We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great time with the kids”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The kids (Girl 10yrs, boy 7 yrs) and I drove down from Houston looking to have a change of scenery for a few days...the welcome was very warm and room was well appointed...

The food was really good with lots of variety on the buffet especially breakfast...an evening marshmallow toast was good fun for the kids...

The activities were very good with the surfing simulator an absolute must!!!...there is a small water park and lots of garden activities...the spa is an absolute delight (the kids had a spa adventure also).

We wanted to stay an extra day or 2 but the resort was fully booked and we had to settle for the other Hyatt down the road after 2 nights at this delightful place
We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: higher floors are less noisy especially when the resort is full and there are kids running around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollofmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,523
    613
    185
    75
    35
See reviews for
1,159
303
27
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Hill Country Hyatt is good for conventions because it is large, spread out and has lots of indoor conference rooms space. I would suggest to the hotel to put out more outdoor tables where people can meet and talk as the weather is nice most of the year. However, if I were a tourist visiting San Antonio, I would not stay here because it is far from downtown and the River Walk (main attraction) and is a $50 taxi ride way. The hotel does not have many restaurants (only one gourmet and two coffee shops) or much to do durning the day except maybe play golf. The hotel employees were very nice and helpful but the rooms were not as clean as they should have been. Also the air conditioning system was weird in that every once in awhile as you were walking down a hallway you would feel blasts of cold air being shot at you. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I had to.

Room Tip: As for a room which does not overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Very nice. Huge. Arrived Sunday afternoon. Elizabeth checked me in, a great start to my stay. Went to sports bar to watch some football, plenty of snacks and a peanut barrel! Staff super nice. Next morning special buffet in adjoining conference center. Great coffee! Make reservations before lunch is my advice!! We were ok. There are so many attractions here: golf and tube floating. I'm stuck in meetings!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Larry1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are looking for a resort in San Antonio, this is the property to go. You will find lots of places for a comfortable stroll and a fun waterpark. Nice conference space, which makes it a good location for business offsite meetings. The rooms are decent, but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadoc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I traveled to San Antonio for a conference. It was held at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa. We were there for 3 nights. The staff is very friendly and very helpful and attentive to a person's needs. The room we were in was large and it also had access to the outdoor courtyard. On the small patio, there were chairs for our convenience. The entire facility is adorned with very interesting pictures explaining the history of the location. The location had 3 different golf courses and a huge spa. There were lots of activities for families with young children. There are two places to eat and also a "snack shop" for lattes, burgers and breakfast type items. Parking was free and there was lots of it. It did not feel like it was as large as it was.

Room Tip: We just took the room that was the least money and it was excellent.
See more room tips
Green Features: The place is kept spotless both inside and out. I did not see a piece of trash anywhere.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olroyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experince with other tripadvisor travelers. I was thrilled to read that our staff took such good care of you and that you enjoyed all the resort has to offer!

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

As a family tradition we used to visit the hotel for a long weekend just before starts again. We skipped some years and this year we went back. Still super experience. We booked the concierge level as usual and we still love going there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mietoetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We have a 3 1/2 and 5 yr old - they had a blast! The grounds were well kept and clean, room was well kept and clean.
I almost did not book here due to some of the reviews and pictures of rooms on trip advisor, but so glad we did. We did not find any disrepair of rooms or anything outdated etc like some reviews indicated.
The hotel was wonderfully relaxing and well equipped for the kids.
It definitely seems family oriented which is very nice. There were also young people enjoying the resort. If you one of those cranky people that can't stand kids you should probably keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experince with other tripadvisor travelers. Kids do love it here, but I am more thrilled when the parents like it here! Thank you for your wonderful comments about our facility, we have spent $35 million to ungrade and enhance our property and we appreciate your noticing.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 357 in San Antonio
3,739 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,057 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,179 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251-4104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true Texan hospitality of our genuine San Antonio Hill Country resort. Built upon 300 acres of the historic Rogers-Wiseman family ranch, our resort offers a unique blend of comfort and elegance. With the inviting charm of a Texas ranch house and the amenities of a luxury resort, guests can escape to a quiet retreat from everyday life. Float down our country-style lazy river, pull up a rocking chair on Aunt Mary's porch, golf 27-holes, or join our many family activities. Rich in tradition and overflowing with amenities for relaxing, playing and dining, all just 20 minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing