We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will challenge your alliance!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Will challenge your alliance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I am a long time platinum Starwood properties member and the feeling of missing something has been stated. No one says no and Ben knew I was a seasoned traveler due to work because of my actions. I received an upgrade like I would have at a Starwood property and could not be happier. My company allows me to stay where I seem fit and this stay will make me stay at a Hyatt. Also the bartenders Justin and Jared were the best. They served me the way I would expect and accommodated me when the beer was flag due to CO2.

All and the most important moment is my daughter woke up at 800 because she wanted to play. She's 3 and usually sleeps until 10. Worth every dollar!!! March 21-23 even thought they made pick April.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    573
    166
    67
    29
See reviews for
1,043
277
25
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited for Spring Break and the resort had activities EVERY hour for the kids (scavenger hunts, necklace making, etc...). Our room over looked the giant yard and my kids enjoyed the nightly smores and movies on the lawn. We had a great time. I thought the lazy river could have been a bit cleaner (leaves and such).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Born2Travel935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review of your recent Hill Country visit! I apologize for the leaves in the Ramblin' River, during your stay we experienced several windy days and with the weather fluctuating between cold and warm our trees experienced a late season leaf drop. We did have full time staff around our pools cleaning, but we simply were not able to keep up.

I am thrilled to read that your family had a great time over Spring Break. Our recreation team does an amazing job of creating fun activities for our guests.

I hope you will plan to visit us next fall to see all of the amazing upgrades and enhancements to the property!

By the beginning of May we will have refreshed all guest rooms with new flooring, wall coverings, Hyatt Grand beds, and fresh tile in the bathrooms. Over Memorial Day weekend we will open Edge Falls, the expansion of our 5 acre park featuring a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide, and Vince’s Watering Hole restaurant and bar. Our outdoors will have been enhanced with additional lighting and landscaping and in the fall we will unveil a brand new 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I stayed at this resort during a conference recently, and I was appalled by the uncleanliness of the rooms. We were "upgraded" from our double queen room with a moldy shower to a "suite" overlooking the lawn that had the dirtiest carpet I have ever seen. Not only was it not vacuumed between occupants (I found popcorn and safety pins on the floor under the sofa), but when I complained to the front desk, the housekeeping staff simply ran the vacuum around the middle of the main room. The entire outer perimeter of the living room and bedroom were still covered in filth. (I know because a sliver of apple that I had purposely left on the floor next to the trash can was still there four days later). Day #3 I killed a cockroach on the bathroom floor. If the conference is held there again, we will stay at the Holiday Inn down the road and commute in for lecture before staying at the Hyatt Regency again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
First and foremost, please accept my sincere apology on behalf of the entire resort for the your guestroom experience during your recent business trip. Guestroom cleanliness is extremely important to us and I apologize that your room was not in the pristine condition we are noted for.

We strive to provide each guest with a positively memorable experience and it is clear to me that we did not deliver this to you. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally about the specifics of your guestroom. I can be reached by phone or by email at our convenience.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I booked this hotel when another chain canceled my reservation. I work in San Antonio often, and need a place that is accessible, clean, and reasonably priced. Hyatt Hill Country resort met all those requirements, and then some. The staff was very friendly and helpful, restaurant served great food (buffet and special order), and the room was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort while he attended a meeting here.
The good: We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite. The room is very nice, clean and comfortable. We have a large balcony looking over "the lawn". It is a nice view. The staff have all been very pleasant and helpful. We didn't have any problems with construction noise, as some reviewers have stated, but maybe they have finished with the room renovations. We could hear some construction equipment out where they are building the water park but it was not a problem. We purchased food items in the general store, not inexpensive but what you expect for a resort and quite tasty. We also ate in the Springhouse restaurant. Again, what you would expect to pay at a resort and quite good. They even had a gluten free dessert. There are a lot of families with children here and the hotel seems very family friendly, even showing "Finding Nemo" on the big screen on The Lawn last night. There seem to be a lot of activities for families as well as things for adults...golf and the spa being the foremost.
The not so good: One would think with all the renovations they are doing they would have done something about sound proofing the rooms. I have heard the man upstairs using the bathroom multiple times, clearly heard a conversation a lady in the next room was having on the phone and the maids outside in the hallway. Also, on Sunday, at about 8 a.m. they yard guys were using their leaf blowers. I personally think that is early for a Sunday morning.
The hotel over all is very nice. We would recommend it to anyone wanting a resort in the San Antonio area.

Room Tip: I think any room looking out onto the lawn would be a good room if you want a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank besnini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed here twice recently, once for Fall break and once for Spring Break with my 10 year old daughter. The property is really lovely - I do feel very relaxed here. I also like the buffet for dinner and breakfast, and one free kids buffet is included with each adult buffet, so that brings it down to a more reasonable price. The activities for kids are fun, but when you are paying $300+ for the room plus a $22 - 26/per day resort fee, and you have to pay extra for the activities, you start to feel like you are being gouged a little. One of my gripes during our Spring Break stay was that they ran out of towels at the pool, and the poolside food service was unbelievably slow (one order I never received at all after 40 minutes). After 20 years in business, this resort should be prepared for crowds at Spring Break. I expect it to be crowded, but I also expect the hotel to be prepared for the crowds - they weren't, at least not that day. The rooms are adequate - roughly equivalent to your typical Marriott or Hilton property. Nice, but nothing to write home about (and we even stayed in one that had just been updated). It did have a mini-fridge, which was convenient. The staff is great, very friendly and each person you deal with goes out of their way to tell you to let them know if you need anything. We didn't take advantage of it this time, but a nice benefit is that you can also use a Hyatt Vacation Club property about 5 minutes away that has an indoor/outdoor pool, so if the weather is cold or rainy, kids can still swim indoors. There is a lot to like about this Hyatt, and we will probably return at some point to this property, I just expect a little more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent Hill Country visit.

I was thrilled to read that you are a frequent guest, we appreciate you continuing to choose the Hyatt Hill Country for your family getaways! I apologize for the challenges you experienced over Spring Break with the lack of available towels, and for the slow service from our poolside dining. I have shared your comments with both our recreation and food and beverage teams so that your experience is not repeated.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited the resort for 4 nights during spring break with our 2 young boys. I was impressed by how well laid out the hotel was for the size. Although it was sold out, there was a lawn, golf course, various pools, lazy river, spa, so people were scattered across a large area and it didn't feel as crowded. We have traveled extensively with our kids including Europe. I appreciate good Texas hospitality and friendly service which is abundant at this Hyatt. You feel welcome! I like all the details of the austin stone, natural trees, ducks on the trees, and greenery. The kids activities are well scheduled and are in a nice setting. Our kids loved, loved the lazy river which meant we got to relax pool side. We tried the food and found it appropriate for the price. 2 free kid meals included with 2 adult meals. Also, the BBQ on the lawn with $6 kid meals and $11 adult meals was tasty. However, if you are on a tight budget, this place may not be for you. There's a lot of extra charges that naturally come with this caliber of resort. At the end of our trip, we found ourselves thinking this is a great spot for us to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3000 block convenient to the elevator general store, pools. Some of the other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review of your recent Hill Country visit. I am pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit.

S’mores and movies on the lawn are two of our most popular activities.

You also mentioned our renovation, by October we will have updated all guest rooms with new wall coverings, flooring, and fresh tile in the bathrooms, updated furniture and Hyatt’s Grand Bed. Edge Falls, our waterpark expansion, will bring us to 5 acres of splish splashy fun consisting of a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide restaurant and bar. Groups will appreciate the addition of a 20,200 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens.

I hope you will make visiting us an annual tradition.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,472 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true Texan hospitality of our genuine San Antonio Hill Country resort. Built upon 300 acres of the historic Rogers-Wiseman family ranch, our resort offers a unique blend of comfort and elegance. With the inviting charm of a Texas ranch house and the amenities of a luxury resort, guests can escape to a quiet retreat from everyday life. Float down our country-style lazy river, pull up a rocking chair on Aunt Mary's porch, golf 27-holes, or join our many family activities. Rich in tradition and overflowing with amenities for relaxing, playing and dining, all just 20 minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing