really caters to families. they have bikes for families, a playground, pools for adults, kids and toddlers, a beach area and the floating river. my son loved the river and it's only 3 feet deep at the deepest points, perfect for young kids. at night they have hayrides, smores and a disney movie on the lawn. they provide blankets to lay on and free popcorn. the kids loved it. the we ate at one of the restraunts and the food was good, our two year old ate at the buffet for free at breakfast and dinner. we went to sea world one day and the hotel could'nt be closer. i would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeanniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,054 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,197 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251-4104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true Texan hospitality of our genuine San Antonio Hill Country resort. Built upon 300 acres of the historic Rogers-Wiseman family ranch, our resort offers a unique blend of comfort and elegance. With the inviting charm of a Texas ranch house and the amenities of a luxury resort, guests can escape to a quiet retreat from everyday life. Float down our country-style lazy river, pull up a rocking chair on Aunt Mary's porch, golf 27-holes, or join our many family activities. Rich in tradition and overflowing with amenities for relaxing, playing and dining, all just 20 minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing