We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break, beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We spent a day here before heading to SeaWorld. Checkin was fine. Paying a high price so you expect good service. Pool areas and lazy river were clean, lots of tubes to be had. The only down side was that the water was FREEZING. IT was in the low 80s and breezy, but you could not stay in the water longer than a few minutes. Kids included. The hot tub was a welcome retreat. Bikes were available, although we saw several sitting outside peoples rooms and not being used throughout the day while we waited for some to be returned to ride. Drinks were of course outrageous, but yummy and we were on vacation so did not mind splurging. The burgers at the Country Store by the pool were fine and convenient. Would return in the heat of the summer for a better pool experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhfamWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,394 - 2,400 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2009

love this hotel - it is an experience unto itself! if you ever have the chance to go - you absolutley should. we went for a special birthday and they tried to accomodate us in every way. the great thing is it doesnt matter if you are seven or seventy - there is something to do for everyone. definitely a place to consider on your next visit to san antonio

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurelinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We just returned from a stay at the Hyatt Hill Country and were very happy with it. (The kids were sad they had to leave!) They have bikes for the whole family to ride, nature trails, golf, large rooms, GREAT pools. Lots of kids and very family friendly. We didn't use the spa but I'm sure it was great too. Very relaxing atmosphere and nice, well trained staff. The food and drinks by the pool was a little pricey, but convenient. They had s'mores two nights we were there by the pool. The kid's spa wasn't open, think it's a summer thing.
One note, we booked through hotels.com and they assured us we could have a roll away in the double room I booked. I called and talked to the hotel one day before we left and they said they couldn't guarantee a roll away because they might all be checked out. When we checked in the lady told me that they couldn't even put a roll away in the double rooms because of fire codes but she would upgrade us and we did get a nice big room with a separate bedroom for us and a pull out couch and roll away for the kids. Very nice and spacious. The package we had gave us two free breakfasts every day, and although the buffet was nice the menu items were VERY good and we learned that they were better. We ate dinner only one night there and must admit it was the best meal we had in San Antonio. Fantastic tuna steak and chicken gnocchi. The kids meals (especially breakfast) were cheap and good. We didn't get a chance to try the more upscale restaurant but assume it must be great too . Very close to Sea World also. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We visit the Hyatt Hill Country each year. It is so relaxing. There is something for everyone to do. We always come away refreshed. The grounds are very neat and homey. The rooms are a little small - especially for the price. However, there is so much to do outisde that we spend very little time in the room. The lobby is gorgeous and like a huge ranch house. We spend time in the lobby at night playing games. We enjoy the Hyatt every year - it's like going home each time we visit.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miller_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Our family just went to the Hyatt Hill Country for Spring Break and had a blast. It was heaven for kids as the resort really catered to them.

Pool:
There is a great main pool area, nice baby pool and lazy river. There is even a small beach at one area of the lazy river. Lots of innertubes and also an area for volleyball in the pool.

Playground:
My 4-year old daughter loved the playground and never wanted to leave. The base of the playground was soft sand and there were different areas for younger and older children to enjoy. Nearby was a tetherball area, "rock climbing", and tire swing.

Restaurants:
We only ate at the main hotel restaurant. We got the buffet both nights we ate there. There was an adult buffet and a kids buffet. The adult buffet featured items like baked chicken, fried catfish, steak, baked salmon, pasta, salad bar and various desserts. The kids buffet had chicken tenders, fries, melon, macaroni and cheese, and steak tenders. Buffet was $18.99ish for adults for dinner. My kids (4 and 1) were free.

There was a coffee bar which served starbucks coffee and espresso drinks that opened at 6ish or maybe 6:30. They also sold muffins and bagels.

General Store:
There is a general store on sight where you can buy pints of milk, small bowls of cereal, oatmeal, snacks, hotdogs, pizza, burgers, breakfast tacos, and amenities like diapers, lotion, and tylenol. We bought milk there to keep in the room refigerator and used the General Store's microwave to heat it up for the baby. I believe the store is open from 7am - 11pm.

Wi-Fi - Tmobile hotspot that was $9.95/day

Other activities include smores by the firepit everynight, movies on the lawn (we saw Madagascar 2), horse drawn wagon rides, make your own ice cream, night time putt-putt,

Location: The resort is on the west side of San Antonio. It is about 5 min from Sea World and 30 minutes from downtown SanAntonio (Alamo and Riverwalk).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shirleynjtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We went there to play golf with a group 25 couples. The staff gets an A+ , the room was average but the big problem with the room was our ability to hear the people next to us talk. The golf courses (there are three nine hole courses) get a C+ mainly because they are experiencing a sever drought and the fairways are thin but the greens are fine.
The food was good and the bar was excellent. The hotel is located well away from downtown but close to seaworld.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I accompanied my husband, who was attending a 2-day conference. While he was occupied, I had a little time to explore. The lazy river pool system was fantastic, clean and pleasantly landscaped. I wandered around until I found a private spot and vegged. I also took the nature trail, twice. It includes a handicap- friendly circuit training course. Also visited the exercise room. Rows of well-maintained equipment.

The General Store has a large selection of food and sundries, and is a great alternative if you want to skip dining. Their chicken salad is made from scratch and was delicious. The bar decor made you feel like you were in Texas. The bar itself was well-stocked. The conference's closing dinner was held outdoors, under the stars. Full course meal was expertly-served.

The resort is clean and spacious. The staff was gracious. My only complaints were that the maps could have been more explanatory, as the resort is big and it was easy to get lost, and that the pool areas needed a few spray cans of Off around for the skeeters that occasionally attacked.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank watruw8ing4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,149 reviews
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
Far West Side
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
#15 of 358 in San Antonio
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,117 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,930 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251-4104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $228 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true Texan hospitality of our genuine San Antonio Hill Country resort. Built upon 300 acres of the historic Rogers-Wiseman family ranch, our resort offers a unique blend of comfort and elegance. With the inviting charm of a Texas ranch house and the amenities of a luxury resort, guests can escape to a quiet retreat from everyday life. Float down our country-style lazy river, pull up a rocking chair on Aunt Mary’s porch, golf 27-holes, or join our many family activities. Rich in tradition and overflowing with amenities for relaxing, playing and dining, all just 20 minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing