We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Ranked #9 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a wonderful resort! Great for relaxing by the pool or slowly tubing down the lazy river that winds around the property. Golf was terrific and the spa was just perfect. The food at the restaurant was delicious... especially the amazing breakfast buffet. Although a bit of a drive to the city for the regular tourist sightseeing, it was truly a perfect, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am thrilled and humbled with your generous 5 star review of your recent visit. I am so happy to read about your dining, spa and golf experience. I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind comments with our managers.

I do hope you will visit us next year when we complete our 30 million dollar renovation and enhancement project. By October, 2013 we will have updated all guest rooms with new flooring, beds, updated furniture and fresh tile in the bathrooms, added a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide restaurant and bar to our 4-acre water playground and added a 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens. Our outdoors will be enhanced with additional lighting and landscaping.

I hope you will plan to visit us next fall to see all of the amazing upgrades and enhancements to the property!

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    620
    191
    79
    35
See reviews for
1,192
307
27
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel was very dated and the facilities showed a lot of wear and tear. The AC in the room blew musty air and they were not able to resolve it. The hotel was overrun with little children yelling and screaming. I had children with me but this was too much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your recent Hill Country visit. I apologize for the problems with the air-conditioning in your room. I welcome the opportunity to speak to you and find out your specific room number so I may have our engineering team examine and service the unit.

The resort is filled with families in August and sometimes our younger guests can be quite exuberant. You might try visiting us over a weekend during the school year, when fewer families are traveling.

I regards to your guestroom experience I am thrilled to tell you that we are in the beginning stages of a 30-million dollar enhancement project.

By October 2013 we will have updated all guest rooms with new flooring, beds, updated furniture and fresh tile in the bathrooms, added a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide restaurant and bar to our 4-acre water playground and added a 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens. Our outdoors will be enhanced with additional lighting and landscaping as well.

I hope you will plan to visit us next fall to see all of the amazing upgrades and enhancements to the property!

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My family stays at this property several times a year and we are never disappointed. The staff genuinely go out of their way to make sure you are happy and enjoying your time at the hotel. They have so many planned activities for the children on holidays and weekends that you will never run out of stuff to do and, quite frankly, will never need to leave the property. They do balloon toss, painting, hair braiding, pony rides, scavenger hunts, make homemade ice cream....the list goes on and on! The lazy river is a paradise--so relaxing! After staying here probably thirty times, I honestly don't have one negative thing to say. This year they even had the buffet where kids ate free with a paying adult..that was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. Again, the staff, all of them, are amazing. The property is beautiful! The food is great! And, they are now building a new water area with a wave thing to boogie board on and a tall waterslide...like I said, it just keeps getting better and better!

Room Tip: If you have children, the ground floor rooms are best because they can go in and out easily to ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimboze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I am thrilled and humbled with your generous 5 star review of your recent visit.

We appreciate your continued loyalty and enthusiasm towards our resort. I was so proud to read your comments about our staff. Our Hill Country family works very hard to ensure that each guest has a memorable visit, and I am thrilled that we delivered that to you.

I am also thrilled to give you some additional details about our 30-million dollar enhancement project. By October 2013 we will have updated all guest rooms, with new flooring, beds, updated furniture and fresh tile in the bathrooms, added a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide restaurant and bar to our 4-acre water playground and added a 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens.

I hope you will plan to visit us next fall to see all of the amazing upgrades and enhancements to the property!

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I attended a 3day conference there with my hubby in tow. Regular room was adequate size w/ small bathroom. Many rooms have a small balcony/patio but views from some are not desirable.
The best thing in my opinion was the staff. Almost without exception they were helpful & went out if their way to make things right. Lazy river was refreshing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedom_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent visit, I was so proud to read your comments about our staff. Our Hill Country family works very hard to ensure that each guest has a memorable visit, and I am thrilled that we delivered that to you.

When we opened almost 20 years ago our guestrooms offered sweeping views of the resort and golf course, now as our beautiful Live Oak trees have matured some of those views are obstructed, but still offer a wonderful treetop views.

We are in the beginning stages of a 30-million dollar enhancement project. By October 2013 we will have updated all guest rooms with new flooring, beds, updated furniture and fresh tile in the bathrooms, added a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide restaurant and bar to our 4-acre water playground and added a 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens. Our outdoors will be enhanced with additional lighting and landscaping.

I hope you will plan to visit us next fall to see all of the amazing upgrades and enhancements to the property!

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It's too bad that the property conditions don't match those of the staff... This place is in need of a desperate facelift and modernization.

The facilities are "adequate" at best. Stayed on business for a conference. The conference facility was nice but the rooms - depressing. The gym equipment was good but the overall space tired and dated.

THE STAFF - ALL AMAZING AND THANK GOD FOR THAT ! Good Luck staffers at Hyatt Hill Country...can't wait to see what you look like after a re-do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent visit, I was so proud to read your comments about our staff. Our Hill Country family works very hard to ensure that each guest has a memorable visit, and I am thrilled that we delivered that to you.

I am also thrilled to tell you that the resort will soon undergo a 35-million dollar enhancement project. By October 2013 we will have updated all guest rooms, with new flooring, beds, updated furniture and fresh tile in the bathrooms, added a FlowRider®, 22' tower slide restaurant and bar to our 4-acre water playground and added a 20,000 square foot ballroom as well as 11,000 square feet of outdoor event lawns and gardens.

I hope you will plan to visit us next fall to see all of the amazing upgrades and enhancements to the property!

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

While here for a convention with my boyfriend it was very enjoyable. While the spa can be a little of a hike to get there it is well worth it. Very pleasurable. The grounds are beautiful and the lazy little floatable river behind the resort is very relaxing. All of the staff were very attentive and helpful. The saloon was under renovation while we were there so I can not tell you about that. All the meals were provided by the convention so I have no reviews of the onsite dinning. I would choose this resort for either convention or vacation. It is really lovely.

Room Tip: They will charge you extra without warning if you ask for a room with a balcony/patiio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeavenlyBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your 4 star review of your recent visit.

I apopogize for the Charlie's Long Bar closure during your visit, we took this time to paint, refinish the hardwood floors and recover the barstools.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas diva
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We are a couple who came to this resort because my husband had a meeting. Most of the other reviewers touted the resort for kids but we did not find this to be a distraction. The resort is large enough so if you want to go on a quiet romantic walk with your husband it is totally possible. We stayed the week before school started so the hotel was overrun with kids. The lazy river was crowded but still had stretches on solitude. On check in a nice young man noticed I was limping and told me I could have free valet parking. I said no but engaged him in conversation. He was the guest services manger Bryan Niehaus. I couldn't believe that the guest services manager was standing in the hot Texas day making sure everything was ok with every guest. Bryan also personally directed ensuring our room was ready early and came up to the lounge to direct me to room. THIS IS A YOUNG MAN YOU NEED TO CONTACT BECAUSE HE WILL GET THE PROBLEM SOLVED. Our room was large and well appointed. All rooms at this resort have refrigerators for your sandwiches and cokes. We used the Gold Passport lounge which is only open at peak summer times. The lounge serves a continental breakfast. It was just ok no protein except hard cooked eggs and smoked salmon for bagels. They had waffles that were very hard one day. Plenty of rolls, bagels, and bread stuffs. Fresh fruit and some special local treats, with a expresso machine. During the day while my husband in conference I exercised in an adequate uncrowded exercise room, read in a quiet space under a tree, and rode the lazy river. We went to lounge for snacks and were more pleasantly surprised to find 2 hot appetizers, chips , and cheese plate with grapes. The lounge also had all the water, sodas, and juices a person could want. It makes sense for the family because of the savings. Wouldn't want it every night but would be great after a trek to wet and wild. Also later they put out some mediocre desserts which we added hot chocolate from the expresso machine. I let them know that this was also my birthday week and Hyatt as usual remembered and sent us a beautiful surprise to our room . Check out was smoothless but the stay did not post to our gold passport account. Be sure and check. Finally thanks Bryan and y'all remember he is the man at this resort.

Room Tip: Remember this is a large resort and if you have small kids stay close to action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so very much for your wonderful 5 star review. I so appreciate you taking the time to mention Bryan Niehaus, our guest services manager, he is "the man" and truly amazing, I was thrilled to read that you agree! I will make sure that a copy of your kind review is placed into his HR employee file. I will also make sure he sees your wonderful comments.

I have shared your comments regarding your experience in Regency Club with our culinary team; feedback such as yours truly helps us to improve our offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
melody.goeken@hyatt.com
210-520-4022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,050 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,078 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,196 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251-4104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true Texan hospitality of our genuine San Antonio Hill Country resort. Built upon 300 acres of the historic Rogers-Wiseman family ranch, our resort offers a unique blend of comfort and elegance. With the inviting charm of a Texas ranch house and the amenities of a luxury resort, guests can escape to a quiet retreat from everyday life. Float down our country-style lazy river, pull up a rocking chair on Aunt Mary's porch, golf 27-holes, or join our many family activities. Rich in tradition and overflowing with amenities for relaxing, playing and dining, all just 20 minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing